We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious whole fish”
Review of Street and Co.

Street and Co.
Reserve with OpenTable
Street and Co. is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 617 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dana St.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
121 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Delicious whole fish”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I was here with my boyfriend and we had a great meal. I was in town for work and heard Street and Co. is the place to go! He had the linguini with shrimp (and scallop he added) and I had the whole fish. It was absolutely delicious. The fish was flaky, crispy skin served with clams and cannellini beans. They are also known for their sole dish it hasn't been off the menu since the 1980's! The wait staff is very attentive and friendly. They even make their own limoncello in house! The decor is rustic, cozy and although the tables are close together, it's actually refreshing to be in a great vibrant environment. A must try!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Momopies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    860
    291
    115
    46
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leinfelden-Echterdingen, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Although the concierge in our hotel said it was full, we passed by on a Saturday night and asked if anything was free, only to be told to come back in 45 mins and we could have a table. we went back in 30 minutes, had a drink in the bar and were shown to our table. Excellent seafood, some choice for non-fish lovers, good service, wine not overpriced. Great evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan198471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top of the list”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

From the old feel of the wharf street, through the ambience (brick, wood, copper top tables) and delicious entries, Street and Co tops my list of the Portland restaurants. We've eaten there a few times and had consistently wonderful experience. Clams, scallops, sole, etc. prepared to perfection. Service was great too. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjsavic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
325 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Don't know why this place plays it so close to the vest on reservations. We called and they said they were booked for the night. However, we could show up at 5 and try to get a table. We did so and got in on the first seating at 5::30 PM.

Pros: great fresh salads and seafood. Homemade limoncello. Order the sole, it is excellent. The pasta dishes looked great but there is a lot of food. Excellent bread.

Cons: little bit of an attitude which comes with being a top restaurant I guess. Wine is expensive in the choices you have. Since it is an open kitchen de sigh your clothes will retain the smell of cooking long after you depart.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chadz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were a big group so we waited in the waiting area to grab drinks. The gentlemen who waited on us was very knowledgeable with his wines and suggested some great ones for us. We were seated within 10 minutes. Very fast for a Saturday night. THE FOOD WAS SO INCREDIBLE. One of the best meals I've ever eaten in my life. I mentioned that it was our friend's birthday and the waitress brought out a slice of chocolate cake with a candle for him. Overall, food & ambiance, and service was wonderful. Definitely will visit again when in Portland.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Street and Co. also viewed

 

Been to Street and Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing