We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portland Sea Dog Home Opener!!”
Review of Hadlock Field

Hadlock Field
Ranked #2 of 150 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Minor League Baseball team. The Portland Sea Dogs are the Double-A affiliate of the Boston Red Sox. Come enjoy family friendly entertainment at an affordable price and see future Major League All-Stars. Former Sea Dogs players include Mookie Betts, Xander Bogaerts, Jon Lester, Dustin Pedroia, Anthony Rizzo, and many more.
Swanton, Vermont
Level Contributor
206 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Portland Sea Dog Home Opener!!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

If you love baseball, or just looking for some family fun, you have to get down to Hacklock field in Portland and catch a Sea Dog's home game. There are fun games for the kids, each inning, the atmosphere is so family oriented, and AA minor league beaseball is at its best right here! I got the rare chance to come to the home opener and for a whopping $13.50 I had seats right by the field. Had two foul balls almost land in my lap----FUN! Will make sure to come back for some more inexpensive fun for the whole family!
The food is out of this world....just walk around and try one of everything!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 788BILLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    130
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Baseball at a great value”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We try to take the kids here once a summer. Sure it is not major league baseball, but it is a lot of fun. You can feel a hint of the Red Sox. Nothing costs too much. The game is fun to watch and makes for a great day out. Plus, we always come home with souvenir Sea Dog hats from our ice cream sundaes. Personally, I enjoy the Sea Dog Biscuits more.

If you go to an afternoon game, make sure you bring sun block and a hat. There is very little shade and the sun is right overhead.

I feel that all the seats are good. That's what's nice about a small venue like this.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mainetravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarragona, Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely ballpark”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Lovely little ballpark to see some minor league baseball. Nice and easy to get to in Portland and reasonably priced and nice snacks

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hamish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quaint Ball Park”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I went with my wife to see the Sea Dogs play during a recent trip to Portland and loved the ball park. We are huge baseball fans and try to see a game in any city that has a professional or minor league team. This is a great location, and there is not a bad seat in the house.

We purchased tickets at the gate the night of the game and sat in the first row on the third base side for approximately $10. Great value, and perfect for families. The food selection was limited and is usual at most minor league parks, but the beer and soft drinks were ice cold and refreshing. There are many Red Sox touches in the park, and the fans were friendly and knowledgable. It was a great experience and we plan to return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank VacationLover324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
175 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“LOVE this ball park!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Home of the Red Sox AA minor league team, the Portland Sea Dogs. Stadium has a Fenway Park-like "Green Monsta" in left, and a warehouse that conjures Oriole Park at Camden Yards in right. I try to catch a game EVERY TIME I'm in Portland (and also get a new Sea Dogs cap at the stadium store). Wonderful time!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hadlock Field also viewed

 

Been to Hadlock Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing