We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific place to stay in Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 11 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
silver spring, md
Level 6 Contributor
622 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Terrific place to stay in Portland”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

David, the charming owner, welcomes you at the door and makes certain that your stay is perfect. He is a wealth of knowledge about restaurants and things to do in Portland. The inn has everything you could want in a place to stay. David provides coffee/tea and homemade cookies or brownies or fudge in the common sitting areas at all times, and he makes a delightful breakfast each morning. The rooms are comfortable and immaculate. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    27
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
29
279
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was a return visit to the Morrill Mansion, 3 years after our first visit. We stayed in the Bramhall Room, which is located on the 3rd floor. Described as a "junior suite" on the B&B's website, it is larger than the basic rooms, with a seating area.

The room itself is quite comfortable, with a ceiling fan over the bed and a 2nd, smaller ceiling fan over the seating area. The day we arrived it was uncharacteristically warm for Portland, almost 90 degrees. Fortunately, the room air conditioner had obviously been running for some time, and the room was blessedly cool. Bed linens are very nice and mattress was firm. The room is equipped with a functional closet, a full-length mirror, and a mini-fridge stocked with bottled water. Wi-Fi signal is good.

The bathroom is adequate but not luxurious (not nearly as nice as the bathroom in the Burnham room, where we had stayed before). There is a smallish modern bathtub with a shower attachment -- water pressure and temperature are good but the shower is a bit cramped. The rest of the bathroom facilities are compact, but the room has been outfitted with shelving that does suffice for storage of guest's toiletries. The bath towels are plush and generously sized and the room is stocked with shampoo, conditioner, and bath gel.

Breakfast at the Morrill Mansion is served as a buffet, available over the course of about 2 hours. The morning we were there, breakfast included eggs scrambled with sausage & peppers, hash-browned potatoes, scrumptious home-made pastries (blueberry scones, raspberry tart, and a raspberry-apple crisp), fresh melon & pineapple, as well as various hot & cold drinks. Delicious and ample.

In addition, snacks are available 24/7 in the 2nd floor lounge. In addition to packaged snacks (pretzels, chips), there were home-baked cupcakes and pink lemonade when we were there.

David is a gracious and helpful host. He is more reserved then many of the B&B proprietors that we've encountered in our travels, but that's just his personality. He is welcoming and full of advice as to restaurants and site-seeing, if you are in need of such assistance.

We will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBA60302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appomattox, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

From the moment of our arrival David made us feel as though we were his only guests at the Inn. He seems to have thought of everything and no detail was overlooked. There are no shortcuts taken in the management of this Inn. David strives for top quality and we feel he will exceed the expectations of discriminating guests. Our lovely room was very clean, comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast was phenomenal and filled the dining room with delightful aromas. Actually, we would go as far as saying his breakfast was a work of art! This conveniently located fabulous Inn with it's gracious Innkeeper is a treasure not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil - Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mtubatuba, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is a "cannot miss" B and B.The Morrill Mansion is simply beautiful!!An olde world charm engulfs you as you enter.Sumptuous furnishings and the most amazing attention to detail makes this home a place one never wants to leave!!David is a most attentive and gracious host and his afternoon teas and breakfasts were superb(my husband is still talking about the salmon soufflé !!!)This is truly 5 star accommodation.Thank you David for sharing your magnificent home and for the amazing 4 days we were privileged to spend there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 711kerryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This 1800's townhouse has been restored to have the comforts of modern living and the charm of past times. Located within 10-15 minute walk of where the Action in Portland starts. We stayed for two nights. The room was comfortable, not big yet not too small, right size. In addition to the breakfast-room ( casual ) there are two living rooms where you can read or socialize and have tea, lemonade or snacks any time you want. There is wi-fi service through the house. David, the innkeeper, enjoys his work and he does it well. The breakfast was a lot more than we expected.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boston2009_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

There are not enough complimentary words to describe our stay at The Morrill Mansion. The B & B itself is warm, inviting and unbelievably cozy. The Innkeeper exceeds expectations and clearly enjoys creating an unforgettable experience for his guests. I'm not sure if I can pinpoint my favorite aspect of the Stay: walking in after a long bike ride to the smell of freshly baked chocolate chip cookies or waking up to lobster eggs and homemade coffee cake. Needless to say we did not want to leave and will be visiting again. Do not miss out on this enchanting B & B! Thank you David

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sascat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The Morrill Mansion is a wonderful B&B, and if you really love the B&B experience this one should be at the top of your list to visit.

The rooms were meticulous, every detail was attended to. It was clean, cozy, elegantly appointed and quiet.

David, who runs the B&B, is a wonderful host who was very helpful with tourist tips and always friendly and accommodating. He is detail oriented and very organized, two prized characteristics for a B&B owner. The staff followed in that model. The food was excellent (breakfast feature favorite, lobster scrambled eggs!!!) and the kitchen could accommodate my dietary restrictions.

The Morrill is walking distance to everything you will want to see or visit in Portland. The price was fair, especially compared to the big hotels and especially for the quality of service, food and lodging.

If you are a New Englander and need a quick weekend getaway for a night or two, I highly recommend the Morrill Mansion, especially off season (for the best pricing). You will not be disappointed with your stay.

I can't speaking highly enough about the Morrill, if you visit Portland it should be the ONLY place you book your lodging.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehofbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.9 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,387 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 249 Vaughan St, Portland, ME 04102-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrill Mansion Hotel Portland
Morrill Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing