We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful night spent here”
Review of Inn at St. John

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at St. John
Ranked #7 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We spent a night here during our recent weekend getaway. We had no complaints, service was excellent, room very clean and comfortable, continental breakfast and snacks (yogurt, cookies, bottled water, coffee) available all day. Parking is free, internet good and in room safe at no charge. The hotel is very unique in character and a refreshing change from the chain hotels. About a 15-20 minute walk to the historic Portland waterfront. We would stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Michelle_Alex05- Thank you for choosing the Inn at St John for your stay in Portland Maine. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thought the service was excellent and the room clean. The unique character is what sets us apart from the rest. It is our mission to make every guest feel at home and comfortable while visiting Portland and we hope to see you again in the future. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Amazing.. character, quality and service. If you like unique, original and traditional, you will love Inn at St John. For people who appreciate history and cozy, comfortable Victoriana. Excellent continental breakfast with fresh fruit and yogurt.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CCAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

CCAsia- On behalf of the Inn at St John I would like to thank you for writing such a wonderful review! We take tremendous pride in providing wonderful service and making sure ever guest feels at home and comfortable. It is our hope you choose us again if you return to the Portland area. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The layout of this hotel is different, very choppy with a lot of steep stairs (no elevator). Breakfast area was so tiny and there was no place to sit for breakfast. The low price made it easy to overlook its shortcomings. I would stay here again, but I'd also look into something a bit closer to downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetkaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

jetkaiser- Thank you for choosing the Inn at St John for your stay in Portland Maine. Among other things, the quirkiness of this 117 year old Victorian Inn is what folks love, and why they choose us over other cookie cutter hotels in the area. We hope you choose us again for your next stay in the Portland area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel is so very quaint. We arrived early and the staff quickly got our room ready for us. I believe it's described as a bed and breakfast, but the breakfast is continental..mostly carbs..but good. i thought the front desk staff were a bit stuffy but the other staff were delightful. The room was HUGE and beautiful.
The bathroom immenities were much more than most hotels...my husband loved the terry cloth robes...so much he wants me to buy one for him. There was a nice safe in the room so we didn't have to worry about our valuables.
There was plenty of parking.
Although we did not bring our dog...i did overhear the front desk staff encouraging a guest that all pets are welcomed. (THAT is very unusual.)
I guess the only complaint is the hotel is a bit far from the Old Port District...about a mile or so. It's an easy walk...you just have to dodge the panhandlers who are ALL OVER THE PLACE in Portland. Everyone has either starving children at home or have just run out of gas and need a quarter for the bus. But that has nothing to do with the hotel.
I

Room Tip: Room 108..Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Mary Scott- Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are delighted you enjoyed our robes and were able to secure your valuables in the safe we provide. Unlike other small Inn's in the area we are, and love being pet friendly. Thanks again and hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My room was cozy and very clean. The entire staff were extremely friendly, helpful and courteous. The price for my room was a great bargain. The food at breakfast was fresh. The atmosphere was quiet and friendly.Overall, this Inn was and is a great find! When I am in the area again, this will be my place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ariel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Ariel L- Thank you for writing a wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and delighted you will choose us again on your return visit to Portland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We recently stayed there two nights with two toddlers. All went well. The rooms were clean. We got a good recommendation for a local restaurant. Staff was friendly to the kids. Atmosphere was pleasant. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Kevin C- Thank you for choosing the Inn at St John for your stay in Portland Maine. Our staff takes tremendous pride in providing great service and recomending their favorite restaurants. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed with a friend on our way up the Maine coast. The building was old but it was very well maintained and had a charming feel. Very well decorated... Affordable as well. Free breakfast in the morning was great. Like staying at grandmas house!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

JulieK1- Great to have you! Glad you felt we were "cozy and charming". And if you were as comfortable with us as you are with your grandmother that's a compliment I will take any day. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,453 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
3.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 20 in Portland
1,713 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at St. John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at St. John

Address: 939 Congress St, Portland, ME 04102-3031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: £49 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at St. John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn at St. John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At St. John Hotel Portland
Inn At St. John Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing