We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Tour Boat”
Review of Casco Bay Islands

Casco Bay Islands
Ranked #4 of 146 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An archipelago of islands off of Portland.
Brandon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Island Tour Boat”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I did two boat tours in one day! In the morning I did the three hour mail boat tour which stops at 5 islands. The boats deliver passengers as well as merchandise. One of the staff lets you know a bit of the history and general information on the islands and the bay. Our boat delivered a new front door to someone, picked up a riding lawnmower with a note on it where to be delivered, lots of milk, assorted groceries and paper products. We watched the seals and lobster folks checking their traps. What fun.

The second ride was over to Peak Island for dinner. This is a 15 minute trip over to one of the more developed islands. Coming back just after sunset was stunning.

Their prices are very reasonable for any of their trips and staff is very accommodating.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mei Mei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    110
    17
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
179 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Peaks Island worth a visit!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Peaks Island is a delightful getaway, just a few miles around yet filled with charming sights, stores, and enough places to wine and dine. It is easily explored on foot, though you can rent a bike and bring it along, or even bring your car on the ferry. The ferry trip is pleasant with beautiful views of Casco Bay and Portland. Ferry's run every hour most of the day till 11PM.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TanZimSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
1 review
“Relaxing and beautiful views”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We did the sunset cruise in June and at first I thought I might get a bit bored since it was 2 plus hours, but all the different stops on the islands was fascinating to see who would be getting off, and who would be getting on, and it was fun to see the crew at work loading & unloading. They really hustled & really seemed to enjoy their work. We brought some snacks & alcoholic beverages, as well as many of the other passengers, but it did not turn into a raucous party as I saw described in another review. Everyone was friendly and all were in awe of the gorgeous scenery. The fresh air and the beautiful sunset was a wonderful tonic to ease our daily stress and worries. We were lucky to have a beautiful evening.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kibrij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We took one of the shorter 2 hour tours of the bay and the islands. It was a nice morning to ride around the bay, talk to the locals, and generally kick back. Take a snack and some water and go. You'll like it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bandit_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringoes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Portland Islands”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

First of all my wife and I were astonished to see the change in Portland as we had not been there for many, many years. The mailboat run was a great way to spend 3 hours and enjoy the islands. It is much more then a mailboat as it takes on/off cars as well. Supplies are shipped to contractors on the islands. Watching them work the loading on/off with the boom and hand jacks was a great way to see the full operation. I understand that they have a tight schedule and we were allowed to get off at Cliff Island for a very brief stop at the local store for a snack. Perhaps on another visit we will take in Peak Island and enjoy the surroundings. Viewing the beautiful homes on the islands was a welcome sight.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teddyballgame999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casco Bay Islands also viewed

 

Been to Casco Bay Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing