We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Plaza Portland(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Portland Harbor Hotel(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin Portland Harborview(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveller rating
245
149
33
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
149
33
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommercial streetvalet parkingcourtyard marriottgreat locationtypical courtyardold portbecky's dinernewer hotelwithin walking distanceharbor view roomfree shuttlelounge areaportland downtown waterfrontrooms are spaciouswould stay here againper daystaff was very friendly and helpful
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 437 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My family stayed here for two nights. The staff was so very friendly. The bar was nice. They are a new hotel as I ordered two traditional martini's (lemon drop and strawberry)- the strawberry was ok. The bar tender tried by muddling strawberries. The lemon drop didn't have sugar on the rim, when I commented the bar tender offered to make me another- which was very nice but I declined and just asked for a new glass- it was salted instead of sugared- more like a margarita in a martini glass. But the room was clean and the bed comfortable. The location is good for waterfront. You have to walk uphill for really nice old Portland. The area caters to tourists.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lcan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, General Manager at Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us when you came to Maine. We know that you have a lot of great hotel choices to choose from when you travel, and we are thankful that you chose to stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful comments about the hotel, we are very excited about how the whole project turned out. I am very sorry that the drink we made you was not up to the standard that you expect, and we have actually taken steps to ensure that those kinds of opportunities happen less often. I hope that the next time you come back you will try us again and I would be more than happy to buy you a lemondrop at the Bistro.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A new hotel that just opened in May, 2014. Nice lobby. Rooms are modern and clean, and the air conditioning is very quiet. Location is super convenient for walking to the Old Port, the Portland Museum of Art area, or many fine restaurants. Parking is by valet, at $18 a day. The staff is friendly and accommodating. We will definitely return on our next visit.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, General Manager at Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you very much for your response, we agree with you, we are very happy with our location and feel like we are close to everything and are very convenient. We are excited that you had a chance to enjoy Portland, it sounds like you did quite a bit while you were here, hopefully the next time you come we can help you find something new to explore while you are here staying with us. Thank you again, and come back and see us!

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I booked a room here even before it had opened, hoping it would open in time for our vacation. It opened right on time and we stayed 4 nights in June 2014. As you can expect with a brand new hotel, it was sparkling clean and very well appointed. Similar in design to the new courtyard style, but very nice and larger rooms.

From the first moment the staff was great; valet, front desk everyone seemed very eager to make sure our stay was nice. The valet was very efficient and I never had to wait for my car to be brought around. The free shuttle was a great touch as well.

I think the location was perfect. Simple 5-10 minute walk brought you anywhere in the old port, but it was on a quieter side, away from the crowds and traffic.

Our room was on the 5th floor and we had no issues with the construction above as another reviewer had pointed out. The shower was large and great, the bed was comfortable, and the TV had a nice selection of HD channels.

Only very minor issues associated with it being a new hotel (they ran out of bottled water in the entire hotel, the starbucks ran out of cup sleeves, etc), but overall a great hotel with a staff that is by far the best in a Courtyard I have stayed at.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nrc21224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, General Manager at Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are very excited about our hotel and the opportunity to host you here. Thank you for noticing the service of our team, we do strive to ensure that every customer that stays with us is taken care of. Unfortunately for us, we were not prepared for you in our Bistro and Market and we have taken steps to ensure that those items will not run out again. We are very pleased that you did have a great stay with us and we absolutely hope that the next time you come to Portland, you come back and stay with us.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

As soon as we checked in we could tell this place was brand new from the appearance as well as the slowness of the check in staff. The hotel is very modern and cool and the room were great. For us the location was perfect and we had no trouble walking to all the hot spots. I will say we were unable to have our room made up by house keeping even after stopping down and asking the front desk to have them swing by. They were able to get a us towels though. I would stay here again and it will only get better as the staff learns.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoffM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, General Manager at Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to fill out a survey on our property. We are very excited about the location and design of the hotel as well and know that our service needs to exceed our guests expectations after they see the physical hotel. We hope that you decide to stay with us again in the future and we promise to do better for you in the future, we are learning everyday!

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel had only been open for a few weeks when we stayed there and I think they rushed to open and should have waited another week or so.

First, the location is not that convenient. It is the last hotel on south end of Commercial Street which is fine if you're going to the center of Commercial Street but it is a 20 min walk from the Maine State Pier where you'll find ferry service to Peaks Island etc and another 10 from the Visitors Center which is where the new Nova Star ferry to Nova Scotia docks. However, Portland Pie is right behind the hotel which is a plus.

The hotel is beautiful, clean and rooms well appointed with comfortable bedding etc. However, our view was of a dumpster behind the hotel. The 6th floor is going to be private condos so if you have a room on the 5th floor as we did, you'll hear noise from the workers above. The bathroom water mixer valve was so loose I could stand there and watch it move on its own...which I did after I was almost scalded. The room fan never shut off day or night and one day we went back to change for dinner and found the room hadn't been made up so I asked for "just towels" at the desk because I'd left things out in the room. We came back later to find the room had been made up while we were out even though I'd specifically asked that it not be.

The staff was excellent for the most part. Misty and the crew in the café were very efficient, friendly and helpful. We had breakfast there each day. Because of its location, it is easier to eat there than to try to find a coffee shop. At night it becomes a gathering place with a bar.

There is a shuttle even though it does not say so online. They will take you around town (which is good if you can't walk that far or well on the cobblestones) and to the airport or train station.

Perhaps in a few months all the kinks will be gone but for now it still needs some tuning up.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 5th floor. It is very noisy right now with workmen on the 6th floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NHPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, General Manager at Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay at our hotel. I apologize that you were not satisfied with the location of our hotel, yes, it is a touch outside of all the hustle and bustle of the Old Port, but we feel like it gives our customers the option of being able to take in all of the wonderful things the Old Port has to offer without having to listen to it long after you would prefer to be sleeping, and as you noted later we do have a complimentary shuttle and "golf cart" escort available and is now listed properly on line. Our extreme apologies to you about your shower experience and please know that the issue with the shower handle sliding has been fixed. We do appreciate all of the feedback both positive and negative and we hope that in the future you will give us a second try and we can prove to you our kinks have been worked out

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews