We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
Review of Walter's

Walter's
Ranked #20 of 627 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We has a group of 5 of us eat at Walter's and everyone truly enjoyed our meal. We shared the Calamari which was fantastic. We had everything from beef to seafood and all of it was truly fantastic. We all said we would eat there again if we had a chance.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoCDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    88
    37
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Osprey Florida
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“My favorite place for lunch in Portland”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had lunch at Walter's yesterday. This time there were three women, who wanted to catch up on each other's lives. We sat in the super-comfortable chairs at tables on the bar side of the restaurant, had a perfectly marvelous lunch (with a couple of glasses of wine) and talked until we felt guilty about keeping the waitress so late. Perfect!

Two of us had fish tacos with fried oysters and the third had salad with grilled chicken. All entrees were superb. We finished the meal with espresso and a cappuccino which were all delicious. We all agreed we'd meet again--at Walter's only--in the near future.

Walter's does not take reservations for tables less than a certain number. So my son, who had a business lunch last week, couldn't take his client there because he couldn't get a reservation. Their loss. I'd consider it a perfect place for a business lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chesterlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Came here for Valentines dinner with friends and we had a wonderful experience. We had salad and calamari for appetizer and braised short ribs, shrimp, duck and salmon for main dish and everything was excellent! Would come back for to their short ribs again it was the best tasting dish on their menu

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank armidamaldita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunk, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Best lunch in Portland, ME”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This is a five star restaurant for lunch. Cobb salad, tiramisu with a double expresso - can not go wrong. Everything is great. Excellent for a business lunch as is very busy after 11:45 am for lunch till 1:15 pm. It is a keeper.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must try when in Portland!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I made a reservation for a party of 8 for an after business meeting dinner at the recommendation of my client. The ambiance, service and food was excellent. This place by far surpassed my expectations. The calamari is a must have for an appetizer. The brussel sprout as well as the beet salad was perfectly prepared. For mains we had the ahi tuna, scallops, swordfish, haddock, petite filets and duck breast. For all of us to love our dishes is a rare find when going out with a big group. It really speaks to how well everything is prepared by the chefs here.

If in Portland, do not miss out on trying this place. It is definitely good for going solo, on a date or for a large group.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathleen_Messina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walter's also viewed

 

Been to Walter's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing