We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb food, gracious but slow service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portland & Rochester Public House - CLOSED

Portland & Rochester Public House
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Open in 2013, Portland & Rochester Public House is a locally sourced New England Pub. Beautifully crafted, unpretentious meals with nice wines and a great amount of local beer and even cocktails made from our local distillers. The rustic dining room is a great room to watch the kitchen in action and have a great date night or dinner with friends. The bar is bustling and is perfect for noshing from happy hour right through late night!
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Superb food, gracious but slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were seated in the dining room which is quite attractive with rough hewn beams and copper-topped tables, well-spaced, and low lighting. Our waitress was very pleasant and efficient, and the food we ordered was superb: oysters, moules frites, and their hamburger with French Fries. Our only quibble was that it took a long time for our food to arrive. The mussels and frites were very plentiful and some of the best I've ever eaten - and I've eaten a lot of both. The mussels were small, very fresh, and the reduced broth was delicious if a little too salty. The fries were handcut and thin. The hamburger was perfectly grilled and the toppings delicious, including cheese, pork belly, and a pepper conserve, which my husband requested on the side. I would definitely return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raymond, Maine
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delightful Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

With respect to other reviewers, this is not "just okay bar food". Not by any means....and we sat at the bar!
We recently stopped by without a reservation and rather than wait for a table, decided to sit at the bar. The bartender, Chris, could not have been nicer, as was Garrett, who chatted with us at some length. At first glance, the menu seems rather limited, but at second glance, you realize that each appetizer and entree is so unique that the options are diverse enough to meet anyone's needs. We fully enjoyed every dish ordered. Each one was perfectly prepared and what made each dish so memorable was the side accompaniment. Stuffed trout with a fresh tomato ratatouille and a small pool of scrumptious pesto; half chicken with awesomely roasted brussel sprouts and spaetzle with a wonderfully not-too-sweet sherry light creme sauce; sweet potato ravioli with an amazing pistachio(?) oil drizzle. We truly had a hard time not licking our plates!
They also have some great beers on tap...again, not a huge selection, but the ones they have are more than enough for any palate. They also have a full bar, wine and bottled beer.
In sum, the food is great and the atmosphere is cute, cozy and very friendly. This is our new go-to restaurant in Portland!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, amazing food ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Hip setting, friendly staff, awesome starters and great beer selection
. Entree selections limited. We ate and loved the pretzels, octopus and cheese plate. Bon appetite!!

Helpful?
Thank PiazInCr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Grove, NY
Level Contributor
123 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Our server was very sweet but rather inexperienced. The menu is really bar food. Just okay. The beets were good.
This is not a spot to order wine.
Sorry, there are just too many great places in Portland to give this place a second chance.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vinoperson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Just ate at this little hideaway. My appetizer of eggplant was excellent - wish I had had more! The pork loin entree was the best I have had anywhere. For dessert I had the cheesecake, which rivals mine! The food is fantastic and the service wonderful. Thanks for a great meal and experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dancewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portland & Rochester Public House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing