We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious, comfortable, and reasonably priced” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious, comfortable, and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Morrill Mansion is a lovely B&B. Our room was comfortable and very nicely appointed. Breakfast was delicious, and the owner was friendly and helpful. The building itself is beautifully maintained and not too far from the major Portland attractions. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    26
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
270
19
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Valley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Morrill Mansion for 5 days in the Burnham room, which was so beautiful. The bed was so comfortable I could have slept all day! and the bathtub, with its jets, was a delight. I can't speak enough of how beautiful and comfortable the room was and in fact the entire inn. The owner/innkeeper, David, is such a great cook/baker. Every morning there was a different hot breakfast, each one just as delicious as the last. There were pancakes with blueberries, eggs with lobster, french toast, bread pudding, muffins, and the list goes on and on. If you didn't want hot food, he always had cereals, bagels, fresh fruit and yogurt. There's also a sitting room on the 2nd and 3rd floors where there is complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate all day long. David also bakes sweets every afternoon and leaves them in the sitting rooms for his guests. He makes the best whoopie pies and cookies. When we returned to our room each day, we always stopped to pick up a treat! David is a very gracious host, full of information about Portland and the surrounding area. We enjoyed chatting with him. The inn is very centrally located, a block off a main street, but still on a quiet residential street. As you can see, this review is very long because we absolutely loved Morrill Mansion and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank margie648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayport, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our camping gang of 13, stayed at the Morrill Mansion from Dec. 5th to Dec. 8th, we had the B & B all to ourselves. Cannot say enough about the accommodations, as well as, the superb hospitality of David, Owner/Innkeeper. This B&B is worth the trip to Portland!
Our group had a great weekend, there wasn't one complaint.
Look forward to staying at the Morrill Mansion in the future.
David, sorry this review took so long, we had an enjoyable weekend, and appreciate all you did to make our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiterabbit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etna. NH
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

A warm and welcoming place. My wife and I stayed in the Marston room, immaculate and actually a good deal nicer and more tastefully decorated than it looks on the B&B's website. The breakfast space is a bit cramped but the breakfast itself generous. It is a walk of 20 minutes or so to the downtown harbor area through a neighborhood, partly gentrified partly not, of endlessly interesting houses. The host keeps things humming and friendly.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Rovingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
179 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Absolutely lovely classic B & B. Scrupulously clean, tastefully decorated and beautifully presented. David, the owner and Innkeeper gave us a fantastic welcome after a difficult journey through the snow. This superb hospitality continued throughout our two night stay, with cookies, whoopie pies and excellent breakfasts. We just wish it was 3500 miles closer then we could go more often. You must try this place, you won't be disappointed!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mutsnuts01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here the weekend of Thanksgiving 2013 and had an excellent time. The room was clean, spacious and as advertised. The host, Dave, was welcoming from the start and took time to hold a genuine conversation and answer questions about dining,shopping and other activities around the city as well as his personal favorites. The afternoon snacks were delicious and the breakfast on both days were outstanding. Had an absolutely great stay and would recommend highly. Located about a mile from downtown Portland but the walk was quite nice. Truly a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edzo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Our goal was shopping in Kittery and Freeport, so staying in Portland was the perfect home base. We stayed in the only suite on the first floor which was lovely. The parking was ample and easy, David was a lovely host who was very friendly, engaging, and informative. The food he prepared both mornings was delicious, warm, and plentiful. The homemade whoopie pies and the FUDGE were to die for! We are already planning a return visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodgloriousfoood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.9 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 249 Vaughan St, Portland, ME 04102-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrill Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Morrill Mansion Hotel Portland
Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing