We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great waterfront location within walking distance of downtown.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great waterfront location within walking distance of downtown.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This location served our needs well for a walkable weekend getaway. Excellent, friendly, accommodating staff ready to help with or refer any request.
Pros: harbor view from our street side corner room. Clean and comfortable. Coffee and tea available 24/7. Across the street from Peak's Island Ferry Terminal and wonderful local restaurants and pubs. (Try a lobster roll). Comps for cab to airport

Minuses: not a spa style bathroom. Third floor view slightly impeded-Try to stay on the top floor. No free wi-fi

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Tanya L,

Thank you for your feedback. While we are pleased and gratified to read that you enjoyed your overall stay, we want to apologize for the issues you may have faced with the Wi-Fi. We do indeed offer Wi-Fi complimentary to all of our guests. Please be sure to ask a front desk agent for assistance in the future so you can enjoy that particular amenity when you stay with us again. Thank you for your kind words and loyalty.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    408
    83
    19
    13
See reviews for
308
593
46
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Old Port is one of the most amazing places to visit in New England. The bars, shops, restaurants, breweries and if course the waterfront are all magical. That being said I can think of no better place to stay in the fantastic city than the Hilton Garden. The rooms were big and clean, the valet parking was convenient and the location was unbeatable. We could see the ships from our room and literally walk anywhere we wanted to go in the old port. The question is not if we will return but when!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear jilyn,

Thank you for your lovely review. All of us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront share the same sentiments as you do. Portland is one of the best cities that New England has to offer, and there is no better place to stay than right here with us in the heart of the Old Port. We appreciate your kind words and recommendation. Safe travels.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I can see why this is a top-rated hotel in Portland. Everything was top-notch...warm, friendly, professional. Even the valet gentleman made sure we knew how to get back to the airport, had dinner reservations, etc.

Location is great - on Commercial Street right on the Old Port Waterfront. Harbor views are pricey but worth it if you like to see a working waterfront. You are only a couple blocks away from Trolley tours, whale watching tours, great restaurants. In fact, even though we had in/out privileges, we didn't use our car once. Portland is great to walk and very compact.

Room was very large with a fridge and Keurig. Maybe even a microwave. I can't remember. Very clean.

I didn't have any meals there except a coffee in the lobby - piping hot - and an ice cream from the convenience store. Ha! You are right next door to Standard Baking Co and Fore Street, two institutions in Portland. You are also across the street from the Flatbread Company - a place new to us and a nice surprise when we wanted a quick pizza.

Valet parking is the only option - $15- but parking in Portland is at a premium, and the guys were so helpful, I didn't mind.

Would welcome the chance to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kanderson89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear kanderson89,

Thank you for the detailed, glowing review of your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront. Our convenient location, onsite valet parking, clean rooms and plentiful amenities certainly make for a pleasurable stay. Thank you for pointing all of those items out, we appreciate your loyalty and recommendation a great deal. We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I often frequent Hilton properties and this is one of the nicer Garden Inns I've stayed in. From the valets to the front desk staff, everyone we met was warm and welcoming for our one night stay in May. Great location in the heart of downtown on the waterfront. We stayed in a harbor view room and the views was wonderful. However, be warned that the view also comes with noise from the street and restaurants below.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllenMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear AllenMT,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased and gratified to read that you enjoyed your overall stay. Our staff and location really set us apart. When you travel to Portland, Maine next, please reach out to me personally so I can assure you a room that is as quiet as possible.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager

April.Rossignol@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkville, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

There is always something to do in or around the hotel. If you're not sure what to try next just ask Sloan at the bar or Aaron the front desk manager. These are 2 of the most amazing people I have met while traveling!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessilynn09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear jessilynn09,

Thank you for posting such kind words on line. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your over all stay, and in particular, Sloan and Aaron. They are incredible people, and really love what they do. They will be thrilled to read the feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harmony, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stay at this location frequently on business, it is always Clean, Fresh and filled with super friendly staff. great location near the water and central to the old port area. fantastic restaurants within walking distance, a real working waterfront outside your windows. highly recommend at any time of the year!

Room Tip: ask for water view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonC1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear DonC1232014,

Thank you for your glowing review of us and for your continued patronage. We are pleased that you are a frequent guest of ours. We work hard to provide a clean, friendly and efficient experience for each of our guests. We are pleased to note that we have consistently exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Best place hands down! Staff is awesome clean and veryyy accommodating. It is dog friendly which is awesome and rare these days. Staff is welcoming and knowledgeable. This location is surrounded by great restaurants, bars and shopping center. Close by is a Starbucks but the Hotel offers complimentary coffee. Parking is inexpensive and valet attendants are quick and always smiling. I would recommend this location to everyone if you are planning to visit Maine area. Will be back again :))

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Callahan C,

Thank you for the detailed, glowing review of us here at the Hilton Garden Inn, Downtown Waterfront. Our location is most convenient, and as you noted, our staff most friendly and accomodating. We appreciate very much your recommendation. We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Address: 65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101-4703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront Portland hotel in Portalnd, Maine is perfectly situated in the city's Historic Old Port District and offers fantastic views of Casco Bay and Portland's working waterfront. Everything is within walking distance and you will enjoy the convenience of boutique shopping, gourmet restaurants, and fabulous art galleries being nearby. Steps from our Portland, ME hotel's front door you will find the Portland Trails jogging path, fishing and sailing tours, as well as great family attractions. We're also conveniently located near area attractions such as Hadlock Field, home of the Red Sox affiliate Portland Seadogs, Portland Museum of Art, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center. Beautiful Maine rocky coast and sand beaches are within a short drive!Hilton Garden Inn Portland, Maine Hotel Features...• 120 hotel guestrooms, many with ocean views• Great American Grill® serving a full service, made to order breakfast buffet• Evening hotel room service• Lobby bar serving dinner nightly• 2 state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups from 2 to 50• On-site catering for meetings, receptions, breakfasts, lunches and dinners for small groups• 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart• Complimentary shuttle service (airport and local businesses)• Valet Parking• Complimentary 24-hour business center• Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet service throughout hotel• Indoor heated pool and whirlpool• Complimentary fitness facilityThe 120 oversized guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland feature...• Waterfront or Portland, Maine city views!• Complimentary secure printing to the 24-hour business center• Oversized work desk, ergonomic chair and desk level outlets• Two dual-line speakerphones with voicemail• Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker• Iron, ironing board and hairdryer• USA Today each weekday morning• Non smoking and accessible rooms availableAttractions near the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, ME include...• 5 miles from Portland International Airport• Within walking distance from the waterfront• 1/2 mile from I-295 and I-95• 1 mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center• 12 miles from Freeport, home of L.L. Bean• 10 miles from the famous lighthouses of Portland, MaineCome enjoy the hospitality at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, Maine.***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel Portland
Portland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portland
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing