We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Delicious Dinner!”
Review of Blue Spoon

Blue Spoon
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Spoon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #112 of 626 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Merrill Street
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Totally Delicious Dinner!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We dined at Blue Spoon after reading about it and this will be the first of what we hope will be many meals there. Everything was wonderful, from a knowledgable, attentive, and pleasant waitress to our delicious meals. We ate outside in spite of a chilly breeze in order to enjoy the neighborhood ambiance.

There is an emphasis on local and fresh seasonal ingredients. My asparagus starter with bacon and a light mustard sauce was perfectly cooked and the flavors delicately balanced. I then had the dish described as Maine seafood stew with pollack and mussels which was a delightful surprise. This was nothing like a traditional seafood stew and was tremendously flavorful. I savored every drop. My husband had the beet salad which he loved and the red wine and sausage risotto. He orders risotto every chance he gets and was very pleased with this one. We shared a coconut flan and even brought some home with us since we couldn't finish it. The flan is denser than a typical flan and very tasty, recommended for coconut lovers. We each had the half servings of our main dish and were perfectly satisfied.

This little gem has an excellent kitchen and definitely worth the walk uphill!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Solisue7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    58
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A very special potato salad!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Everyone had burgers and we enjoyed them, but the warm potato salad was what was truly special. The waitress spoke highly of the coconut flan, and that was a hit as well. The beer choices were excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C_Jeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Totally Awesome Meal and Outstanding Service…again!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This place totally rocks and for our 2nd visit it did not disappoint. Our group went with polenta fritters, fried egg toast (smoked mozzarella, finochio salami), spicy squid, and, moroccan lamb bbq hand pie as appetizers and starters. There were no clear winners and any or all of them should be on any diners list. Our entrees were grilled flank steak, winter risotto, and the braising pot (seasonal ragù, house made pasta). Again all outstanding dishes and raves around the table. Two at our table managed to split the lemon cake option and another double thumbs up. Service once again was professional, friendly and just right. Do not change a thing here!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Blue Spoon - Nice bistro atmosphere and food”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We visited Blue Spoon mid-week. It answered our need of a restaurant with a variety of smaller dishes that would satisfy without "stuffing." The menu of tapas, appetizers, and entrees provided a wide variety of meals to select from. Everything we tried was tasty, served promptly, and pleasing to the eye. The restaurant is small and cozy; recommendations seem necessary if one is on a tight schedule. As it was small, there was a hum of noise, but never so much that impaired our conversation. A gem on Munjoy Hill.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Consistently impressive”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

For special occasions, Blue Spoon is my favorite restaurant in Portland. We've been eating here for years, and the excellent meals as well as the great service and warm atmosphere keep us coming back. The menu has great variety, and we've never been disappointed. In my experience, the steak selection is always outstanding, and you can't go wrong with the mussels. There's a good price range on the menu, as well as half portions offered. The coconut custard flan is heavenly and always my first choice for dessert. Blue Spoon is open for brunch, lunch and "wine time" if you'd like a more casual introduction to this wonderful restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyLobsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blue Spoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing