We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of 51 Wharf

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
51 Wharf
Ranked #420 of 607 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Mobile al
Level Contributor
224 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Friends got lobster rolls that had no presentation at all. Just the roll and the meat. advertised as Portland's largest must mean the one that cost about $40. I had the crab, cheddar, bacon sandwich. The bacon was the only flavor it had. Absolutely no flavor. Their version of fries were soft and limp. No seasoning. Will not go back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank WESTWOOD59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    7
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland ME
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad food rude service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were starving. Hostess was polite and friendly but that is where it ended! We ordered an appetizer calamari and some clam chowder. We also ordered our entree at the same time. Waitress asks if we want the calamari and soup first I say yes. She comes back a while later and says there is a problem. No calamari. I said ok what else can we get. She suggests the crab cakes. I said ok. I asked for bread and she brought me 2 tiny slices of toasted bread that was gross. Then our entrees came out. I asked where the calamari was and she said it was coming. I said it was supposed to be an appetizer but I don't want it now because my food is here. She get all weird and then came back with the crab cakes. She said I was told I had to bring them out and you have to pay for them. I said no I don't think so. Manager comes out tries to get all tough with me and says I will pay or he will call the cops. Also my fish tacos were gross and all rice with a tiny shriveled piece of fish. He said I had to pay for all of it. There are plenty of awesome restaurants in Portland and we got this one. Manager is a jerk and has no idea how to run a restaurant. Who ever heard of that. I should have waited for the cops to come. I just left. Do yourself a favor and skip this place. Good job manager dude! Good luck with your career!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 51worst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do. Not. Eat. Here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Went in at 1:30 on a Saturday. Three tables taken, so busyness is not an excuse. Ordered 2 Dos Equis beers. Waitress asks if that's a wine. 15 minutes for the beers to arrive ("Oh, they were in the back of the freezer"). Friend orders one kind of chowder and receives a different kind. Orders a salad and a lobster roll. Salad never comes. I order a fish sandwich. Two small bite-sized pieces on a roll, absolutely inedible. Ask for bread, which comes as the other 3 finished eating. Check comes, with an 18% gratuity added! Called for manager, who is not apologetic, but does reduce the bill by 20%. And reduces the gratuity to 15%, which is more than we would like to have left for incompetent, sullen and unfriendly service.
This is the first review I've ever written, because I could not let such an horrendous experience pass unnoticed. I've since read other reviews of this place, which confirmed our experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Fox4710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Food, Tucked Away”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

On our second evening in Portland we were looking for a restaurant with good seafood and was reasonably quiet. In walking around, we found this one tucked back in an alley. It was Monday, so they were not busy. We sat outdoors. Seems they are well known for their jumbo lobster, but we are not big lobster fans. I had seared scallops, my wife had cod. But, the appetizer was the best part- a crab cake. All the food was good, as to be expected.

Service was good, but we were not checked on often. The worst part was that we had a napkin with red lipstick on it- not a good way to start. The tables and silverware were a bit dirty- I know we are outdoors, but a little more effort to keep them clean would have been great.

Overall, I'd recommend this restaurant if you are a big lobster fan. Otherwise, on a short stay, there are many, many other similar options.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wombatclov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good lobster roll served sauteed in butter...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I am giving this restaurant an average review because of the bad service..We had a guy serve us who was the most unattentive waiter ever. He was so bad that the female waitress came over to check on us several times. She must have noticed how bad he was....lol It wasn't even a busy evening...a weeknight! The lobster roll was very good, served an unusual way. You can have it the usual way with mayo or sauteed in butter......it was devine. My husband had a pasta dish that he said was pretty good. But the waiter forgot his drink order, so I had my drink and he didn't have his....whoever owns this place should really pay attention to who is serving your customers or pretty soon you won't have any to serve....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBigelows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 51 Wharf also viewed

 

Been to 51 Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing