We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Somewhat Good Food Horrible Service”

Bayside American Cafe
Ranked #43 of 607 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Somewhat Good Food Horrible Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

After an hour wait for Sunday brunch (this was expected) we were seated. We had somebody take our drink orders and after a long wait of nobody coming back to take our food. Another person came over and eventually took the food order. I ordered a coffee and a water which throughout my brunch was not refilled because nobody ever came back! I am a bit mixed on my food, my omelette was probably the best I ever had while the potatoes and pancakes were bad. I also ordered a cup of the seafood bisque which came out luke-warm with my meal. I am absolutely used to busy brunch as I live in Chicago but I am not used to being looked over just because tables are full. I really feel like although you are busy you need to find a way to make it work. I was awfully thirsty while eating and that is just not a good thing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Packrats0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    81
    22
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Portland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Bintliff's is such an amazing spot for breakfast and brunch. Corned beef hash is to die for. Ginger pancakes are mouth watering and go well with the scrumptious bacon. The scrambled eggs are light and fluffy and perfectly seasoned. Never had a bad meal here. Also love that they serve Coffee By Design coffees, a great local brew. Have been going to Bintliff's for years and have always adored it. Wish they served dinner like they used to. We always recommend to friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hiportland125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lazy Sunday Brunch Must Try!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

I walked in this place on a recommendation from a waitress where I had dinner the night before and am quite grateful! I ordered the Corned Beef HASH, which was more corned beef by far than anything else, not that that's a bad thing. The potatoes consisted of several different types including sweet potatoes, which was divine! The waiter was a nice guy that was really laid back which fit the setting perfectly. Keep your eye out or you'll drive right by.

Helpful?
Thank Cape_Cod_Antoine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barron, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Had a pumpkin pancake that was amazing. Also veggie home fries was also really good! Definately stop for breakfast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hearty breakfast in a homey environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Saw positive reviews on Tripadvisor and needed a good breakfast to start our day. Went on Friday morning and wait was 10 minutes. Had coffee available while waiting. Great breakfast menu with many choices of Benedict type eggs and omelets with about 20 fillings. 3 type potato homefries are served with all the eggs. Excellent service and never rushed. The building is about 100 years old and hold artifacts from a old Seattle hotel.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bayside American Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bayside American Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing