We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like being back in Italy”
Review of Ribollita

Ribollita
Ranked #49 of 617 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Just like being back in Italy”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My husband and I went here and felt like the food and the experience were just like being back in Italy!

Molto Bene

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danamike88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    81
    31
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“so so”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Food was good, service not so much. They lost our reservation, but it was not a busy night so no problem. Tables are close together. It was a very short walk from our hotel which was convenient.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank beach2mountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Meal, Fantastic Service”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This small italian restaurant just a block away from the Hampton Inn was recommended to us. We stopped in after 2pm on a Friday to make a reservation (highly recommended). The menu made it difficult to choose, however the server was excellent with recommendations and helping with our selections. The food was delicious, the atmosphere was warm and the service was great. The only caution, it was cold seated near the entrance. It was a chilly night and we found being close to the door made it difficult to stay warm. Overall, a great evening.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food made with love”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My husband and I first visited the resturant to preview for guests. We did not have reservations, but we were quickly seated at a small table. All of our food was great. The server was attentive and knowledgable.

We returned with our friends. They were very impressed. Again we were impressed with the food.

The resturant space is small. Make reservations in advance. Seating is close. Not a place to discuss private business. Maybe a group of 6 would be the largest party size. Discuss the wonder food?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nmv712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Little Gem”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to go out for dinner last minute on Valentine's Day, so we did not have reservations. We decided on Italian and remembered walking by a welcoming little place on Middle St. We decided to call and see if they had any last minute reservations or cancellations. The hostess was very polite and explained to us that they were booked, but they save 2 tables for walk-ins.

We walked in to the very busy restaurant at about 6pm and they were able to sit us immediately! We were so happy! Our server came right over to greet us and he was very friendly (man in his 40's). It was the best service we have ever received, which really made the night special.

They do not have a bar, but the beer and wine menu was very good. The prices are fair and they pour you a nice full glass. All the food (including the pasta) is made in house and it's excellent!!! My ravioli was light and delicious. The portion size was perfect and prices are so reasonable.

And the dessert? AMAZING. It's all made in house, which is always a selling point for me. We shared the flan, which was the best we've ever had. This is their signature dessert and they nailed it!

We will return. Thank you Ribollita for a perfect Valentine's Day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rpcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ribollita also viewed

 

Been to Ribollita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing