We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Fore Street

Fore Street
Reserve with OpenTable
Fore Street is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 617 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Franklin and Pearl
Portland, me
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very good. Excellent atmosphere, great employees. Service is great, very attentive but not hovering. It is expensive though and everything
Is extra. Nice for a special occasion.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    998
    334
    168
    81
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Portland Institution!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Along with 555, this should be on everyone's short list. But call ahead and make a reservation. We have never had a bad meal here. I particularly like the pork chop and the hangar steak. Appetizers are all great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overrated!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

After years of reading and hearing rave reviews of Fore Street we finally tried it for ourselves. We were very disappointed! The food is very good but not worth anywhere near what they are charging. The service is very average bordering on poor. The atmosphere is drab and noisy. Why is this place so popular in a town loaded with really good places to eat? I have no idea!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KROWE2947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of my favorite places”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I are always pleased with this restaurant. Everything is fresh and most ingredients are locally grown. I especially love their meats roasted over the open fire.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
“Best place in Portland”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I've never been disappointed in a meal at Fore Street. One of my favorites in all of the east coast. A little expensive but worth every penny.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank benlowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fore Street also viewed

 

Been to Fore Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing