We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for”

The Works Bakery Cafe'
Ranked #14 of 28 Bakeries in Portland
Price range: US$1 - US$9
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: The Works to you: humanely-raised, naturally-cured meats and poultry with no antibiotics or added hormones. Local eggs from cage-free chickens. Hormone- and antibiotic-free milk and cream cheese from Vermont family farms. Breakfast and lunch sandwiches and paninis on artisan bread, wraps or traditional boiled-and-baked bagels made with unbleached, unbromated flour. Fresh salads. Hearty, from scratch soups. Fresh-fruit smoothies. Rainforest Alliance Certified coffee. Thoughtfully sourced, local when possible.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is a great soup, salad, and sandwich place, reasonably priced. It was recommended by the Manager of the Salt Shop down the street (where we got some great salt chocolate) and we are very glad we went. My son and I had pasta fagioli with fresh bread, my husband had the veggie burger. The menu looked full of natural choices reasonably priced. We would return!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 34678Love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My Aunt and I were Christmas Shopping and this place was recommended. We were looking for soup and sandwiches and this place was perfect. Sandwiches are made fresh and the offerings are unique. Some of the table areas had big sofa chairs. I had a roasted artichoke panini and clam chowder. Very good. The Chowder was thick and rich. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. I would go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaninePor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Maine
Level Contributor
309 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Nice staff, clean grounds, process of ordering is self explanatory. Tuna melt Panini was very good. Not greasy and the sour dough bread was great! The garden humus wrap was good as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephV44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Guest Relations Manager at The Works Bakery Cafe', responded to this review, 2 October 2013
StephV44: Thank you for taking the time to post a review! I am glad that you had a good experience with us, and I have passed your comments along to our Manager, Amy! Please stop back in anytime! ~Jennifer
(P.S.- I notice you have a service-member in your picture: from one veteran to another, please send along my thanks for their service!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No Coffee, Really?”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

My family stopped at the Works about 3pm for a hot drink after visiting the art musem. There is
a Dunkin Doughnuts across the street, but we try local places when we can. This was a mistake.
The Works had no fresh coffee, but tried to sell us the stale, burnt coffee that had been sitting
there all day. We asked for our money back, and the manager did not even apologize.
we just left. Our son did like the berry smoothie.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shari g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
118 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I love this place! They're in such a convenient location, I often stop by when I'm shopping downtown or meeting clients. They have delicious sandwiches, a good drink selection, delicious desserts, and the people watching out the front window is great. And very affordable!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CrownofStorms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Works Bakery Cafe' also viewed

 

Been to The Works Bakery Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing