We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, clean, courteous, great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leonia, New Jersey
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great value, clean, courteous, great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

From check in with the valet, to the front desk...we were treated like family. Hotel room was very large (standard,queen double). Coffee and microwave in room super clean. All staff very friendly and able to help us find all attractions and needs. Excellent location across from harbor and all the great shops. We will definitely go back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KatMom419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear KatMom419,

Thank you very much for posting a review of us on line. We appreciate your valuable feedback and are pleased to read that you found us so clean and friendly. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    408
    84
    19
    13
See reviews for
308
595
46
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Clean, quiet, all staff warm and welcoming, as well as unobtrusive yet helpful. Right on the edge of town so it's your choice to walk outside right into tourist scene or left onto the quieter shore park. Ferries to islands directly across the street. Only negative would be room windows don't open and I love fresh air.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBK1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear BBK1000,

Thank you for the detailed review of your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My parents, who are in their 70's, and I, stayed here en route to Nth Maine for Christmas. The beds are the best I have ever slept on, anywhere in the world! The ambiance was only bettered by the welcoming warm greetings of the staff. It is right near the water, restaurants and sights. The rooms are clean and fresh and the lobby was amazing! Please do yourself a favour and stay here :-)

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TJP1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear TJP1967,

Thank you for posting a review of us on line. We are pleased and gratified to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay with us this past December. We certainly hope that you can visit us again in the near future.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stay at the Hilton Garden Inn, downtown/waterfront in Portland Maine. Lovely hotel and great staff. Can't wait to return in September. We visit Maine and stay at this hotel a couple times each year. The entire staff is always welcoming. The valets are great. They are welcoming and help us with ideas of where to go and restaurants that are great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Doris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Doris N,

Thank you for posting a review of us on line. We appreciate your loyalty and recommendation. We look forward to seeing you this September. Safe travels!

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Portland for 2 nights. This was our second trip to Portland and the first staying at the Hilton. Our room was very spacious and very comfortable. The king size bed was so comfortable. The room had a huge window over looking Commercial Street and the water. It was fun to just sit by the window and watch the traffic and people outside...The hotel was within walking distance to so many restaurants, the water, and shopping. The hotel staff was so friendly and accommodating. .

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water would be best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diane32724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear diane32724,

Thank you for posting your feedback on line. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to seeing you again the next time you travel to Portland, Maine

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was our first trip to Maine and we wanted to be near the water. This was right across the street from the working harbor. We chose a water view room and were very glad we did. It had a large picture window so you could watch all of the boats coming and going - great added entertainment. My husband spent every free minute in the room watching the activity.

We loved the location that was near everything you might want to do. Great restaurants, coffee shops, shopping and the ferry terminal. Also, we were able to walk accross the street to meet our bike tour guides. There is a great walking/running trail down the street that follows the water and leads to a beach. We did not need a car for anything.

Great, helpful and friendly staff. We had no complaints about our room. We did not eat at the restaurant (too many other choices) but the afternoon treats - fresh baked cookies were a nice touch. We would definitely go here again!

Room Tip: The upper floor harbor view room was worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kris h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear kris h h,

Thank you for posting such a glowing, detailed review of your recent stay with us on line. We are pleased and gratified to note that you enjoyed our clean spacious rooms and convenient location. We thank you for the recommendation and look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Portland, Maine.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our family recently stayed at the Hilton Garden in Portland for 2 nights. There were six adults and our dog and we could not have had a better experience. All the staff from the valets to the front desk clerks were not only helpful but really, really nice!! Many times, at pet friendly hotels, you do not feel truly "welcome". This was not the case. The location was ideal and although the rates were high, especially as we needed two rooms, it is the price you pay to be right in the thick of things on a summer weekend in a popular tourist spot. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the side of the hotel. I had heard from other guests that the rooms right on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenInnGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Kim M,

Thank you for posting your positive feedback of your recent stay with us here on line. We are pleased and gratified to learn that you found us welcoming and comfortable. We certainly hope you have the chance to stay with us again the next time you are visiting Downtown Portland, Maine.

Best regards,

April Rossignol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Address: 65 Commercial Street, Portland, ME 04101-4703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Waterfront Portland hotel in Portalnd, Maine is perfectly situated in the city's Historic Old Port District and offers fantastic views of Casco Bay and Portland's working waterfront. Everything is within walking distance and you will enjoy the convenience of boutique shopping, gourmet restaurants, and fabulous art galleries being nearby. Steps from our Portland, ME hotel's front door you will find the Portland Trails jogging path, fishing and sailing tours, as well as great family attractions. We're also conveniently located near area attractions such as Hadlock Field, home of the Red Sox affiliate Portland Seadogs, Portland Museum of Art, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center. Beautiful Maine rocky coast and sand beaches are within a short drive!Hilton Garden Inn Portland, Maine Hotel Features...• 120 hotel guestrooms, many with ocean views• Great American Grill® serving a full service, made to order breakfast buffet• Evening hotel room service• Lobby bar serving dinner nightly• 2 state-of-the-art meeting rooms for groups from 2 to 50• On-site catering for meetings, receptions, breakfasts, lunches and dinners for small groups• 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart• Complimentary shuttle service (airport and local businesses)• Valet Parking• Complimentary 24-hour business center• Complimentary high-speed, wireless internet service throughout hotel• Indoor heated pool and whirlpool• Complimentary fitness facilityThe 120 oversized guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland feature...• Waterfront or Portland, Maine city views!• Complimentary secure printing to the 24-hour business center• Oversized work desk, ergonomic chair and desk level outlets• Two dual-line speakerphones with voicemail• Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker• Iron, ironing board and hairdryer• USA Today each weekday morning• Non smoking and accessible rooms availableAttractions near the Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, ME include...• 5 miles from Portland International Airport• Within walking distance from the waterfront• 1/2 mile from I-295 and I-95• 1 mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center• 12 miles from Freeport, home of L.L. Bean• 10 miles from the famous lighthouses of Portland, MaineCome enjoy the hospitality at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Portland, Maine.***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Hotel Portland
Portland Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portland
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing