We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food: Wear your ear plugs”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Boda

Boda
Ranked #16 of 607 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food: Wear your ear plugs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We just enjoyed some fine Thai dining in Portland at Boda tonight. We ate an apple thai salad, Kra-poa chicken, and a shrimp skewer along with their Lobster Chips to start us off. Both main dishes offered flavorful repasts; the lime sauce for the shrimp and chile paste for the lobster chips were wonderful and the cuteness of the place cannot be denied, with Longfellow's seated figure gazing through the window from the square as one eats. The guests' talking volume, however, unfortunately typical of many small American places, was distracting; without immense crowd or even a particularly busy Thursday night, we were holding our ears by the end of the experience and hoping this great culinary treat would soon find a quieter venue for their tasty dishes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jheyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    90
    16
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little jewel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We just got done with a week-long visit with family and friends in Portland, Maine. We dined out at a different restaurant every night and, even though others were much more renowned, Boda stood out as the best of them all. Cute decor, attentive and knowledgable staff... Great cocktails - a great start! The quail egg appetizer was stunning and the beef curry was flavorful and wonderfully spiced. My wife had the Kra-Prao chicken and was equally impressed We lingered long over dessert and coffee and, when I finally asked for the check, I was stunned at how small it was given our previous experiences earlier in the week. It was a really top shelf dining experience that we will definitely repeat on our next trip back to Maine!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank victorbravo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica Plain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My friend and I had a wonderful meal at Boda. I am a vegan and was able to find vegan options -- excellent steamed vegetables and a tasty asian salad. My friend had duck and loved it. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaraJamaicaPlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boroughbridge
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Very busy restaurant which doesn't take bookings but they still manage to give great service . The atmosphere was good , food great and arrived at a good pace and staff very friendly . Great area for bars and food .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank williams508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Good Eats Good Ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This was our (my husband and myself) time in Maine. We spent two nights in Portland. We had heard so much about Maine lobster, we decided to dedicate the first night to lobster. After the lobster overload, we were craving for some spicy food the second day. We read about Boda in the travel brochures and checked it out on-line. The reviews were good, so we decided to give it a try. We got there around 7 pm and found people waiting. We were told the wait would be about 20 minutes. We did not mind as we had all the time in the world. We settled down with a basil Tom Collins which was very smooth and relaxing. After about 15 minutes we were led to our table. The wait staff was very courteous and pleasant. We ordered a chicken satay for appetizer and then a Pad Thai and a spicy red chicken curry. We had asked that the curry be extra spicy hot and it was excellent. Overall, it was a great experience. Look forward to going to Boda again on our next visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boda also viewed

 

Been to Boda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing