We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Westin downtown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Portland Harborview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Portland Harborview
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Westin downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This Westin has a fun and creative vibe. The modern lobby and restaurant was a focal point. The hotel has a complementary shuttle that is helpful given the parking options are limited both at the hotel and in Portland. The best option is to park and walk or grab the shuttle. Not a bad walk....15 minutes to Old Port. The customer service at check in and at the valet stand was very informative and professional. We did have a small mix up with our valet service, but it was resolved promptly.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MyFriendsFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny P, Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on our tripadvisor page! We truly appreciate the feedback and are delighted to see you enjoyed your time on the property and in Portland! Thank you for your kind words in regards to the staff. It is great to see they took care of you during your stay with us. I apologize about the valet mix up you had. I am glad to see it was resolved quickly!

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you in the future!

Best,
Ginny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    268
    104
    56
    32
See reviews for
180
334
38
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
385 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Pros: Nice, recently renovated hotel; nice staff, over-night self park in garage next door for $19 per night (not cheap, but $5 less than valet); it was not easy, but they allowed a refund of one night for a changed reservation made through a discounter; across street from PAM and Children's and not far from Longfellow; NO HARBOR VIEW and actually a bit of a walk to the harbor (we were on 8th floor and we could not see it (maybe if you are higher?); easy access to expressways; great views of city from lounge on 15th floor

Cons: Really outside the tourist areas except close to museums; immediate environs have some low income housing so there are a lot of people on the sidewalk smoking (no big deal and the area is safe and I'm probably a bad guy for bringing up, but it is not necessarily what I care to walk though on vacation); valets gave us wrong info about street parking which led to $30 fine

Room Tip: many rooms have view of roof or parking garage; probably want a roof facing south and a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Rahhalatun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny P, Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our tripadvisor page! We truly appreciate the feedback and will certainly share your comments with our team. I sincerely apologize about the mix up with street parking you encountered. I will absolutely follow up with the valet staff to ensure they understand the street parking rules. I am sorry to see that the location of the property didn't suit you during your visit. While we are about a 10-15 minute walk into the old port we do offer a complimentary shuttle that is available on request to take guests' all throughout the Old Port district! I hope the location doesn't convince you to stay elsewhere if you return to Portland in the future.

We truly appreciate having you as a guest and hope to see you again!
Best,
Ginny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Valet, Front Desk, Bell Hop & Servers were all friendly, knowledgeable & professional
Hotel is clean & has cool decor
Rooms were clean, nicely decorated, bathroom had nice lighting, waterfall shower & soft towels
Bed had so many wonderful pillows I slept great!
from our room on 11th floor we had a decent view of harbor and the bay but don't miss the great views from the cocktail lounge on the top floor (15th?) - the watermelon martini was very refreshing!

Room Tip: since this hotel sits away from the harbor you need to go up in floors to get a view of the water fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny P, Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our tripadvisor page! We truly appreciate the feedback and love seeing that you enjoyed your time with us! Thank you for visiting the Top of the East during your stay! The summer cocktail menu they have rolled out is amazing! A watermelon martini combined with the view sounds like a perfect evening.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you in the future!

Best,
Ginny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My room was clean but small. However the staff was very attentive. From Don the shuttle bus driver who was delightful and informative to Evan and Anya front desk staff. Don suggested a few local restaurants that I subsequently went to. Evan, checked me into the hotel efficiently, attentive, and answered my questions. Anya, provided the same level of service when she checked me out of the hotel. During my stay I requested a microwave oven which was delivered within 5 minutes of my request by Tristan. My only disappointment was the room view. Although I did not pay the extra for the room view upgrade, I was not pleased with the view of the garage. I was rather surprised there was no bath tub either. Overall, the staff of The Westin met my expectations, and the room was just ok.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny P, Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our tripadvisor page! Thank you for your kind words in regards to our staff. Tristan, Anya, Evan and Don are fantastic staff members! I am glad they exceeded your expectations during your stay. I apologize that the room you stayed in did not meet your needs. We do offer enhanced rooms with very nice views and with the way the rooms are oriented, there are a few rooms that are a bit larger than others. Please let us know your preferences so we may accommodate you on a future visit!

Thank you for staying with us and we looking forward to having you as our guest again!

Best,
Ginny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
261 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed during the busy tome of the year when surrounding summer camps scheduled Parents weekend. I assume that the prices are highest and accomodations more difficult to obtain unless reservations are made well in advance. THe hotel is clean and the staff services were very satisfactory in spite of the heavy load of guests.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thefriedlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny P, Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Westin Portland Harborview for your trip to Portland! It is great to see that you enjoyed your time spent at the property.

We look forward to having you here next summer if not sooner!

Best,
Ginny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We hit high season, so $339 for a standard room, despite reserving early. Turns out, our view was not Harborview at all, but the fifth floor of a parking garage! No bath tub... when we asked to change rooms, they moved us up a few flights and we could see a gorgeous church compound (very nice) out two small window. No tub. They charged us $20 to make the move. Really! The staff was nice, considering the hectic pace of August in Maine.

Room Tip: Insist on harbor or city view; ask about tub if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank writingprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here 2 nights, saw that this is a good location in the heart of downtown. Valet service is not bad but they told us in advance that "we have to park your car 3 blocks down, so give us at least 20mins to have your car ready". Lobby seems very modern, staff is polite and professional in the lobby. In room dinning or service are different, took a long time and when we have concerns and needed to speak with the manager, they always tell us that the manager is busy and never return our call. It was wet and foggy out and the air conditioning is not cold enough and sheets and covers feel wet at night, esp after we shower, no fan in the bathroom. Most likely will not return due to poor service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Run_ar0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny P, Manager at The Westin Portland Harborview, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing us with this feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. I am sorry that a manager did not follow up in regards to the issues you had. If you would like to share any more additional comments, please call the property and ask to speak with me. I would be happy to listen in on the issues during your stay.

Sincerely,
Ginny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.5 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Portland Harborview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Portland Harborview

Property: The Westin Portland Harborview
Address: 157 High St, Portland, ME 04101-4563
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Portland Harborview 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Portland Harborview is centrally located in the heart of downtown's vibrant Arts District. Formerly the Eastland Park Hotel, our historic hotel's 289 room hotel offer the uplifting, revitalizing amenities you have come to expect from Westin. Other property features include our full service Akari Spa, 24-hour WestinWORKOUT(R) Fitness Studio, and Congress Squared restaurant. Treat yourself to panoramic views of Portland and Casco Bay from our iconic rooftop lounge, Top of the East offering delicious and healthful local fare & signature cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Portland Harborview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Portland Harborview Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing