We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Quality of food and service”
Review of Back Bay Grill

Back Bay Grill
Ranked #1 of 614 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Quality of food and service”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Fresh, beautifully prepared food - But the BEST FEATURE IS THE IMPECCABLE SERVICE. Come to Back Bay Grill for your birthday, anniversary dinner, or any time you want to be treated extremely well and receive great food!! There are SO many fantastic restaurants in Portland but if you want the finest service, make a reservation at Back Bay Grill.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesliefreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    58
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Make this restaurant one of your choices”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

You won't be disappointed in one of the best, if not THE best, restaurant's in Portland. Adrian, the wait staff, chefs, and the romantic setting reminiscent of Europe all make for a perfect meal!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OOBRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlestown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well paired food!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

With so many restaurants in Portland, Back Bay Grill was highly recommended and we were not disappointed. Very attentive service, no rush but they knew we had a show that evening and dinner was timed perfectly. The mussels were the best we've ever had and we have grown up on seafood our entire lives. The roasted chicken and filet mignon were delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Portland”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

There are many contenders for the best restaurant in a city known for many excellent places to dine. However, my wife and I feel that the best restaurant in Portland by far is the Back Bay Grill. Every aspect of the meal is simply excellent from service to wine selection to artistically prepared meals. We lived in Portland for three years and this is the one place we miss most. On our next trip to Maine, we will be sure to visit the Back Bay Grill

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Special dinner”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband & I like to research restaurants before we travel and although I use to go to Portland, ME frequently with friends it had been a long time since visiting and dining in the city. We decided to make reservations at the Back Bay Grill because of the great reviews. I am happy to say we were not disappointed. We had a 6:00PM reservation and were seated promptly. Our waitress Erica was very personable and gave input on everything from the spiced pear martini I ordered to the entrees. My husband ordered the filet mignon and I ordered the vegetarian pasta with apples and squash stuffing. When Erica heard I was a vegetarian she switched my complimentary tasting sample from a salmon fritter to a hand rolled cracker with cheese which was so tasty. The entrees were great - not a morsel left on our plates. We told Erica we were too full for dessert ... suddenly she arrives at the table with a creme brulee with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate ... she had asked earlier if we were celebrating a special occasion. Needless to say we could not let the dessert go to waste since it is our favorite - it was wonderful. In addition, we also received a sample of the vanilla mousse! It was a good thing we walked to the restaurant from our hotel so we could "walk off" the double dessert. When we met with friends the next day and told them where we dined they all spoke well about our restaurant choice. We would highly recommend this restaurant and would dine again on another trip to Portland.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Back Bay Grill also viewed

 

Been to Back Bay Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing