We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bite in Portland”

Blue Rooster Food Company
Ranked #123 of 626 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Bite in Portland”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We were looking for a late lunch in the Old Port, on a Saturday, which isn't as easy as it sounds even in this foodie town. A lot of the restaurants here that serve a nice lunch, only do so on weekdays and then open for dinner only on Sat. There are tons of brew pub type places with the wings and fries, but there just had to be a really good bite out there and boy did we find it.
At The Blue Rooster, it's order at the counter and seating is several stools facing the wall or a couple of benches that are turned to the only window and of course takeout.
We ordered Caroline's Pulled Pork sandwich, served on a huge homemade biscuit. Nicely seasoned tender pork, chopped slaw and sour dill pickle slices made for the best sandwich I have had in a long time. About 6 sandwiches were on the board along with several hot dog combinations. Seems each menu item has been perfectly crafted to give a spark to the taste buds. All I can say is "umami"!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank palm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    28
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a great little place”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A friend and myself were traveling up the coast of Maine around Labor Day 2013. A friend had mentioned Blue Rooster so I thought we would add it to our itinerary. We were not disappointed.
We had eaten breakfast in Portsmouth, NH and weren't really hungry so thought we would have a snack. We ordered one lobster roll, tater tots and fried Brussel's sprouts to share. The lobster roll was wonderful, the tater tots were too, but the sprouts were absolutely incredible. Don't miss this gem, you won't be sorry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WithMJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natrona heights, pa (slightly north of pittsburgh)
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We tried the lobster roll, very yummy and different, although not for lobstah roll purists. The hot dog wrapped in bacon was amazing, and the Thai tea really good. It's the fried Brussels sprouts with sweet chili sauce that will bring us back...the most delicious presentation of Brussels sprouts ever! Very fun, funky place just off the beaten track behind the dog store.....check it out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mayngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Felt good after I was finished!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Popped in after a whale cruise and saw people everywhere carrying brown bags from the pier. I stopped a guy and asked what's in the bag? He stated a sandwich from the Blue Rooster. I had to find out so arounded the corner and in this small carved out section on the side street laid a little storefront with people standing all around. In I went to find the kitchen is staring me in the face. The first thought that came to mind, clean! Great smell and interesting little delights sitting on the counter accompanied the cleanliness. Ordered a Plain Jane for the son, a Cuban for myself and the wife and daughter split a farmer Ted. All was good and my stomach thanked me for the super nutritious grub!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fire947man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“more than a sandwich shop”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Really surprised at how good the food was at this little placed that looked like a standard sandwich place. everything had a special twist to it. Schooner Tuna is the best tuna sandwich I ever had

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenn_R46111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Rooster Food Company also viewed

 

Been to Blue Rooster Food Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing