We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice”
Review of Inn at St. John

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at St. John
Ranked #7 of 11 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I work in downtown Portland and wanted to find a hotel room rather than drive home late at night after entertaining out of town visitors. Several downtown hotels have been built in recent years but the rates are high, particularly in summer, and so I looked for other options. The Inn at St John turned out to be an excellent choice. Comfortable, characterful, and convenient. A little further out than the Old Port and waterfront hotels, yet a lot closer to the center than the South Portland hotels and motels, it provides gratis many amenities that one would expect to pay for elsewhere including parking, Wi-Fi, continental breakfast, and bottled water. Those who don’t want to walk or drive to the center of town can cross the street to catch the excellent Portland city bus service. Both on the phone (consider making your reservation by phone rather than on line) and in person the staff I came across were all exceptionally helpful and personable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Detailed descriptions of all the rooms are available on their web site so check this out first befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 407Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

407 Traveler- Thank you for choosing the Inn at St John. Our charm, character, friendly service, and value rates sets us apart from all the "cookie cutter" hotels in the city. We are delighted you found our amenities comparable to larger hotels and our friendly staff helpful. Thanks again and wish you all the best in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

I loved this Inn. It was cheap, super cute, and the continental breakfast was awesome. Everyone that worked there was very nice and helpful. It wasn't walking distance to the main city area but it was a short drive. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We wanted a cheap room so we opted to use the shared bathroom and shower in the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dargentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dargentina- Thank you for writing a wonderful review about the Inn. Our friendly staff takes tremendous pride in providing a relaxing and enjoyable experience for every guest. We also thank you for making us your "go to" place in Portland and wish you all the best in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This inn has operated here for over 100 years. The age of the building leads to many quirks, some good, some bad.
Good
- character, charm, history
- very comfortable bed
Bad
- rooms are a bit small. The shower was tight for a single man of average size.
- noise - we were on the second floor facing the street and the noise was noticeable.
- small breakfast area. Breakfast was fair to good (for a continental breakfast).
- steep stairs (no elevator)
- strange sink stopper with a little knob to stop the sink.
- location was not the best. The neighborhood was ok, but not very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BSchug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

BSchug- Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us here at the Inn. Every guest comment is read and taken into consideration when planning for the future. We delighted you liked our charm and comfortable beds. No two rooms are alike, every room has different décor and size. With an old Victorian Inn such as this, elevators are not an option. We make sure every guest knows about the stairway before booking and are always happy to help with luggage. Our goal to provide a relaxing, friendly and enjoyable stay. We hope you had a great time visiting Portland and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was looking at the pictures, and wow, our room was half of these pictures. We were in 11C, very small room, high but still small bed, shared bathroom. The A/C was very noisy, but the room was neat and clean.. Loved the soaps! The breakfast was OK, some fruits, muffins, bagels etc. thanks God they had soy milk. I bought some organic peanut butter and had it with toasted bagel at breakfast. Wi-fi available in all building. We had some issues with the guys sharing the bathroom, but the guy at the reception solved the problem! (Thank you) Ah, first day we arrived at 1:00 pm and had to wait till 3:00 pm because the guests staying there had not checked out... Well, you gotta deal with that problem I guess, because I was really tired when we arrived, and had to walk 2H to not to waste our limited time in Portland..

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Melikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Melikes- Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay, your feedback is very important to us. We have a variety of rooms to accommodate every need and price point with room descriptions describing each room prior to booking. We are so glad our staff was helpful you loved our soaps, free wifi, and soy that's readily available. Thanks again for your feedback and wish you all the best in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Comfortable, easy to get to, helpful staff. Price is reasonable. Down side..no elevator, about 1.5 miles from the waterfront. That said, would stay here again..probably will. Has the charm of an older hotel, not something thrown together that looks like every other place.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Maurguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Maurguy- Thank you for choosing the Inn at St John for your stay in Portland Maine. We are thrilled you liked our charm, helpful staff, and found our rates to be reasonable. Thanks again and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The Inn is a good place to stay with very friendly and helpful staff and a cozy and comfy atmosphere. The prices are ok and the rooms are clean and in good shape. The only downpoint was breakfast and the aera to have it in which is far to small and narrow.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank chinni20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

chinni20- Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the Inn. All feedback is taken into consideration. We are glad you liked our competitive rates and clean rooms. For any future reservations please don't hesitate to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My boyfriend and I left it late to find a B&B in Portland for an overnight trip. Portland is not a cheap place to stay and looking around all the good, reasonably priced B&B's were booked. Fortunately for us, the Inn at St John had space and we took a chance despite the fact it looked a little dated in the photos. We were pleasantly surprised! There is no doubt the aesthetic of the place was a little out-dated for our taste, however all fixtures and fittings were in good condition. Our room (1 Queen and 1 Double w/ private in room bath 1C) was spacious, clean and the bed was super comfy. There are in fact two beds in this room so perfect for four people, we just used the Queen. The shower was nice, it was one of those all in one plastic deals which isn’t to everyone’s taste, but the water pressure was great which is all I really care about! Like the rest of the room, the bathroom was clean and towels and the usual cosmetics were provided. There was air conditioning. Check in was really easy and the two gentlemen at the desk were friendly. Be warned there are no lifts in this building, it's all stairs, however staff were happy to help bring luggage up if we needed it, we didn't find the stairs a problem at all. The location was perfect for us, it’s an easy walk right into the centre. Overall we had a really lovely stay, I would definitely recommend this B&B and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Call the Inn before booking a room, they were happy to give us a personal recommendation. The hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank verenep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

verenep- We are thrilled you chose the Inn at St John for your stay in Portland Maine. This 117 year old victorian has a warm and charming aesthetic that travelers like yourself prefer over the chain hotels. It was nice to hear you enjoyed your room and our friendly staff was of great service to you. Thank you for considering us for future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,522 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.8 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 20 in Portland
1,761 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
0.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#18 of 20 in Portland
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at St. John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at St. John

Address: 939 Congress St, Portland, ME 04102-3031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: £45 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at St. John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at St. John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At St. John Hotel Portland
Inn At St. John Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing