We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a special dinner, drink, or just the view”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Outliers Eatery

Outliers Eatery
Reserve with OpenTable
Outliers Eatery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #109 of 607 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great spot for a special dinner, drink, or just the view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stop in here each time we're in Portland. Great space -- with an especially stunning bar -- with some outside tables and a view of the South Portland bridge and harbour. A mix of neighbourhood locals, other Portlanders, and tourists all contribute to the bustling but low-key atmosphere. The selection of dishes is small but well thought-out, playing on seasonal food with plenty of local ingredients. The Maine larder includes fish, lobster, duck, as well as mushrooms and fresh greens and squash. The chef is creative, but not aggressively so and the meals are resultantly easy to enjoy and nicely presented. The service is pleasant, unobtrusive, and accommodating. Desserts can be playful, taking a page from the junky old-fashioned stuff of a 1970s or 80s childhood -- snoballs, for instance, creatively re-imagined.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnarkoutgirlScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    34
    19
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maine/New York
Level Contributor
175 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“I wasn't really impressed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The place was warm on a summer night. The pork ears were really good, but it was a small portion. The whole fish was excellent, but the lobster dish was pretty bland. We had to keep asking for bread as they were skimpy with it. The service was just ok. The place has an interesting vibe, though. You can see a bit of the water from the porch or the inside tables.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanCookTonight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Me, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great setting for great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I am a little late in reviewing. I dined here with wife and parents on the 5th of July. We each had a different menu item: All were perfectly done, especially my halibut plate with faro and summer salad. So FRESH. We dined out on the small deck on the corner and enjoyed the summer Portland breeze and views of the bridge and harbor. Cocktails to start were delicious and wine list is brief but very complimentary to the dining options. I had previously come and enjoyed the small plate options, but this foray into entrée dining was fantastic. Can't wait to go again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
168 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Interesting menu, OK food and atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We went there Saturday night and had an OK meal. My chicken breast served over pasta was disappointing... the chicken was dry and the noodles were the main part of the dish. Served with fiddle heads, but there were only 4 or 5 fiddle heads. My friends had halibut which was reported to be very good. My seat, on a bank ette bounced up and down with others next to us. I would not recommend this place as a first choice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanford F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and excellent food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was my second time at this restaurant. This is one of the best "newer" places to eat in Portland. I found the beer and wine selection very good. I ordered the cauliflower, one of the few vegetarian options, it was surprisingly well-presented, and very good. The service is excellent here, the decor very enjoyable, and overall, a good dining experience. it wasn't difficult to find on street parking, which is a bonus. I will be back to try the brunch soon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Outliers Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Outliers Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing