We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience Maine Micro Brews!”
Review of Maine Beer Tours

Maine Beer Tours
Ranked #7 of 26 Food & Drink in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Maine is a haven for craft beer, and what better way to enjoy the Maine beer experience than to have us bring you to where the magic happens! Have you ever wondered how a beer gets bottled or canned? What the difference between an Ale and a Lager is? Why some beers are darker than others and what exactly is a hop? Wonder no more! Maine Beer Tours offers an ALL INCLUSIVE brewery tour experience. While on the bus we will be sure to give you some of the rich beer history in Maine, and even toss some goodies at you, by way of some trivia. At Maine Beer Tours, we feel the appreciation for Maine craft beverages brings strangers together who quickly realize and appreciate all of Maine's offerings as well as the other patrons they engage with on board. That being said, it is not uncommon to see folks on our tours start as strangers and end up grabbing food and drink together after the tour has ended. Maine Beer Tours has been connecting beer enthusiasts to the source since August 2012 (though inception began nine years prior to that) when no other Maine business was offering the same service. It has been a wild ride and we've met a lot of great people along the way. So what are you waiting for? Hop on board Maine's original, homegrown, beer tour bus and lets us do the driving for you!
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
1 review
“Experience Maine Micro Brews!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is the best experience you'll have in Maine if you're looking to learn about beer and experience a small business at its best.

The micro brews are huge in Maine, and this tour allows you to experience several while meeting new people and tasting excellent beer.

If you're looking for an up-tight formal experience, this is not the tour for you. If you're looking for a fun, chill, interesting experience this IS the tour for you!

I highly advise anyone who travels to Maine and loves beer to book a tour. You will be impressed!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jbrayall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    14
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great "something" to do for all occasions..”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I first contacted Mark and Nicole when trying to put a tour together as part of a birthday party. We didn't book the trip at this time, but had good interactions with them, as well as meeting them doing some of our own beer touring. I have since been on the bus a couple times as part of a bachelor party, and again as just part of a bigger "Guys Day" type of thing and always have a good time. The atmosphere is great and laid back, everyone on the trip is out to have a good time and friendly, the trips seems to be constantly evolving, and I know in the past they have made some special or additional stops. We still run into them constantly and plan to continue to use the service for entertainment when friends are in town. We have also recommended the beer tour to friends who have been in town while we were away or unavailable and will continue to do so as well. Well worth the time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a day”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This beer tour was an office outing. There were 10 of us and I can say all of us had a great time. Mark and Steve were both wonderful guides. We especially loved stopping at a small local brewery and local distillery. The information provided was wonderful. The next stop was called Salvage, a class bbq place. We had great food and sampled more local beers. Lastly we visited Shipyard, a much larger brewery. This was my least favorite but possibly would be better if you were from out of town. All in all a great day was had by all.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bitsybabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Saturday afternoon "Hoppy" hour!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Recommend this 100% for folks interested in craft brewing and distilling or for a fun way to tour Portland. Friendly guide, delicious brews and a snack of home baked cheddar pretzel hit the spot. Thanks for a great afternoon...and drop off at our dinner reservation at the end of the tour!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SJCBDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
1 review
“The best way to experience the Maine beer scene!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I took the inaugural tour and loved it. The information during the tour was insightful and interesting. The tour was a great way to see Portland and taste some unique beers from growing breweries.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank farleygamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Maine Beer Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing