We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Morrill Mansion was a wonderful place to stay. We were sad that we only stayed one night but that was all our travels allowed for.

David is an excellent host who is full of information on local dining establishments and an amazing cook himself.

The room was spacious, well set up and had excellent facilities as well as a common room across the hall that provided snacks and drinks as well as a DVD collection for guests to use.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CKGordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    26
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
270
19
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have stayed in many B&Bs across the country, and we feel that Morrill Mansion is the best B&B we have stayed at. David is the perfect host, taking care of any of our needs far beyond what usually occurs at any B&B. There are home made hot bakery treats in the afternoon with an iced beverage (we were there in the fall) as well as a most delicious breakfast, including what we loved: dessert with breakfast! Hot beverages are always available, and there are two rooms to choose from to "gather in" at any point in the day besides the breakfast room. Good parking and great location. Lovely furnishings with generous amenities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RHS1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
148 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights during my mini-moon.

Room was spacious, clean and well taken care of.

Breakfast was tasty, plentiful and well done.

David is a pleasant fellow and had great recommendations for dinner. We did dinner at the White Barn Inn (you can ask him where it is) to celebrate our special occasion. You have to go there. Excellent.

Location is pretty convenient to the old part of town. Parking lot in rear of building is great.

Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBCdovs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed at Morrill Mansion twice now - September 2012 and June 2013. We talk about going back literally every week! This was my first B&B experience and it set the bar extremely high. The mansion itself is immaculate and so cozy. We stayed in two different rooms and they were both gorgeous - clean, inviting and comfortable. The decor is unbelievable. There are coffee stations on both floors along with fresh baked treats in the second floor lounge every day. Breakfast was incredible - all four mornings we were at Morrill we were treated to something different.Both beds we had were SO comfy. I never wanted to get out of bed! David is just the nicest person. We loved chatting with him at breakfast. He really is the reason why staying at Morrill is so great - it is very evident that he truly cares about his guests. The location is perfect - about 1 mile from Old Port and definitely walkable. I always felt safe walking no matter what time of day it was. I really can't say enough good things about Morrill Mansion - if you are visiting Portland do not hesitate to stay here! We are looking forward to our third trip in March!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmK924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed here while attending a wedding just south of Portland. The house is beautiful in a quiet residential area and very well maintained. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. I am definitely staying here next time I am in Portland.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karlos02129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at Morrill's mansion for three nights. David was a perfect host. He let us check in early, helped us with our bags and showed us to a large, nicely decorated room on the 3rd floor of this lovely B&B. Bathroom is small and a little cramped, but quite functional with a good shower. David gave us some great restaurant recommendations. Breakfast buffets were very good; eggs with lobster, blueberry pancakes, fresh breads/muffins and good coffee. He made a delicious raspberry custard one morning and kindly left the recipe for me under our door. The neighborhood is quiet and about 15-20 minute walk to main downtown area-well lit and we felt very safe. There are a number of good restaurants in the neighborhood. We especially liked LFK for a drinks and Caiola's for dinner. If you want to be right in the middle of Portland and don't like to walk, this BB&B might not be for you. There is free parking so you could drive to downtown in just a few minutes. But, we enjoyed walking to and from the busy part of Portland and liked exploring the neighborhoods. I would recommend Morrill's and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCtraveldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed a couple of nights here, and could easily have stayed longer. Our "suite" gave us ample space to spread out and relax after a couple of smaller places. David was a wonderful host, and seemed to have thought of every detail to make guest's stays comfortable and convenient. Including a great dvd selection to dip into (and sweets!) on that inevitable night when we were too tired to go out. Whoever posted on here about great home made breakfasts including lobster omelette was not kidding btw.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank smallgeeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.9 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 249 Vaughan St, Portland, ME 04102-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrill Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Morrill Mansion Hotel Portland
Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing