We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BENKAY vs. SAPPORO REDUX”

Benkay Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #89 of 618 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
389 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“BENKAY vs. SAPPORO REDUX”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

After careful, but obvious, consideration and numerous visits, and as I previously insinuated, Benkay is the far better choice for...well...everything. Service is always top notch (at Sapporo it's rather spotty) and whether it's sushi, sashimi, or anything cooked, there's no question in this Japanese-food lovers mind (and stomach) Benkay is head and shoulders above. Now if they could only spruce-up, fix-up, clean-up, paint-up the outside....

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theghostwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    53
    17
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gorham, Maine
Level Contributor
97 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“It's not just sushi!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

After all these years of living in the Portland area, it took a Groupon deal to finally get us to check out Benkay and I'm glad we did. Whoever wrote the previous review complaining about problems using Groupon just didn't read their voucher ahead of time. The only time you can't use it is after 5pm on Fri-Sat. We arrived mid-afternoon on a Saturday that was gray and lazy--Benkay's food and ambience provided the perfect counterpoint! We ordered a couple of different sushi rolls, shiitake soup, and veggie tempura that were good quality from the extensive menu, but what I really enjoyed was making a meal from a winning triple combo of appetizers--rare beef tataki, shumai shrimp dumplings and sauteed scallops with miso. There was no long wait to be seated or for our food to arrive. The waitstaff was helpful and attentive without hovering and I also saw waitstaff deal kindly with other parties that included children. Nice location at the eastern terminus of Commercial St., just far enough from the crowds that are a few blocks closer to the Old Port. Lastly, it is a much appreciated convenience that they have a parking lot for guests just behind the restaurant. Definitely worth checking out!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kmk415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore Falls, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch choice”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We enjoyed the food, atmosphere and the not rushed pace of this restaurant. Wait staff were very polite.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Riverviewer1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dont go with a Groupon or Living Social gift certificate”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Great food, but would not honor the GC purchased for its full value. Ripped off by $25. They said they wouldn't honor the coupon on the weekend but only allowed us to use the cash value. Then they kept the coupon so we couldnt use the additional $25 at a later date.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kellie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“As usual...awesome”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Another visit to Benkay and as usual, fantastic. Service was great, food very fresh and delicious. Just a great experience. Definitely recommend.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dhekl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Benkay Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Benkay Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing