We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real asset for the city of Portland!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Portland Harborview
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A real asset for the city of Portland!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

As frequent visitors to Portland, Maine, we are happy that the city finally has a top-notch hotel. The renovation of the old Eastland Hotel is nothing short of spectacular. And the service - from the doorman to reception to the bartenders and servers - was first-class! Drinks at the Top of the East Lounge are worth it - just for the views of the city alone! The breakfast, included in our reasonable rate, was truly great! All that said, hotel renovations are still in process, and there are still a few kinks for them to work out. Our room had a couple of AC plugs that were still plugged and a noisy heater fan that blew cold air onto the bed. However, I trust these things will be fixed. We'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eek2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaulieur, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for the review. We were pleased to be able to renovate the former Eastland and bring it back to its glory. We agree the views from Top of the East are spectacular! Thank you for choosing the Westin Portland Harborview for your recent stay. Come back soon!

Be Well,

Bruce Wennerstrom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    288
    110
    56
    37
See reviews for
190
359
39
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

OK people, listen up, I've stayed at the Ritz, I've stayed at the Four Seasons, I have stayed at the finest of the finest and they are the finest, but I have to give credit to this Westin in Portland, ME. the staff is OUTSTANDING - the service was superb. every single staff member was kind, courteous and gracious - I felt like I was at the Four seasons!! will visit them again. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niru y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaulieur, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We take great pride in hiring a staff who loves to serve our guests! We hope to see you again soon!

Be Well,

Bruce Wennerstrom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Westin opened the remodeled Eastland Hotel in Mid-December. We stayed here on Friday January 3 and were throughly impressed. The renovated hotel is spectacular from the fitness center to the Top of the East Lounge on the top floor (not to mention the incredible view from up there). The service and breakfast selections were extensive and food quality was excellent in the hotel restaurant.

Overall we found the service from the relatively young staff to be outstanding - courteous, professional and obviously well trained and into customer service and satisfaction.

When we left we commented that we'll be back in warmer weather this summer!

Room Tip: King suites are large and in our case provided an impressive view of the Portland area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaulieur, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin Portland Harborview for your recent stay with us. We agree the views from our Top of the East lounge are incredible.

Our team will look forward to seeing you again this summer!

Be Well,

Bruce Wennerstrom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here last night and had a great New Years because of it. The staff had their "A" game on for the very busy night, and this after only opening a few weeks earlier. From the front desk reception to the concierge service ( a young lady ran out to the corner store after my wife had a "wardrobe emergency" ) the level of service was pitch perfect.
Dinner was again executed flawlessly ( here I had my doubts but was determined to try ),
I truly did not see this one coming from a new staff and a sold out night, they killed it !! Service, food, portions, wine list, all great.
A bit of a fiasco in the morning with the fire alarm but the front desk and valet staff did their best with a bad situation. A special thank you to Tyler Levesque for going above and beyond to ensure guests were taken care of.

Room Tip: upgrade to the King Suite, its well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennellfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaulieur, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed New Years! Our front office staff is among the best in the industry. Thank you for recognizing Tyler at our front desk. I will share your comments with him and his team. He will greatly appreciate this. Thank you for choosing The Westin Portland Harborview.

Be Well,
Bruce Wennerstrom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

With out of town guest who are oil free vegan......Chef Michael came to our table and created a meal for them: soup, main course, kale salad and an "experimental desert." Spectacular and with great excitement and pleasure from the staff. My wife and I had the fish taco, a beautiful field greens salad with roasted parsnips and fried onion strings, a salmon club. We all shared the house add pickled.....yum, and great service! We will be back!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaulieur, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with our restaurant C2. We are very fortunate to have Chef Michael as a part of our team. See you again soon!

Be Well,

Bruce Wennerstrom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights. Rm 1210. View of congress and high. 1 block from Starbucks and children's museum, among other things. Room was very spacious and nicely decorated. Bed was very comfortable. Staff were very courteous and helpful. Down side-the sheets were really rough. The fan in the was loud and blew directly on the bed closest to the window. The towels were new. So new that it left little bits of fluff when you used it. We had minor issues with our food order. C2 gave one sausage link instead of 2. Room service forgot our toast. Both orders were the American breakfast. Would recommend this hotel though. The issues were minor and may have been worked out. Food order issue wasn't worth mentioning to them because they were so minor. The lobby is small but nice. Seems more like a boutique hotel. Had 2 kids with us.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaulieur, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for your comments. Our guests often compliment our prime location in downtown Portland which as you mentioned is very close to many local attractions. I was disappointed to hear about your dissatisfaction with the towels. This has since been resolved. We hope you choose The Westin Portland Harborview Hotel again in the near future.

Be Well,

Bruce Wennerstrom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I visit Portland 2-3 times a year, and have always stayed at the Holiday Inn By The Bay...until now. We were less than impressed with the HIBay this time and were shocked to see there was availability at the Westin / Eastland during the opening weekend, so promptly switched hotels.

The new Westin met all standards set by other higher-end Westin hotels that I have stayed at before. There were a few exceptions, but all due to opening weekend hiccups, no doubt. I heard that they were only at 5-10% capacity from one of the staff, which explained why the hotel seemed empty. For those familiar with the old Eastland, you could see the ghost of the old building, but the Westin is by far a different and better hotel.

The nightly rates initially seemed a bit high, but Portland is becoming more of a destination, and other national chain hotels are popping up downtown like gold rushers.

The design style is very modern and hints of luxury. Unique textures on the floors and walls. Warm but modern colors.

The staff was professional and polite, and seemed thrilled to be at your service - hopefully that doesn't wear with time.

The first room had a broken heating system. We left for dinner and when we returned we were told we would be moved to an adjacent room because engineering couldn't fix the problem. Staff came up to the room with new key cards and advised we would be receiving extra SPG points for the inconvenience.

We stayed on the 12th floor , with a "harbor view"', and the view was good. Not spectacular, but it is hard to get a full ocean / bay view from that part of town.

The room was obviously clean, as the hotel had just opened. The rooms are not overly large, but completely adequate in space. Fully appointed with iron and board, fridge, coffee maker, bottled water, etc. The "heavenly" bed was just that, and SO comfortable. The TV was large (42" ?) and also in HD with a decent channel selection. The heat / AC unit was quiet enough and kept the room at consistent temp.

The "heavenly" bath wasn't so much, due to very low water pressure in the shower - barely more than a trickle, and it took forever to rinse off soap. Toilet and sink were up to par. Towels also fine. I will note that the bathroom ventilation was superior and completely silent. There wasn't a hint of condensation or humidity after getting out of a hot shower. And who doesn't appreciate great ventilation in a shared hotel bathroom when using the toilet?

One complaint about the room would be the lack of printed info about the hotel facilities, hours, etc. I had to call the service express line continuously to get basic info about the hotel. Also the bedside cordless phone and the interactive hotel tv channel were not working - both to be corrected soon I would imagine. The internet signal was pretty good for a hotel. It was suposed to be free, but you had to accept the $10 charge to access it. The service express operator said it would be credited upon check out. House keeping never came to the room on our 2nd and last day, but after a call, towels were brought to the room with an apology.

It snowed 14 inches overnight on a Saturday, so we opted for Sun brunch at the hotel since Portland was pretty much shut down. I had breakfast fare and my partner had the steak burger. Being a food snob, and in one of the foodiest cities in the US, I was shocked at the quality of the hotel food. It was good even compared to local restaurants, and spectacular for hotel food. Fresh, tasty, quality ingredients, good presentation, fair price. The restaurant sits on the High Street face of the building and had a fun street level view.

The Top Of The East cocktail lounge on the top floor was packed on Sat night. Portlanders have loved this penthouse bar with 360 degree views for decades, so it was no surprise that it was at capacity, even with an empty hotel. It is twice the size it used to be, and the windows are basically floor to ceiling. Having moved the walls toward the edges of the hotel roof makes for an even better view of the streets below. The decor is modern, with dim but adequate lighting. I wouldn't want it any brighter or it would detract from the panoramic view at night. The service was slow, but obviously overwhelmed by the crowd. We returned on Sun night and it was much quieter with much better service. We had an appetizer plate and the one dessert offered - both were great. Coincidently, a couple nights previous, we overheard a table of people at a local restaurant complaining about the new Top Of The East and how horrible everything was, including the flat drywall ceilings, whatever that means. I have no clue what all of their complaints were about. Its a cocktail lounge, and when considered as much, its a colossal improvemnt over what was there before.

We also used the hotel's free local shuttle service, which is a HUGE bonus when you don't have the time or desire to walk. It's a large blacked-out luxury SUV (Caddy or similar). Very prompt service, and hopefully that doesn't change when the hotel gets busier.

Valet parking service was ok. $24 per day with unlimited in/out service. The valets were overly attentive and did well. The garage they use, despite one being next to the hotel, is several blocks away. It took 20 + min each time we requested the car, and this will only get worse in the busy summer season when the hotel is full. Getting the car yourself would be possible, but quite a walk away, and not in the best neighborhood ( the garage, not the hotel).

Check out had to be done at the desk because the interactive hotel services channel was not working. The internet charge was still on the bill, but they removed it when I brought it to their attention.

If you are not familiar with Portland, this is a great location for a downtown stay...walkable to everywhere on the peninsula.

My initial stay at the new Westin was a bit rocky, but again, all due to opening weekend hiccups. Nice hotel, great staff, great service, great location, great ammenities, ok price..definitely my new hotel of choice for my semi-annual visits to Portland.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Port2Chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaulieur, Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for joining us during opening weekend at the Westin Portland Harborview.
We are excited about being Portland's new premier hotel. Thank you for your feedback. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed our restaurant Csquared. We hope to see you again soon!

Be Well,

Bruce Wennerstrom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,335 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.6 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Portland Harborview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Portland Harborview

Property: The Westin Portland Harborview
Address: 157 High St, Portland, ME 04101-4563
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Portland Harborview 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Portland Harborview is centrally located in the heart of downtown's vibrant Arts District. Formerly the Eastland Park Hotel, our historic hotel's 289 room hotel offer the uplifting, revitalizing amenities you have come to expect from Westin. Other property features include our full service Akari Spa, 24-hour WestinWORKOUT(R) Fitness Studio, and Congress Squared restaurant. Treat yourself to panoramic views of Portland and Casco Bay from our iconic rooftop lounge, Top of the East offering delicious and healthful local fare & signature cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Portland Harborview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Portland Harborview Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing