We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay with amazing breakfast”
Review of West End Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West End Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I highly recommend staying here. After comparing prices and reviews for pretty much every single bed and breakfast in Portland this was absolutely the best value. On top of that, the service was amazing, the common areas were cozy and the room felt very private. Every detail in the room was thought of. The biggest surprise was how amazing the food was. We walked in to the smell of fresh baked cooked and a fresh pot of coffee.The breakfast in the morning compared with some of the best breakfasts I've had at nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed in the Safari themed room and were very comfortable. The Inn is lovely and immaculately clean. Deb and Scott were gracious hosts, offering suggestions for dinner and outings and a great map of the city. Breakfast (with your choice of a savory or sweet entrée! )was by far the best we have ever experienced and we have stayed at many B & B's over the years, included several that are part of the Select Registry. We walked to both of the restaurants where we had dinner (Le Petit Jacqueline and Caiola's) and to the waterfront and Exchange Street. Very reasonable rates for a charming, historic home, comfy bed and a superb breakfast!

Room Tip: The safari themed room is on the quieter side with the morning sunshine. The bathroom across the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a1reilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We're long-time visitors to Portland and recently returned to the West End Inn after a few years hiatus. The new owners have red-done the Inn and the rooms are bright, clean, comfortable and well-decorated.
The breakfasts were delicious and we loved to return after an outing to the aroma of freshly-baked cookies.
We just caught a glimspse of Scott, but Deb was extremely pleasant and helpful. Nice part of the city with tree-lined streets and older homes.
A lovely place to stay, particularly at the promotional price for weeknights.

Room Tip: The stairs are steep so, if this is an issue, rooms on the second floor are the best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank downeaster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

West End Inn is in a great location, is very charming and homey, and is decorated beautifully.
Deb and Scott couldn't be nicer or more accommodating. Scott, a former restaurant owner makes the breakfasts and does a fantastic job.
I met some lovely people while staying here and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
In my opinion, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

West End Inn is a beautifully detailed, clean, comfortable, homelike b&b. charm all the way. fireplace in the living room, couches you'll want to sit on. heading back there after a day's adventures felt a lot like returning home, maybe because you get a key so you can come and go as you please. service was excellent, they offered lots of helpful ideas -- we were new to the city -- good knowledge about where things were, how to get there, what the deal was with all the places like which coffee roaster to try, how are they different, upscale vs downscale, etc. not the typical useless 'olive garden' info at all.

the other guests we only saw at breakfast and all were respectful, and the hosts had an extremely light touch yet were always at the ready with treats, info, suggestions, help, whatever. the interactions couldn't have gone better. what you get here is the "inn" vibe that you won't get at a corporate hotel. homey is the word, i guess -- it's about scale, smallness, simplicity, hospitality, personalization, comfort, being intelligently humane. you really can't beat it when it's done well, and it's done very well here.

Room: there are six rooms in total, of varying sizes, 4 queens and 2 kings. we got the big blue king on the top/third floor. there were only two rooms up there. obviously it's a very old house (100 years, probably more), and the staircase was narrow and a little creaky but well carpeted. wonderful. everything is fully renovated, thick carpet, wifi, flatscreen, and especially a skylight which was killer, since we could lower the shade for privacy and still have a warm indirect daylight fill the room. lots of extra space in the room with little tables, big chairs, a dresser, lamps, double bath sink, standard tub & shower with a window in the bath too.

the bedroom view overlooked the street and trees, our first afternoon we sat in bed and watched a two-hour blizzard with snowflakes the size of golf balls. it's quiet. the bed was firm, it's a four-poster (i think you have to bring your own handcuffs and chains), and it's kind of high, good for a six-footer like myself so maybe the idea is if you get a king, you're expected to have someone else there to hoist you up. clean, crisp, odor-free, lovely colors.

Breakfast: morning breakfasts in the living room/dining room were part of the package -- cooked to order! real quality food and great choices: omelettes, meats, pancakes, oatmeal, maine maple syrup, you choose from 4 mains plus a little starter - either a juicer juice or the apple crisp which is a must-have, overall it was as good and probably better than any bistro you might find on the outside, fine fine fine, no skimping on anything. at the same time there's also a continental breakfast on the open counter for the granola, yogurt, coffee, juice, etc. a lot of care goes into this, that's easy to see.

Location: West End Inn is in portland's west end, a seemingly up and coming part of town starting to hit its stride. a ten minute walk from the inn gets you to the big thoroughfare known as Congress Street where it intersects with Longfellow Square, a center of activity sort of like where Houston and LaGuardia meet. all kinds of restaurants, cafes, bars, music venues, community centers, thrift shops and a herd of bowery-type bums. but coming from nyc it was more colorful than bother - the annoying people are down here, not there. we can handle winos! it's a great walker's city since it's flat, small and full of good stuff. the feeling of history is everywhere.

the best comparable to the west end might be a mini version of a san francisco neighborhood like noe valley without the hills. small tree-lined streets, very very old beautifully maintained homes, fantastic architecture. a lot of red brick everywhere, shingled roofs. lots of detailing. the main difference from sf might be that the colors are more muted, earthy, befitting the northeast and it's climate and curmudgeonly character. portland is a seaport first and foremost, and the town is dominated by the coast. there are seagulls crying out all over the city. crows too. the city has a fantastic soundtrack.

walking around the west end even in 20 degrees was strangely uplifting. lots of dogwalkers, just a few cars, no commerciality.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a skylight and is very quiet on the top floor, with a great king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BraveG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We had a lovely stay at the West End Inn. Deb & Scott were incredible hosts, as they went above and beyond with their hospitality. The room was great, the food was amazing, and we had an overall excellent time staying. Very close walk to points of interest in Portland as well as many great restaurants. Would recommend to anyone interested in getting the full B&B experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The Inn is operated and managed by the couple that own it, and this is evident in the details. Clean linens, comfortable well furnished rooms, deliciously prepared breakfast. In other words this isn't a house that seconds as a B&B, it is a true B&B and it is efficiently and professionally run.
The rooms are clean and well appointed, as are the bathrooms, and the house is comfortable and quiet.

Deb and Scott were very accommodating, to both our room and dietary needs, making the stay there memorable and enjoyable. My wife and I were the only guests on the first night, and felt a bit pampered, but the high quality level of service remained constant even when they were fully booked. These are very nice people, and this is a great alternative to a hotel.

My one tiny complaint was weak coffee (we like it really strong). I mentioned it to Deb, and she simply made me some stronger brew. Without a doubt, the Inn is the best value in Portland

Room Tip: second or third floors with attached bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.9 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,533 reviews
1 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Inn On Carleton
Inn On Carleton
#4 of 11 in Portland
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Park Spring
The Inn at Park Spring
#3 of 11 in Portland
309 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Danforth
The Danforth
#5 of 11 in Portland
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Inn

Address: 146 Pine Street, Portland, ME 04102-3541
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: £90 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gracious 1871 townhouse in Portland, Maine's, Historic District. The West End Inn offers classic hospitality and freshly prepared breakfasts in a quiet, tree-lined residential neighborhood. Steps from the Western Promenade. Near Arts District, museums, Old Port area and award-winning restaurants. Off-street parking. Short drive to State Parks, lighthouses, lobster pounds, and premium shopping. Fly to PWM, drive 2 hours from Boston or take the Amtrak Downeaster, then relax and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your West End Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Hotel Portland
West End Inn Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing