We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Was Staying At St. John's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at St. John

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at St. John
Ranked #7 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gaithersburg
Level Contributor
196 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“I Was Staying At St. John's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Built in 1897 to accommodate railroad passengers departing from the (now demolished) Union Station on St. John Street, this quaint and comfortable Victorian gem is Portland’s oldest inn. There is a noticeable welcoming feeling upon entering the lush lobby, adorned with plush easy chairs, antique tables, a fireplace, grandfather clock and ornate carpeting – perhaps there is a mistake and you’ve wandered into a Mayfair pub instead. Of course, the computer with internet access dispels this immediately. To the right of the registration desk is a doorway that leads into the small breakfast room replete with free coffee, bottled water and cookies. The complimentary breakfast consists of bagels, muffins, cereals and juice.

Once checked in, you climb a steep staircase to your room. Mine was 8B, which necessitated the aforementioned climb in addition to several twists to navigate an obstacle course of various risers and landings. The room was moderately sized with a comfortable queen bed, attractive furnishings, an overhead chandelier and paisley wallpaper. While the room could never be mistaken for Downton Abbey, it was certainly no chain hotel. The private en-suite bathroom was well maintained with all the requisite toiletries. The cool marble floor was a bonus.

The Inn at St. John is located on Congress Street, the city’s main thoroughfare, in Portland’s West End. This is a little over a mile from the Old Port, which means a short cab ride or 20-minute walk down Congress. The city bus (No. 1) passes the front door. Should you get hungry, the Dogfish Café is on one side, on the other is a very convenient market-deli; across the street is a pizza joint and around the corner (down St. John) is a McDonalds’ and a Dunkin Donuts. The No. 5 bus from the airport goes this way as well.

Attractive, conveniently located and reasonably priced, one cannot go wrong by stay Inn at St. John.

Room Tip: Room 8B has a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeedPivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
NeedPivnd- On behalf of the Inn I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review. The way you described our Lobby and rooms so beautifully put a smile on me and my staffs face. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you choose us again if you return to Portland Maine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    245
    63
    23
    17
See reviews for
71
318
88
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Ia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We loved our stay at the Inn at St John's! The place has far more character (in a positive way) than any standard hotel. The welcome on check-in was warm. Our top-floor room was up a pretty steep set of stairs, but it was a good way to feel less guilty about indulging in the cookies and milk made available each evening :-) We loved the cinnamon and the chocolate muffins for breakfast (among other options), the best I've had in a while. The room was very comfortable (only complaint - one bedside lamp wasn't working), and we appreciated the complimentary excellent bathrobes provided for trips to the shared hall bathroom. Had to wait to take a shower most mornings (at peak time around 7 a.m.) and you are sharing the bathroom with more other guests than at some European B&Bs we've visited, but usually didn't wait more than 5 or 10 minutes, and the shared bathroom was clean and fine - the bedroom has your own sink and mirror, which makes matters much easier. The Inn is about a 20 minute easy walk from downtown, a nice safe stroll. The Inn staff recommended the Dogfish Cafe next door for dinner, which turned out to have some really nice seafood. Would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: know that the stairs up the top floor are pretty steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmesIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
AmesIowa- Thank you for choosing the Inn at St John for your stay in Portland Maine. We are glad you prefer an Inn like ours over the chain cookie cutter hotels. Travelers like yourself prefer our cozy, clean, and friendly European Inn because we offer reasonable rates with a wonderful atmosphere. Thank you again for your glowing review and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I loved this quaint place. It was comfortable and clean and the staff was so friendly and helpful from booking until we left. We stayed on the third floor which was a lot of steps but it motivated us to get back in shape! We will stay here again for sure. Really enjoyed the European feel. Super comfy bed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmotl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Im otl- On behalf of the Inn I would like to thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad you liked the pillows, comfy bed, and our friendly staff. It is our hope that if you are in the area again you choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This place is really a little gem.
I wanted to stay one night but immediately after the arrival I booked another night.
Such a cozy place and the staff was very nice, too.

The Inn has enough parking space and the complimentary breakfast in the morning was a good way to start the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeljko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Zelijk0 K- Thank you for choosing the Inn at St John for your stay in Portland Maine. We are delighted you found our Inn cozy, charming and loved the Inn much you decided to stay another night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

The staff is helpful and there are several interesting restaurants nearby. My room was a bit small but comfortable. I had my own bathroom but it was down the hall, which took an adjustment given the modern norm. The breakfast was modest. Check out the fish and Thai places very close.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodRunFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
FoodRunFun- Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Inn and we are glad you found us to be clean and friendly. We are also glad you enjoyed the local restaurants that Portland has to offer and hope you stay with us if you return to the area again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlestown, Maryland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I was looking for something close to a music venue I was going to on Congress Street. I did some searching around for B&B's and this place popped up. They had reasonable rates and are right on Congress Street. My friend's wife, who lives near by said something like "he knows it's a dump, right" and that had me worried. I was very pleasently surprised when I checked in. The place is very well maintained, but is obviously and old building that was designed many years ago - not all the rooms had bathrooms- you have to go out in the hall to your "private bath". Reminded me of some european places I have used over the years. Great staff, well kept rooms, breakfast was a little disappointing, but there are plent of options for eats all over town. If you are on a budget and not needing a 5 star hotel, this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Geoffrey D- Thank you for choosing the Inn at St John for your stay in Portland Maine. We are glad you found the service to be great, building maintained, and rooms to be well kept. We spend a great deal of time focusing on how to improve our European Inn from breakfast to rooms and common areas while keeping it's old world charm. Thank you for your feedback and will take it into consideration as we strive to make every guests stay pleasant, comfortable, and relaxing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband and I selected the Inn at St. John to kick off a week's celebration of our 35th anniversary. Our air travel was delayed, but the staff was wonderful, helping us check in with no problems rather late and directing us to a great place for a quick dinner in the neighborhood. I loved the charm of this historic facility and would heartily recommend it to anyone needing an affordable, welcoming stay while in Portland, Maine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Vicki M- Happy Anniversary and thank you for choosing the Inn at St John for your stay in Portland Maine. We are delighted you found our historic Inn charming and friendly. Our goal is to make every guest feel relaxed and at home. We hope you choose us if you are in the area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at St. John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at St. John

Property: Inn at St. John
Address: 939 Congress St, Portland, ME 04102-3031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at St. John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at St. John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At St. John Hotel Portland
Inn At St. John Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing