We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Portland”
Review of West End Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West End Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Weekend in Portland”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Spent the past weekend with family at the West End Inn. What a great weekend.... Our hosts went above and beyond any expectations that we had in making this a very special time. We have stayed at many B&B's and have never been offered three different entrees for breakfast! And they were all delicious. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. Loved the location and the restaurants that were suggested to us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John123Minneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    44
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
308
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is a great B&B located in the west end of Portland a few blocks from the western promenade. We stayed in the downstairs room which is separated from the common area by a small hall and a door providing a sound barrier. I enjoyed reading in the sitting area off the dining room. The innkeepers Deb and Scott provide snacks and water and serve what has to be one of the finest breakfasts ever (with the greatest pancakes I have ever had). One very small negative is that it is a substantial walk to the port area (30 min). Also there is on the street overnight parking right by the inn but only after 3:00 PM. There is all day parking a few blocks away and for us this was not a problem. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herkab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sc0deb, Owner at West End Inn, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Native organic wild blueberries go into Scott's buttermilk pancakes. So glad you enjoyed them, your room and your stay with us. You're right, the Old Port is about a 30 minute walk from the inn as we are situated in a neighborhood in the West End of the city. We'd like to add, taxi cabs are readily available and reasonably priced. Some folks like to walk to town and take a taxi back to the inn. Thank you for sharing on Tripadvisor. Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Deb&Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The location is 10 minutes from downtown, and is one of the most gorgeous, pristine brownstones I've ever seen. The parlor and sitting rooms are beautiful, immaculate and relaxing. Deb makes you feel welcome from the minute you step inside. The sleeping rooms are and clean, and in the morning you will wake to the most delicious breakfast (even if you are 20 minutes late...like my fiance and i were!) I can not say enough about this place! We didn't want to leave! We will definitely be staying at the West End Inn whenever we're back in Portland.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sc0deb, Owner at West End Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Jennifer B, It warms our heart to see such review titles as yours, "Best B&B I have EVER stayed in". You made our day when we read the recap of your stay. Our staff works very hard to maintain a clean and relaxing environment for our guests, they really enjoy seeing recognition of their efforts in writing. Thank you. We hope to see you again. Best to you both, Deb&Scott
P.S. I would like to clarify to those who are reading this, the B&B is a 10 minute drive from the "Old Port" area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Every aspect of our stay at the West End was a delight. We stayed for 2 nights over the holiday weekend. Deb and Scott were gracious and friendly inn keepers. They offer a selection of healthy and delicious home cooked Maine style breakfasts, have treats and drinks available all day to guests, and provided suggestions of things to do, which we did and were so happy with! The rooms are cozy and clean and felt very private - like our own little weekend sanctuary. Charming and lovely, would definitely recommend a stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbibarss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sc0deb, Owner at West End Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
"Our own little weekend sanctuary"! We love to hear comments like this. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your endorsement! Cheers, Deb&Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this charming B&B. Deb and Scott were wonderful hosts- the breakfasts were delicious. We stayed in room 1, and it was delightful- great to have our own private balcony to enjoy coffee in the morning and a glass of wine in the evening. All amenities were very nice.
If ever back in Portland, definitely would stay at this B&B again.
Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sc0deb, Owner at West End Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Room 1's deck is a nice feature. So glad you had the opportunity to take advantage of it. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others through Tripadvisor. We really appreciate it. Kind regards, Deb&Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for a night, but it was a lovely inn. I mentioned a nut allergy so there were nut-free cookies waiting in our room when we arrived. We stayed in room 3, which had a private bathroom across the hall...I was a little concerned about this at first, but the hallway is very private and they provided bath robes. The street that the inn is on is very quiet and beautiful. Arrive early to grab the parking spot behind the inn of you can. Breakfast was outstanding. Huge portions, multiple options to choose from, and really delicious. I got the pear gingerbread pancakes and my boyfriend got the veggie, swiss cheese and ham omelette. We saw the oatmeal option on another table, which was also beautiful.

My only complaint was that we arrived around 3:15 and were told to come back later to check in. According to the email, check-in was 4pm-6pm and the sign on the door says 3:30, which is a rather small window but I thought we were there close enough to that time. Deb and Scott are doing all the work themselves, and Deb was still putting our room together so I totally understand the need for time on both ends to keep the inn as beautiful as it is. However, it would have been nice to be given the key so that we could go for a walk and to dinner without having to worry about coming back by 6pm to check-in. We would have simply brought our bags in later on.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGHnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sc0deb, Owner at West End Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your room, breakfast and the nut free cookies we made for you. We appreciate and understand your feedback regarding check in. You are so right, it takes a good part of the day to reset rooms for incoming guests. We are not adverse to providing keys before the room is ready for check in. We often set up self check in instructions when folks let us know they can not make the check in window. However, whenever possible, we prefer to spend a few minutes with guests upon arrival to give them an orientation of the inn and escort them to their room. Many folks are first time visitors and benefit from our brief introduction to the city's restaurant scene and activities. Thank you for your kind words. Best regards, Deb&Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Charming & welcoming, Breakfast was the Best Ever at a B&B !! Come to find out owner is a chef!! We stayed in room 3 w/ our barroom down the hall. Not a problem as it was big enough for a changing room as well!! Plus in your room you have plush robes to wear if need be! Great stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssureed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sc0deb, Owner at West End Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Nice headline! Thank you. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay while celebrating your anniversary at the West End Inn. As you mention room 3 has a private bath located across the hall from the bedroom. We are glad you agree, the extra large size of the bathroom makes up for the fact it is not in the room. Thank you for sharing your opinion and experience on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate it. Best regards, Deb&Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.9 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Inn On Carleton
Inn On Carleton
#4 of 12 in Portland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Inn

Property: West End Inn
Address: 146 Pine Street, Portland, ME 04102-3541
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gracious 1871 townhouse in Portland, Maine's, Historic District. The West End Inn offers classic hospitality and freshly prepared breakfasts in a quiet, tree-lined residential neighborhood. Steps from the Western Promenade. Near Arts District, museums, Old Port area and award-winning restaurants. Off-street parking. Short drive to State Parks, lighthouses, lobster pounds, and premium shopping. Fly to PWM, drive 2 hours from Boston or take the Amtrak Downeaster, then relax and enjoy! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West End Hotel Portland
West End Inn Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing