We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beat Coffee In Town”
Review of Coffee By Design

Coffee By Design
Ranked #4 of 23 Coffee & Tea in Portland
Description: Coffee By Design, a Maine owned and operated coffee company since 1994, is dedicated to changing the world, one cup of coffee at a time by providing customers with sustainably sourced, traceable coffee. Owners Mary Allen Lindemann and Alan Spear were named Maine SBA Small Business Person of the Year, 2014. In addition to serving some of the world's finest coffee, Coffee By Design is committed to running a sustainable business dedicated to the arts, the environment, and the community.
Restaurant details
Description: Coffee By Design, a Maine owned and operated coffee company since 1994, is dedicated to changing the world, one cup of coffee at a time by providing customers with sustainably sourced, traceable coffee. Owners Mary Allen Lindemann and Alan Spear were named Maine SBA Small Business Person of the Year, 2014. In addition to serving some of the world's finest coffee, Coffee By Design is committed to running a sustainable business dedicated to the arts, the environment, and the community.
austria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beat Coffee In Town”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Whenever I´m in Portland I go to Coffee by Design. There are many nice coffee shops in Portland but CBD roasts there own so it´s always fresh. There are also a few coffee shops in town that feel a little pretentious. Not at CBD. It´s always easy going but with good customer service. I love there Italian Roast and always buy a few pounds when I´m in Portland.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gagnonml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    32
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, MA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hot and Spicy”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

They said it was spicy and it was. I ordered the Black eyed chai and it lived up to it's description. Definitely a good start to a long day. Service was good. It was nice to here what they each liked.

Helpful?
Thank Cape_Cod_Antoine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Micro roasted, fair trade coffee.”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stumbled into CBD on Congrees St in Portland. It is not in the best neighborhood and the interior is not particularly fancy yet if you like really really good coffee , this is the place to go. The selection of grains from around the world is impressive and they do their own roasting in the back room. I ordered a latte which was rich and foamy. You can also buy beans to take home. The food selection is small but the almond croissant I had was also delicious. I highly recommend this place and you'll find it much easier to park out front then being on the waterfront.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smadrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best coffee in town.”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Delicious fresh roasted, fair trade coffee. Of the several locations in town I prefer Washington Avenue thanks in great part to the staff. Tessa who I believe is the store manager is steady, bright, friendly and all-around delightful. Kudos to Tiffany who all patrons seem to love.
I go for the Alonzo's Double Dark. It is flat out terrific; strong, bold and potent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank egbrandwein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The servers here is great!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

I have been going to CBD for at least 11 years now & not only is the coffee great but the staff is quirky to the extreme. The key to the bathroom always has something odd attached to it. Once it was a My Little Pony figure! This demonstrates the outlook of these shops; of which there are 3 in downtown Portland & another in the LL Bean flagship store.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coffee By Design also viewed

 

Been to Coffee By Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing