We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 in My Book”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel has spoiled me for all other hotels forever. If another hotel in Portland is better then it must be heaven on Earth. The staff was AMAZING. Any time I needed anything they were always glad to help. The hotel itself was very clean. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was scrumptious. I would go back in a heartbeat. Oh, and the view was outstanding.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Sarah D,

Thank you kindly for the glowing review that you posted on line! We are please to read that we exceeded your expectations in so many areas. This is our goal for every guest that checks in, and we are pleased to note that we hit the mark during your stay. We are proud of the product we offer and the service we give. Thank you for the positive reinforcement.
Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 968 of 1,547 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

The front desk staff was particularly pleasant and nice, and this made out stay very nice. We have stayed at other Hilton Garden Inns and find the quality of service to be superior at each one. I am confident when I stay at the HGI that things will be right.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear David B,

Thank you for posting a review of us! I appreciate the excellent feedback of not only our property here on the waterfront, but of all Hilton Garden Inn's in general! As a brand, our motto is "You can count on us!". I am glad that we are living up to our promise. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Portland, Maine.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I frequently visit Portland and this is where I always stay. It's well-run and the staff are polite, friendly and efficient. The location is good and I always pick a room with a harbor view. Portland harbor is not exactly the Bay of Naples but I still like to see the boats.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Michael S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on line. We are pleased and gratified to learn that we are your "go to" hotel when you visit the beautiful city of Portland, Maine. It is exciting to stay in a room that faces the harbor. The view is refreshing, and there is always a lot to see. We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We have been staying here fog many years for getaway weekends and we still love it. I am a Hilton Diamond member and stay at a lot of different Hilton properties every year and this is one of the best run hotels that I go to. The staff is always super friendly and helpful. It feels more like a resort than just a hotel. It is also one of the most convenient places on the waterfront. Thanks for another great weekend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BigDaddyNearBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear BigDaddyNearBoston,

Thank you kindly for posting your feedback on line. We are pleased and gratified to read that as a loyal diamond member for Hilton Honors you stay with us on a regular basis. We are glad that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to seeing you again on one of your getaway weekends! I look forward to hearing your feedback on some of the changes we are working on for breakfast and dinner. Safe travels!

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Slon at the bar was the best I've met and i've met a lot of bartenders. The guy in charge of breakfast was great as well. a great stay. i have to say i'm a little irritated that my review has to be 200 characters long because i'm a very busy guy, so when this review got kicked back for that reason I almost said forget about this review, but I had to make sure Sloan and the breakfast team got the praise they deserve.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
2  Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Ron P,

Thank you for your kind words! We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed Sloan at the bar, and the entire breakfast team. They are all gems, and really care about each guests experience. We are glad to know that we exceeded your expectations, and would like to say a big THANK YOU for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your positive feedback.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Our recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn on Commercial Street in Portland, ME was nothing short of excellent. Every staff member made us fell welcomed and special during our stay. We would absolutely recommend this hotel to our friends and family!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Jeff D,

Thank you for the positive review that you have posted on line. We are so very happy to know that our staff made you feel so welcomed. We want every guest to feel at home and we are gratified to know we hit the mark during you recent stay with us. We hope that we see you again soon!

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel was OK. It was also too loud, early in the morning being so close to the water. It was convenient to all the places I wanted to visit. Everything was in walking distance. However, there was nothing special about the hotel. It had the basics and seemed clean, so I guess it met those needs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
2  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Dawn M,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are always looking for ways to continuously improve, and we value your honest feedback. While it may not be the typical response we hear, it will certainly give us a chance to reevaluate what we do here on a day to day basis. I hope that you can join us again, as we have recently made some exciting changes to our breakfast buffet, adding some healthier options, and are also in the process of refreshing our wine list and dinner menu. Thank you for your thoughts.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Address: 65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101-4703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £85 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront Portland hotel in Portalnd, Maine is perfectly situated in the city's Historic Old Port District and offers fantastic views of Casco Bay and Portland's working waterfront. Everything is within walking distance and you will enjoy the convenience of boutique shopping, gourmet restaurants, and fabulous art galleries being nearby. Steps from our Portland, ME hotel's front door you will find the Portland Trails jogging path, fishing and sailing tours, as well as great family attractions. We're also conveniently located near area attractions such as Hadlock Field, home of the Red Sox affiliate Portland Seadogs, Portland Museum of Art, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center. Beautiful Maine rocky coast and sand beaches are within a short drive!Hilton Garden Inn Portland, Maine Hotel Features...• 120 hotel guestrooms, many with ocean views• Great American Grill® serving a full service, made to order breakfast buffet• Evening hotel room service• Lobby bar serving dinner nightly• 2 state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups from 2 to 50• On-site catering for meetings, receptions, breakfasts, lunches and dinners for small groups• 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart• Complimentary shuttle service (airport and local businesses)• Valet Parking• Complimentary 24-hour business center• Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet service throughout hotel• Indoor heated pool and whirlpool• Complimentary fitness facilityThe 120 oversized guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland feature...• Waterfront or Portland, Maine city views!• Complimentary secure printing to the 24-hour business center• Oversized work desk, ergonomic chair and desk level outlets• Two dual-line speakerphones with voicemail• Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker• Iron, ironing board and hairdryer• USA Today each weekday morning• Non smoking and accessible rooms availableAttractions near the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, ME include...• 5 miles from Portland International Airport• Within walking distance from the waterfront• 1/2 mile from I-295 and I-95• 1 mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center• 12 miles from Freeport, home of L.L. Bean• 10 miles from the famous lighthouses of Portland, MaineCome enjoy the hospitality at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, Maine.***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel Portland
Portland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portland
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing