We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful visit!”

Maine Jewish Museum
Ranked #35 of 146 things to do in Portland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A turn of the century immigrant era synagogue celebrating Jewish art, history, and culture in downtown Portland.
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was such an amazing museum as they had stories posted about Maine residents who were Holocaust survivors. Their stories were so fascinating and really put life in perspective. Plus we had a wonderful intern as our tour guide who clearly loved her religion as well as history! Thanks for such a great tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank suburbanmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    21
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Boylston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Working synagogue and museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I am not sure that we would have found this without being told about it. It is housed in an old synagogue which still functions on the first floor. The upper floor is the museum and at the time of our visit was not handicapped accessible. they were placing an outside elevator so that all could read and see the exhibits about the early Jewish settlers of the area. Interesting and a great history lesson.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lefty117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Gotta visit this marvelous museum.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I loved the location, the facade, and then went in for an extraordinary experience. It's unpretentious, Maine style, while totally engaging, laid out thoughtfully, easy to maneuver, grasp, and had a fascinating exhibit when I visited. A Whole foods is a block away so I felt enlivened in more than one way.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BBK1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
Level Contributor
131 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A must when in Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

What a great museum for the Portland area. A must if you visit this area. Old old synagogue and now part synagogue and museum. Open daily and services are performed on Saturday mornings.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trailerking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“what a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stopped here following a local recommendation -- and were happy that we did. Portland is a great place anyway -- and the Jewish Museum fits right in. It's not big by any stretch but well worth the visit. We chatted amicably with the woman at the entrance who told us a lot about the building and the history of Jews in Maine -- really, this is how a museum ought to interact with its visitors. Thanks a lot!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GalwayGeographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maine Jewish Museum also viewed

 

Been to Maine Jewish Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing