We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good except for the noise” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very good except for the noise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2014

This is a very modern hotel within walking distance of all the city center and port area. Our room was well appointed and comfortable. The downside is the noise that stems from the nearby bars and folks out on the streets. When we requested a quiet location, the desk clerk told us not to face the front (Fore St.), and we were put in the back. Even in that location, the street noise was excessive for light sleepers. At breakfast folks who had front rooms also complained about the noise. We found all of the staff to be very friendly and competent. When we return, we will probably select one of the other downtown hotels that is located in a quieter area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side will be quieter but without any view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WVMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelFarFarWay, Manager at Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you were able to experience our service culture. I apologize that the noise from our neighboring businesses effected your stay so severely. We attempt to inform all guests of the potential for noise given our physical proximity to establishments featuring live outdoor music. I realize interrupted sleep can be a deal breaker for any hotel patron but do hope you will allow us the chance to serve you again and provide a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    243
    102
    54
    30
See reviews for
217
369
25
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
getuptogetdown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is beautiful. The rooms are in great condition, and very clean. The hotel is only 3 months old, and in an incredible location. Overall we enjoyed our stay. There were a few issues that will hopefully be resolved as the hotel has been around for longer. First, if you want a view of the ocean, be prepared for some noise. My wife and I didn't mind it at all, but they do warn you about it when you check in. They did offer ear plugs or a change of rooms if it bothered us. Second, when we checked in, we were never told about the complimentary breakfast. We found out after our second night, so had already spent unnecessary money the day before. Last, they never told us about the complimentary shuttle service around the city. We called the front desk to ask for a taxi to a brewery, and it was never mentioned. So that was another $40 that didn't need to be spent. We only found out about the shuttle when we were waiting for our car from valet.
I don't think anyone is at fault here, but some of these services should definitely be voiced to the guests. The feeling of spending unnecessary money is a horrible one!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank getuptogetdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelFarFarWay, Manager at Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to outline your stay at Hyatt Place Portland Old Port. I am pleased that you found our property to suit your needs. I apologize that you were not informed of the depth of amenities we provide at the hotel. This is something that our front desk staff should be telling every guest to avoid instances of confusion and unnecessary spending. We have now posted signage outlining the breakfast hours in our lobby and will be coaching the front desk team on quickly and efficiently explaining hotel services to each and every guest. I thank you for bringing this to our attention as I am confident we can take meaningful corrective action. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

We checked in at about 9:30 pm only to be told that our room was not available. ( I suspect that this is not an unusual situation.) We had reserved 2 beds for our family of 3. Obviously disappointed, we were placed in an upgraded corner room which included a king bed and a sofa bed with contemporary furnishings. We were happy with this room and decided not to move the next morning when our original room became available. As previously stated, it can be a little loud on Fore Street from the bar noise. It didn't bother us much. My teenage daughter was somewhat entertained by the bar patrons on the street below. The complimentary breakfast was very good. The location is ideal for downtown Portland: most important sites are located within walking distance. I would have given the "Service" an excellent rating were it not for our initial room issue, otherwise, all the staff we encountered were great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtvanness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelFarFarWay, Manager at Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I sincerely apologize that your requested room type was not available upon check-in. The hotel takes great measures to ensure that our room inventory is balanced, but occassionly certain room types become oversold. I appreciate your understanding and am happy to hear that your stay was not deeply effected as a result. We are pleased that you found our staff to be helpful and courteous and hope to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

great location. close to waterfront,shopping and great dining. had room in back,so very quiet. staff very helpful and friendly. excellent breakfast(included). had french toast,eggs,saugeses,muffins,fruit. our room was very large with a nice sitting area with pull out sleeper sofa. the hotel is fairly new so everything is nice,neat and up to date. valet parking

Room Tip: in rear much quieter.we had room 405
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacka82942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelFarFarWay, Manager at Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay! Thank you for your patronage! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

We love this chain. I believe this is a new property. However very sorry to say it did not live up to the standards I have expected. It is a new, modern hotel. In a great location (although noisy at night). We were there for a long weekend. -->Noticed the bedding was not clean. Probably not even changed between guests! Noted this to the front desk, which was going to have them promptly changed. That night as we were about to go to bed noticed the same sheets where still on the bed! (I will not describe what was on the comforter that made that obvious... ) Called down and had to then wait for new comforter and sheets. Next morning asked the front desk clerk for directions to an art fair we had heard was in the area. He knew nothing about it. We walked two blocks and found the @mile long fair in progress... Upon check out, we weren't even asked how our stay was. (maybe they knew not to ask?!)
On the good side - Parking in Portland is difficult and although there is only valet parking available for a fee at the hotel, it was very efficient and easy to deal with. Offering in and out privileges for the same daily rate.

Room Tip: If you are a night owl and enjoy nightlife, or can sleep through noise which goes on till @ midnight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debora894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelFarFarWay, Manager at Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I apologize that based upon your experience our property did not measure up to the high standards indicative of Hyatt Hotels. I have escalated your comments to our Senior Management as there appears to be a number of coaching opportunities for key staff members. We are currently tweaking our housekeeping inspection program to ensure 100% accuracy for in-room cleanliness and amenities. Our front desk staff meetings now include an overview of activities in the area to better inform our guests. I thank you for your feedback as it only strengthens the abilities of our staff moving forward. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to provide an exceptional stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

Stayed here over 2 separate weekends and the complaints from both stays stem from housekeeping issues. If you are able to score a hotwire deal for this hotel then go for it, if you have to pay rack rate (comparable to NYC hotel rates!) then lower your expectations several notches. Will not pay rack rate for this hotel unless they train their housekeeping staff to maintain higher standards.

Pros:
- central location, walking distance to restaurants, sights, etc.
- brand new hotel
- friendly front desk

Cons:
- during 1st stay: super super slow housekeeping..our room wasn't ready until 35 minutes PAST check in time (probably even longer if we didnt complain)..was only offered complimentary beverages for making us wait by the second staff member we complained to as the first one just gave us a sorry, but tough luck response....housekeeping on this floor was fine but very very slow - the next day our room was still not cleaned by 4 pm and we had spent the entire day out!
- during 2nd stay: housekeeping standards on our floor were unacceptable - upon check in we found several strands of dried hair stuck on the bathtub wall, dust & eyebrow hairs on bedsheet!!, crumbs & sticky stuff on desk chair, dirty glass cup, smudge marks on the floor length mirror..OMG did someone even turn the room around for us??

Noise:
- if you are sensitive to noise, ask to be at the back of the building..the rooms facing Fore St can get noisy as there are bars there
- pets, this hotel allows pets on the 2nd floor...unfortunately a guest across the hall from us decided to bring their pet, NOT stay on the 2nd floor as they were supposed to, and leave it UNattended while they went out for the evening...the dog was yelping loudly and scraping at the door the entire night - we know several other guests complained as well. we were told that they would relocate the guest to the pet friendly floor but guess what? they never did..we still heard the dog barking the following day

Room Tip: 2nd floor is pet friendly quieter rooms face the back (financial district side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nycNY_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelFarFarWay, Manager at Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I sincerely apologize that our houskeeping staff fell short of our commitment to you, our valued guest. I have brought your comments to our housekeeping manager in order to coach and retrain our staff on acceptable service standards and I can assure you that corrective action is in progress. As you have outlined we are a pet friendly property but part of our pet agreement dictates that guests are to be placed on the 2nd floor. I am uncertain as to whether or not a pet was smuggled into the hotel without notifying our staff but we have spoken with our security team to alert management as to any unattended pets in any of our rooms so that proper action may be taken. If you would like to discuss your stay in further detail do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

This is a nice hotel, made great by the people who work there. The front desk is exceptional, especially Moon, who went out of her way to be helpful. We enjoyed the included breakfast which consisted of much more than the typical complimentary hotel breakfast. The rooms were clean and had nice linens. The bartender at the hotel bar was not simply a bartender--he was truly a "mixologist". Even the parking valets went out of their way for us, finding a place to park our over-sized vehicle. Definitely a First Class Staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VonnyS12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelFarFarWay, Manager at Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you so much for detailing your experience at Hyatt Place Portland Old Port. Our staff works tirelessly to ensure that our patrons are well cared for during their stay. We are happy to hear that you were able to experience this firsthand. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.5 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port

Property: Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
Address: 433 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4025
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Place Portland-Old Port, a hotel like no other in the country. As the only Hyatt hotel in Maine, we make an impression on our guests that lasts, with unique designs and guestroom layouts that put to shame the standard feel you get from other hotels. Not only that, but our views of Portland are impeccable-waterfront and city views set us aside as better than the rest, where a short walk is all you need to be inside Maine's renowned Old Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing