We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“building” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maine Jewish Museum

Maine Jewish Museum
Ranked #35 of 141 things to do in Portland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A turn of the century immigrant era synagogue celebrating Jewish art, history, and culture in downtown Portland.
Branford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“building”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

small building to see haven't been in it was at the closed first museum in maine would liked to have seen the inside

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Morton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    21
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, New York
Level Contributor
266 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The only negative is that the synagogue is upstairs and not accessible for those with physical imitations .They do however ,have a chair lift .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank len16107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ani267, Manager at Maine Jewish Museum, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thanks for your comments, Brooklyn1612! We're happy to let our visitors know that expansion is underway. This includes a 4 story elevator and new handicapped-accessible bathrooms. Please come back again in the spring - you'll find increased accessibility and a new art exhibit and expanded historical exhibits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Do Stop By”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Not much of a museum but glad we spent a half hour here. The synagogue and its history are fascinating and it was great to hear how it has been rejuvenated. They really appreciate visitors and make you feel right at home. You should be able to find short term street parking. Don't forget to leave a small donation.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank martyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

This small museum and historic synagogue are well worth a brief visit. The staff is exceedingly friendly and informative. The exhibit on Jewish Maine camps is fun. Learned a lot.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank AML1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Maine Jewish Museum a Portland gem to treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Set back among colorful gardens at the foot of Munjoy Hill, this lovingly restored synagogue sparkles with light and life. When I visited, a sculpture group graced the front lawn, hinting at riches within. The warm welcome from staff and the enthusiasm of several other visitors added to my enjoyment of the interior spaces and Asherah Cinnamon's sculpture (the current art exhibition when I visited.) The gallery surrounding the sanctuary illustrates the history of Jews in Maine, and their contributions to their communities.
I look forward to returning often, and bringing my grandchildren.

Visited July 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
2 Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maine Jewish Museum also viewed

 

Been to Maine Jewish Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing