We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Portland Harborview
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Nice hotel in a good location in Portland. Lots of local attractions all in walking distance. The hotel is managed well with a good staff. There is a airport shuttle that is comp. Just wish the manager had said this in his welcome email I received several days before I arrived. The rooms are very nice & the hotel is very clean.

Room Tip: Upper Floors bay side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWennerstrom, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for the review! I hope you enjoyed exploring downtown Portland. Thank you for your feedback on the welcome letter. We are currently looking to make some changes.

Be Well,

Bruce Wennerstrom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,072 - 1,078 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were made to feel very welcome at this hotel with valet parking and we never saw our luggage until we were in our room. Check-in was simple and quick. The rooms were well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, a fridge, a good sized TV and comfortable beds. The concierge was excellent and offered us a selection of restaurants across the local area and was extremely knowledgeable. Checkout was very quick and our receipt was emailed to us. Breakfast was very nice but not cheap.

The only reason that this is not a 5 is that over the last nine hotels we have stayed in, we have never had to pay for wifi. It's $9.99 for 24 hours in this one. Shame.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Playfairest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWennerstrom, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for the review and feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your time in Portland. Here at Westin we continually invest in state of the art technology, especially high speed wireless internet. We realize this is very important to all our guests which is why this area recieves to much attention. We hope to see you again soon!

Be Well,

Bruce Wennerstrom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I visited Westin Harborview with friends last week, May 1-4. From the moment we entered the hotel foyer, to the moment we left, every single member of the staff exuded a natural charm, always ready and helpful. Gillian Ghanekar in Reception and Evan in Harborview's restaurant were especially the epitome of hospitality.

My very quiet guest room, with a superb bed and a spotless, well-equiped bathroom, had superb views of the harbor and distant countryside. Everything functioned perfectly, however, the bedside clock was too bright - I kept forgetting to adjust it.

Breakfast, with an un-necessarily complex menu, was first-rate; service, punctual.

I left, wanting to return.

Room Tip: riverside rooms, above the 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casamolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWennerstrom, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for the review and feedback. We are fortunate to have both Gillian and Evan as part of our team. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again real soon!

Be well,

Bruce Wennerstrom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at The Westin Portland Harborview on a weekend in May. We were updated to a studio due to our Westin status. We were give a suite, a bedroom with a living room. Space was great. We were a bit deceived, the sofa was not a sofa bed. We put our children on the sofa to sleep. Everything in the room was new which was perfect. The washroom was so big, it was great. The only negative aspect was that our room key ceased to function. Upon returning to our room one night, we realized the room key was not working as it should. We put the children on the floor as they were sleeping. My youngest was having a night mare and started crying. Someone in a room close by kept on opening their door to see what the noise was. It was close to 10 pm at night. My husband went down to get another key. I tried to console our little one, but no success. This went on for a good ten minutes and no site of my husband. The door not far from us kept on opening. Then, my husband came back up. There had been a line up in the reception area and it took him long to get a new key. We brought our children in the room. Along comes a security guard. I explained to him the key was not working and that our little one would not stop crying. If it had not been for that malfunctioning key, all would have been fine. Those folks in the room could have easily asked what was wrong instead of complaining.. Also, the last floor should be a club lounge instead of a bar. When one has children, what do we do with a bar?

Room Tip: Next time this happens, we shall all go down to get a new key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Newly renovated Westin in downtown, good location to walk to restaurants and cafés. Excellent staff, rooms a bit small but nicely appointed, the best beds in the business. Great shower and nice amenities, including a little fridge and Starbucks coffee in the room. Unfortunately window doesn't open so you can't get some fresh air in the room. Only one computer working in business ctr. Free SUV shuttle to/ from airport , a real nice touch. About 20 min walk to harbor. The hotel restaurant was amazing, great service and great food - don't miss the clam chowder. Will go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank PatoColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWennerstrom, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for the review. We agree with you that we are the "best hotel in Portland" We are looking forward to your return stay!

Be well,

Bruce Wennerstrom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed at the Portland, Maine Westin Harborview - property has only been open 6 months as of April 2014 and is the renovated Eastland. At check-in the staff accommodated our request for a king bed after having mistakenly booked a double with no problem. Probably helped to be Starwood Platinum redeeming a room on points. As far as a Westin goes, everything was as it should have been - same Westin scent, same Westin colors, same Westin level of care with the staff - just newer everywhere. The lounge on the top floor has nice views and a pretty bustling crowd on Friday and Saturday night. Stayed one night - Heavenly Bed was heavenly as usual - bathroom spotlessly clean and a very nice brunch in the cafe downstairs the morning after. Small nit in that valet parking is $24.00/night, garage is nearby but not adjacent, didn't look like street parking was readily available.

Room Tip: Harborview is a bit of a misnomer - you can definitely see the water if you ask for a water view roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWennerstrom, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for the review. I'm glad to hear your enjoyed your stay. We hope you visit again soon!

Be Well,

Bruce Wennerstrom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The new rooms are small, but nice, and the restaurant--C2--offered exceptional food and sensational service. As a local, I would recommend the restaurant to anyone and everyone. However, it takes at least ten rings for someone to pick up at the front desk, the "business center" has lagging internet and a completely useless fax/scan machine, and the Top of the East is seriously lacking since the hotel was taken over by Westin. In addition the room pricing--like many hotels in Portland--is completely ridiculous on weekends.

All in all, I was personally much happier with the property as The Eastland, and I am not particularly impressed by anything at the new Westin besides C2.

Room Tip: Ask for something on a higher floor (if available) to at least enjoy a nice view while crying over y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWennerstrom, Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed in the changes we implemented as a new Westin hotel. I would love to hear your direct feeback regarding Top of the East. Please feel free to reach out to me directly: ryan.beaulieu@westinportlandharborview.com. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed C2 restaurant.

Be Well,

Ryan Beaulieu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,533 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
2.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Portland Harborview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Portland Harborview

Address: 157 High St, Portland, ME 04101-4563
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £90 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Portland Harborview 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Portland Harborview is centrally located in the heart of downtown's vibrant Arts District. Formerly the Eastland Park Hotel, our historic hotel's 289 room hotel offer the uplifting, revitalizing amenities you have come to expect from Westin. Other property features include our full service Akari Spa, 24-hour WestinWORKOUT(R) Fitness Studio, and Congress Squared restaurant. Treat yourself to panoramic views of Portland and Casco Bay from our iconic rooftop lounge, Top of the East offering delicious and healthful local fare & signature cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Portland Harborview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Portland Harborview Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing