We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RUDE OWNER” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“RUDE OWNER”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

While trying to book a reservation here, I found the owner to be extremely rude and abrupt. During our phone conversation, he immediately hung up after I told him that I couldn't speak more loudly, due to being at work. When I called him back and asked why he'd hung up, he very rudely said that he was busy, trying to check guests in, along with trying to take care of other things. Aside not apologizing, he was so curt in asking what I needed. Of course, I was no longer interested in ever booking here, due to this extremely poor customer service.

Unfortunately, I needed to note that I've stayed here, in order for this post to go through. But, I didn't and wouldn't!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorrillMansion, Owner at Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
I am very sorry for this experience, and please accept my sincere apology. To be honest, after having asked you 3 times what reservation date I could assist you with, and no reply all 3 times, I assumed that YOU had ended our phone converation. When you called us back (from a different phone number , and assuming not from your work desk ) I could finally hear you but at that point you were irate and only wished to vent. I patiently let you and then thanked you for your call. I would never intentiionly hang up an any guest, or anyone else for that matter. I have owned and operated Morrill Mansion for the past 7 years and strive everyday to make every guest's stay here an enjoyable one. And even though there was this terrible misunderstanding I sincerely hope your stay here in Portland was, or will be, an enjoyable one. With kindest regards, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    26
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
269
19
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We had an amazing stay at the bed & breakfast. David was very friendly and we instantly felt right at home thanks to all the warm touches and extra details. Breakfast was delightful we really couldn't ask for anything more. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midgiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This spotless and tastefully restored mansion was once owned by the founder of B&M Beans and is located hard by the Maine Medical Center on Portland's West End. While it may seem just a tad out of the way, nearly everything on the peninsula is within two or three miles of the place. A number of the city's better restaurants, minor league baseball, grand Victorian neighborhoods and impressive views are just minutes from the front door. The breakfasts are terrific, and owner/inkeeper David keeps the conversation going while offering helpful tips on sightseeing and outdoor activities. We stayed three nights in the first-floor Promenade Suite for $229 per -- a rate comparable with the town's other top-tier B&B's. Portland is quite an impressive, up-and-coming small city and really worth checking out for a couple of days before you head up the coast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at the Morrill Mansion for two nights and had an incredible experience at our first bed and breakfast. David was a wonderful host and was very attentive to our needs, and his delicious baked goods (and lobster souffle!) were a tasty start to our day. As this was also our first visit to Portland, he was a great source of knowledge about sites to visit in and around the city, and the B&B was chock full of great snacks and amenities to make sure we were well-fed and comfortable throughout the day. Definitely a place to visit again!

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms. While our first was more private (the McGuire room), our second (the Marston...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwesternTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

The Morrill Mansion was perfect for our two-night stay. During an unseasonably warm spell in July, the whole house was a cool, clean oasis. Breakfast offerings were vast, and delicious. The mini raspberry bread loaves were particularly memorable. Our bedroom and bath were supplied with lovely linens and other amenities. When we couldn't connect our pesky laptop to the Wi-Fi, the innkeeper went the extra mile by providing us a cable for our laptop. And when the rains came, there were a supply of full-size umbrellas in the vestibule for guest.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay for one night at the Morrill Mansion. Beautiful room, spotless bathroom, comfy bed, refrigerator in the room and great breakfast/snacks. Our room also had an a/c unit and ceiling fan. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny_the_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We loved our two night stay at this wonderfully restored mansion! David has set the bar high!
Our room on the top floor was beautifully appointed,chocolates on the side table, fabulous bed and the most luxurious towels! David is a wonderful host and offers a delicious breakfast buffet and great treats/coffee /tea/cocoa throughout the day in the lounge. He also has coffee/tea station on the third floor, wonderful for that first cup of the day!
Located in a quiet neighbourhood, minutes from downtown and around the corner from beautiful historic homes and a 20 minute walk from Old Port District. The downtown area has many unique and reasonably priced shops-FOUND is a great little antique shop with the most helpful, amazing staff, I felt like I had met up with old friends! YES is a wonderful used bookstore, great selection of books, photos,magazines and covers-could have spent hours there! Many more stores there and in Old Port area but we spent more time sightseeing than shopping-Portland has many historic homes and old cobblestone sidewalks leading to beautiful neighbourhoods.
Thanks David for a truly enjoyable stay! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.9 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 249 Vaughan St, Portland, ME 04102-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrill Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Morrill Mansion Hotel Portland
Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing