We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to get to know Portland”

The Scenic Route Maine Tours
Ranked #10 of 33 Tours in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Bus Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are a local, family owned and operated tour company looking to share with you what we love about Maine! Fully narrated by Local Maine guides! City & Lighthouse Tour ~ 1.50hrs * City highlights * z30 mins at Portland Head Light. More time than any other tour company! 5 Lighthouse Tour ~ 2.5hrs * Hear the wonderful stories and legends of 5 LHs while being able to get out and visit them up close. One of a kinds tour in Portland! Kennebunkport Tour ~ 3.5hrs * 90 minutes of free time to enjoy this lovely fishing village * Enjoy the view of Walker's Point, where the former President Bush spends the summers. Freeport Shuttle (every hour when cruise ships are in town only)
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great way to get to know Portland”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We took the City and Lighthouse tour this morning with Fred the tourguide... he was very knowledgeable and it was a thorough, 2 hour tour--including 30 min at a beautiful lighthouse and park. Small group--only 6 of us plus Fred so could have been perfect if it had been a little more interactive. I would have loved the chance to ask more questions and interact with both the guide and the other passengers, but Fred's spiel was non-stop. Lots of great info--but wanted to ask about some things and really didn't get the chance. Van was very comfortable though and a good way to start our Portland vacation!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DebM703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    46
    10
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I love lighthouse”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Went on the city and light house tour. It's a Saturday morning tour, so the van is full! I like the light house portion very much. Enjoyed it and wished I could stay longer! Took a couple of 'postcard' picture

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SeLiNa141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Mountain,NC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Right!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We took the The Scenic Route Maine Tours due to the great reviews that we had read and found it to be an informative and delightful way to spend our first morning in Portland. We also had Roger as the driver/guide and found him to be informative with a good sense of humor. The trip is just the right length and we learned a great deal about the history of Portland which informed the rest of our stay there. The lighthouse was the highlight, but the rich history that we learned about on the way there and back gave a good perspective and context for the rest of the visit. We also took the 10:45 a.m. tour and there were 6 other people with us and the van was conformable. Highly recommend!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank John K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Get there very early”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We got there just in time the van was packed. we ended up in the last row. the driver barely spoke of anything on the passenger side of the van. so not only were we restricted of view but the passenger side had very little interaction. Get on one of the more open tours.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dano1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khtraveler24, Owner at The Scenic Route Maine Tours, responded to this review, 11 April 2016
We appreciate your review and would like to address your van complaint. We realized after a few seasons that to increase the customer's experience even more, we needed larger vehicles with better comfort and visibility. We now have shuttle buses that still allow for a small group feel (20 passengers) but with great visibility and comfort. Thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun and relaxing tour”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had a very nice time with Roger last week on the City & Lighthouse tour. We were a family of four, along with just one other couple, so everyone had plenty of room to stretch out and get comfortable. Enjoyed Roger's humorous but laid-back personality; it made for a fun and relaxing ride.

In addition to seeing the city, you get half an hour at Fort Williams Park, which is a good amount of time to acquaint yourself and take some photos. We ended up returning the following day (on our own) to try the lobster roll truck. So, so good!

We wanted to do the 5 Lighthouse Tour as well, but didn't have enough time, sadly. Will have to save that for our next trip! :)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneK986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Scenic Route Maine Tours also viewed

 

Been to The Scenic Route Maine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing