We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food great; but felt rushed”
Review of Street and Co.

Street and Co.
Reserve with OpenTable
Street and Co. is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 621 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dana St.
hingham, MA
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Food great; but felt rushed”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

The food here has stood the test of time. Used to go here every summer, but didn't go to Maine for 2 years so hadn't been back for a bit. Scallops in pernod, sole francaise and seared tuna could not be any better. Oysters were great. BUT, we did the 5:00 pm walk-in for the 5:30 table routine. We were seated promptly, but the food came about 4.5 minutes after we ordered. We had not even finished our raw bar yet and did not get a chance to settle in. It felt like their sole purpose was to get us in and out. Waitress was great, but the hostess (an eastern eurpoean woman i wouldn't mess with) prowled the eating area with an eye to making sure everyone was eating fast enough. We foiled their plan by ordering the tiramisu. Yeah, that was really good too. They just need to ease up on the efficiency. 5 for food, but 3 for the rush factor.

Helpful?
1 Thank beeweehingham_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    880
    298
    116
    48
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gorham, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally delicious”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Not an inexpensive meal, but absolutely worth it. I had Maine crab and leek bread pudding with black trumpet mushrooms and a cream sauce which was out of this world, followed by a sole francaise which was simply but perfectly cooked. My husband had a lovely fresh salad followed by scallops in a Pernod and cream sauce. We finished with a poached peach and some cherries served with a sabayon custard and a couple of little shortbreads (me) and pecan pie (him). We will certainly come back here. Literally the only fault I could find with it was that it was busy and rather noisy, but that's a testimony to the number of people who wanted to eat there on a Friday night.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great . . . Once past the front desk”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Once past the front desk, we had a really very good dinner here the other night. Service was efficient, food was good -- no recipes have changed here over the past decade plus (this is good!!), and there is always a sense of fresh fun at the place.
But the front desk. UGH!!!! We called that afternoon. "We have a cancellation at 7:30, come on in. But, if you aren't here by 7:45, we'll give your table away." So we arrive at 7:20. "Please wait 10 minutes." OK? 20 minutes later, no action. I inquire. Slapped down. 20 minutes later, same experience (NOTE: if we hadn't arrived by now, we'd have forfeited our table!). Another 15 minutes: "your table is ready!!!" No apology. I ask about the wait: "Well, isn't 30 minutes of your reservation perfectly good?" Gee, . . . NO!!!
The arrogance bugs me. The double standard bugs me.
Why not simply say, "oh, so sorry!"???
Promise that I can avoid the front desk next time? I'll be there in a heartbeat. Otherwise, forget it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Psp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“REALLY noisy, crowded but worth it if you love fish”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is what a fish restaurant is all about. No pretentions, sit almost on top of each other at longer tables but the fish is perfectly prepared and served in a reasonably timely way. One a nifty street in Portland, one of the older ones, that helps set the tone. The restaurant is a bit on the dark side, lots of dark wood, but an open kitchen and the fish is piping hot when delivered to the table. Drinks are reasonable. Wine list decent. Good value but care, on the expensive side.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood in Old Portland”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Located in an old brick building off a cobblestone road in the heart of old Portland. We did not have a reservation (recommended) for our 8/5/2014 visit but got a table-for-2 after a very short wait in the bar section (ample seating). We ordered chopped crabmeat salad and spring garden salad to start, then sole francais (scorching hot plate) and blackened sockeye salmon. The food was delicious! They offer several wine choices – mostly from France or Italy. Tables are very cramped, tightly-spaced inside so conversations are not very private – they offered some seating outside. The young adult wait staff is attentive and helpful.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank tjy06070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Street and Co. also viewed

 

Been to Street and Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing