We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lebanon, CT
Level Contributor
185 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Top notch!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This B&B is beautifully restored and decorated very nicely. There are extra touches such as afternoon snacks, anytime tea and coffee, wine coolers in the rooms as well as refrigerators and wide screen TVs. It is extremely clean. David is a splendid cook and the breakfasts were much more elaborate than what we expected from the usual Continental breakfast. It's rather more like a breakfast buffet with delicious homemade dishes alongside the usual cereal, fruit, bagels and English muffins. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aablodgett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    27
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
274
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Manan, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Great location, ample off-street parking. Host was fantastic. Great common room/living room on second floor - with help yourself pastry, coffee and tea AND SCRABBLE

Room was clean and roomy as was private bath. Stayed 2 nights and would always return. Handy to walking to town

Room Tip: Just ask the host in advance when making reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wallace m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We totally enjoyed our 2-night stay at Morrill Mansion. We've visited many B&Bs in New England and this ranked as one of the best. The location is in a quiet neighborhood but accessible by foot or bicycle to art district and waterfront - nice to be away from the crowds in August! We especially appreciated the small details that make a B&B special and memorable. Additionally, David offered many gluten-free breakfast choices, which eliminated our worries about getting sick. Having the small refrigerator in-room was helpful as well since we travel with gluten-free food, just in case. Our suite was lovely, very clean, and the bathroom was roomy. David and staff were friendly and accommodating without being intrusive -- a difficult balance in such an intimate atmosphere -- not all innkeepers can accomplish this well. We will definitely stay here again! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The best word to describe Morrill Mansion is charming. It has an historic flare without feeling outdated. The innkeeper and staff are professional and extremely helpful with any needs from local tourist hotspots to small chitchat. If you can find room after the amazing breakfast prepared for you in the morning, there will be homemade snack waiting for you in the sitting room each afternoon (I had the best Whoopie Pie of my trip here!) We stayed in the Morrill Suite during our stay. It was beautiful decorated and included a great bed, sitting room and jetted tub. We couldn't have been more thrilled with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephmc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
422 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We returned to the Morrill Mansion for the first time in four years, and nothing has changed. Everything was excellent. Our room was immaculate, and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was again outstanding -- arguably the best that I have had in a B & B for some time. About the only minor negative is that our bathroom was quite small -- obviously, there are limits to what you can do in an old house. The Innkeeper, David, is extremely friendly, and he adds quite a bit to the overall charm of the place. This place is a real keeper!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingofThreePutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

While trying to book a reservation here, I found the owner to be extremely rude and abrupt. During our phone conversation, he immediately hung up after I told him that I couldn't speak more loudly, due to being at work. When I called him back and asked why he'd hung up, he very rudely said that he was busy, trying to check guests in, along with trying to take care of other things. Aside not apologizing, he was so curt in asking what I needed. Of course, I was no longer interested in ever booking here, due to this extremely poor customer service.

Unfortunately, I needed to note that I've stayed here, in order for this post to go through. But, I didn't and wouldn't!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorrillMansion, Owner at Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
I am very sorry for this experience, and please accept my sincere apology. To be honest, after having asked you 3 times what reservation date I could assist you with, and no reply all 3 times, I assumed that YOU had ended our phone converation. When you called us back (from a different phone number , and assuming not from your work desk ) I could finally hear you but at that point you were irate and only wished to vent. I patiently let you and then thanked you for your call. I would never intentiionly hang up an any guest, or anyone else for that matter. I have owned and operated Morrill Mansion for the past 7 years and strive everyday to make every guest's stay here an enjoyable one. And even though there was this terrible misunderstanding I sincerely hope your stay here in Portland was, or will be, an enjoyable one. With kindest regards, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We had an amazing stay at the bed & breakfast. David was very friendly and we instantly felt right at home thanks to all the warm touches and extra details. Breakfast was delightful we really couldn't ask for anything more. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midgiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.9 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 249 Vaughan St, Portland, ME 04102-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrill Mansion Hotel Portland
Morrill Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing