We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely way to see Portland”

Portland Fire Engine Co
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.00*
and up
Narrated Sightseeing Tour of Portland Maine Aboard a Vintage Fire Engine
Ranked #5 of 32 Tours in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Portland Fire Engine Co. offering narrated sightseeing tours of Portland Maine aboard a Vintage Fire Engine. We explore the peninsula of Portland and its many lighthouses and forts as well as the amazing architectural buildings hidden inside of the cobble stoned streets that make up our wonderful city. The tour is a great way of reliving Portland’s past, present and future. The viewing area high up on the Fire Engine gives amazing views of Casco Bay as well as fantastic opportunities for photographs. We are a highly rated tour operator in Portland so please check out some of our 5 star reviews on TripAdvisor below. The sightseeing tours are approximately 50 minutes in length and are fully narrated with a very knowledgeable guide displaying high resolution photographs from the Maine Historical Society through our on-board multimedia system which includes a large flat LED TV. We begin and end our tours in the heart of the Old Port which is a great way to discover all that our magical city has to offer. This area of the city is great for sightseeing tours as well as the world famous shopping and the amazing restaurants, pubs and shopping. Informative and Fun for All Ages Sightseeing Tours begin and end at 180 Commercial St. (Located in front of Portland Lobster Co.)
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A lovely way to see Portland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had been to Portland several times, but never really left the waterside area, so this gave us a good way to see what else the city had to offer.
It was a lovely day, and that helps, the chap who was our guide was informative and good fun and was able to point out a lot of places of interest.
Yes I would recommend it, and yes I think children would also enjoy the experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    40
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pete's Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Pete, our tour guide on the fire truck was a blast! He gave us a lot of Portland history from a lay mans point of view.His easy manner & knowledge was really enjoyable.Price was very reasonable & he made it a FUN Tour!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great Tour of Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

My wife and I just returned from a cruise to Maine and Canada, and one of our stops was at Portland Maine. We heard about the fire engine tour from someone on board our ship. They had such a good time that we decided to give it a try. You tour Portland in the back of a real fire engine with bench seats and a capacity for 12 people. Our guide Peter was excellent. He used a large flat screen TV to show slides of old pictures and drawings of Portland, as we viewed the present locations. We were pleasantly surprised when we stopped for a short tour of Portland’s railroad museum. All-in-all our 45 minute, $15.00/each tour of Portland was both educational and fun.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Much more fun than a standard tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

We took this tour on impulse because the alternative was fully booked - and were really pleased we did. Very enthusiastic guide, lots of local knowledge and an interesting side visit to the railway museum (which is well worth a separate visit). The real extra is the fire engine itself - great views and surprisingly comfortable. Although we're now past that stage, small kids would really love it.
Probably needs a bit more advertising to make it clear that it's a general tour of Portland rather than something fire station oriented.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulR010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopedale, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unique and fun tour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

A great tour of Portland on a firetruck. Our tour guide was wonderful, had a lot of stories about Portland. Both historic and from a local's point of view. They showed us the wonderful sites and gave great tips of other trips and tours to do while in Portland. We got to visit the Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Museum and they gave a wonderful tour. If you can, do it early on your trip. You will get a lot of ideas for the rest of your stay.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kateerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portland Fire Engine Co also viewed

 

Been to Portland Fire Engine Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing