We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place and nivce food”
Review of Jan Mee Chinese Restaurant - CLOSED

Jan Mee Chinese Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Saint Pierre, France
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice place and nivce food”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We had diner there and food was very good. Prices were not expensive and we spent a good time at this place. we'll come back in a couple of days to get another meal at this place

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marilyn151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    1
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Old food, scary”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The food had obviously been out under the buffet for a long time. An unsavory customer started making a scene, and to their credit, was promptly escorted out. The people were nice, but the food was below average and made me long for the trusted Chinese buffet near my home.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank antiquemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Portland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wicked bad”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

lunch time...and they are serving yesterday's leftovers. It looks cold and old. Most of the serving pans were empty, when I questioned this they said fresh food would be "on the way" didn't bother to stay -Why not start the day with fresh food?

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmyo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Godawful Mess”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The food here has gone from mildly bad to just plain terrible . . . it's pretty much inedible - everything I've had has just been that.

Helpful?
Thank Sharkmeister99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best ever Chinese restaurant!”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I love Chinese food and have been to restaurants in several different towns and states. Jan Mee has been a favorite of my friends and I for at least 10 years. I didn't think it possible but they have improved even more this year.

The food is typically Americanized Chinese but with good quality ingredients. The meat pieces in dishes are a nice size and the vegetables are fresh and colorful. There is no MSG used so the flavor comes from experienced use of spices and food combinations.

Their buffet is more extensive and quite delicious. The decor is relaxing, lighting low, and they have installed TVs in a couple of areas. Seating is a choice of booths or chairs and both are comfortable.

The cost is average with the buffet being around $10 after lunch hours. The staff are courteous and attentive.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LynGarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jan Mee Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing