We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was very nice but visited on a difficult weekend as far as service....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Portland Harborview
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
181 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Hotel was very nice but visited on a difficult weekend as far as service....”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed the night while in town for only one night and it was a very busy weekend. It was visiting day for Camps in the area. Therefore, the hotel itself was packed and way above typical occupancy.
The rooms were nice, pretty and obviously recently redone.
Staff at the front desk was welcoming as well.
The only problem was the valet. It was suggested it was better to valet but we were warned there could be a 20 minute wait for our car the next morning because so many people were leaving at the same time.
We called early and were told it was a 40 minute wait. After 1 hour and 15 minutes, we finally asked to get our car ourselves however, it came just at that time. The management cannot control how many people may have cars and how long it takes to get them out of valet (the valet staff were working as quickly as they could.) However, management should have planned better and either had many more valets or encouraged us to self park instead of encouraging us to valet.
If you are visiting Portland and want a nice hotel, I would recommend this property as I do believe the valet situation was unusual and only because of the date.

Lastly, there are good restaurants in walking distance as well as places to grab a quick breakfast if you don't want to eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneeFlorida27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny P, Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I sincerely apologize in regards to the valet issues you experienced during your stay. As you mentioned this was a peak weekend for us with multiple requests for guest vehicles all at once. After an incredibly busy Friday morning on this particular weekend we did, and have continued to share the option of self parking in the garage next to the property. While it is not affiliated in any way with our property, it is an option that may be more suited for our guests' needs.

I am glad you enjoyed your time in Portland and would come visit us again! If you do, please reach out to the property so we can ensure your stay is most enjoyable the second time around.

Best,
Ginny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    288
    109
    56
    37
See reviews for
190
357
39
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here this past weekend and reserved two rooms for a couple days, with enough points to literally book the westin in Cancun for a week.
Initially after whining by the front desk over and over again, I was given 1 room to check in, even though it was 1130, and not 330. Now.. I've been a platinum guest with spg for about 8 years, and I can count on one hand the number of times I had issues with checking in early.
Anyway, I was given a room next to the elevator, that had dirty towels still on the floor and hadn't been cleaned. I went down and said I need a cleaned room.
Skip ahead a few hours and I get a call that my rooms are now ready. Both on the bottom floor next to the elevator again.
Other things went on all weekend... A call from a manager saying that my reservation was over and I needed to get my luggage out (even though i had two days left), billing issues with the free breakfast, and so on. Overall, a bad experience.

Spg hotels all over the world check when platinum guests are checking in, and try and give them a basic upgrade. A least a somewhat decent room. Other than that, this stay was a mess...
Obviously they need time see how the SPG program as a whole is run, and instead of hiring a hundred staff members to run around the lobby and outside, spend some time training a few who can get the job done right.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny P, Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing us with feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. I apologize about the poor service you received. As a platinum member we truly appreciate your loyalty to the SPG program. I am sorry that we did not follow through on the level of service we aim to consistently provide. We will address all your comments with our staff. If you plan to visit us in the future please reach out to the property and ask to speak with me, Ginny. I would be more than happy to assure you a smooth visit next time in Portland.

Sincerely,
Ginny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We arrived for camp visiting weekend in Maine. The valet honestly revealed that the hotel had decided to recommend visitors skip the valet (which brings in money to the hotel) and instead park in the lot that is 1/2 block down the street. The reason - too many parents wanting their valeted cars at the same time to head out to their respective children's camps. My husband and I really appreciated their honesty and interest in putting the happiness of the guests ahead of extra parking cash. We were able to leave the car out front with them when we stopped in for a quick run up to the hotel room. In addition, the hotel restaurant breakfast had healthy and delicious options, served by a truly friendly staff. The room was clean, we had every need met during our stay. We went to the bar/lounge at the top of the hotel. It has a nice view of the harbor and is a relaxing place to share a cocktail before heading out for dinner. All in all, I think we know where we'll stay next year!

Room Tip: Paid wifi, but with certain memberships, the wifi is free
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny P, Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on our tripadvisor page! Thank you for your kind words in regards to our valet staff. We will certainly pass this along to the team. Thank you for dining with us in Congress Squared and Top of the East! Our dining establishments are truly wonderful amenities to our property that I am glad to see you enjoyed.

We look forward to having you stay with us next summer if not sooner!

Best,
Ginny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Westin for 2 nights and received horrendous service. Turn down service and bathroom touching up was requested and never done. I asked to speak to a manager and one never called back. I called to ask where my laundry was and did not receive a call back. Notice this pattern of poorly returning phone calls. Then to find out the next day I was handed the same bag my laundry was in that it was not done. Nobody had any answers.

I would not recommend this hotel based on the poor quality of service I received during my stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaDonnainDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth NH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a nice renovation, although perhaps too minimalist. The lobby does not appear very warm or inviting, but too stark - almost like a bare bones office building. The interior decor was also somewhat monotonous - too much of the same drab colors. The rooms were nicely done and spacious, very good quality furnishings, VERY comfortable beds, and very quiet. We took a stroll through the neighborhood looking for a nice place for dinner - there were lots of unique little restaurants in this up & coming arts district. We settled for BODA, a nice little Thai restaurant on Congress Street. Great food & service. Back to the Westin - the staff was very nice & accommodating. Overall, I'd rate it a "4" but it's a bit pricey.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skeptical_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Westin Portland Harborview. The staff could not have been more accommodating. It was a crazy weekend with all the families coming for camp visiting days. The general manager was very visible and accessible. I highly recommend this hotel when staying in Portland.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This clean, quiet hotel in downtown Portland is made special by the staff. I arrived on a sweltering afternoon when the valet was working hard to keep up. That didn't stop him from offering both me and my dog cold water before we even stepped foot in the lobby. The enthusiastic greeting continued at the reception desk, where the clerk made it clear that my dog was truly welcome at the hotel. The housekeeping staff delivered a doggie bed, water bowls, treats and information about local dog parks, etc. The room was clean, comfortable and reasonably spacious.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscardood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWennerstrom, General Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin Portland Harborview to pamper your pet! Here at Westin we love dogs! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and am looking forward to your return visit.

Be Well,

Bruce Wennerstrom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,333 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.6 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Portland Harborview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Portland Harborview

Property: The Westin Portland Harborview
Address: 157 High St, Portland, ME 04101-4563
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Portland Harborview 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Portland Harborview is centrally located in the heart of downtown's vibrant Arts District. Formerly the Eastland Park Hotel, our historic hotel's 289 room hotel offer the uplifting, revitalizing amenities you have come to expect from Westin. Other property features include our full service Akari Spa, 24-hour WestinWORKOUT(R) Fitness Studio, and Congress Squared restaurant. Treat yourself to panoramic views of Portland and Casco Bay from our iconic rooftop lounge, Top of the East offering delicious and healthful local fare & signature cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Portland Harborview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Portland Harborview Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing