We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word-AMAZING”
Review of Pomegranate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pomegranate Inn
Ranked #9 of 11 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I cannot say enough great things about this place. I am so glad we stayed here and would recommend it to anyone visiting Portland. Where do I begin??
The hosts Dana and Greg were delightful and more than accommodating. Dana emailed me back before we even arrived in Portland with recommendations for restaurants not to be missed when I asked for advice. They also helped us while we were in town and did some research online for a brew fest we had interest in the minute we asked about it. Also helped steer us in the direction of Ogunquit to visit one day and we had a wonderful time! They were beyond friendly and social during breakfast. They always asked how we were and what we had planned for the day as well as being mindful of the fact we were eating breakfast and letting us enjoy.
The room was amazing. Room #4 is very spacious and all around lovely. The bathroom is not huge, but it is plenty big and very nice. There are 4 large windows total you can open and air conditioning as well. There is a large dresser and closet if you need to hang anything up. There were also 2 wine glasses and a bottle opener in the room every day along with 2 small bottles of water left for us each day. We made use of all of these! So nice.
The common areas were lovely and decorated so interesting. There is a small guest refrigerator in the common area and you can use it as you please. We stored a bottle of wine and 4 pack of beer in there and just took as we needed. They also have a book on the coffee table that lists several of the restaurants in Old Port and close to the Inn with copies of their menus, phone numbers and directions to each from the Inn. We thought this was so nice and definitely made use of it. There are nice touches everywhere-Hershey's kisses and candies sitting in bowls, cookies out in the afternoon one day. Just all around lovely.
And last but not least......breakfast. WOW........just wow! I don't even know where to begin. Every day I said to my husband, "That was my favorite." And then the next day I would say the very same thing. Each dish was so amazingly delicious in it's own way. I loved every single one. My husband doesn't really eat much fruit-he devoured this fruit. I despise grapefruit-I ate every single bite. Dana's breakfasts deliver-the woman can cook! I took a picture of every single thing-edible works of art. The dining room was quaint-there is one large table with 8 chairs and then 3 single tables with 2 chairs each. It was so lovely to sit at the small table by the windows and enjoy those one-of-a-kind breakfasts. They also serve coffee, 2 types of juice and vast selections of teas. Dana's cookbook is on display in the breakfast area and you can feel free to sit and read through it while you eat.
In summary-don't even think about staying anywhere else in Portland. This is the place to be. And stay as many nights as you can! I hope someday we get back to Maine so we can experience this place again!
All the best from South Dakota!

Room Tip: Room #4 is above the dining room-VERY large room and nice bathroom! Room photos on their web site a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

Our introduction to this beautifully kept and appointed inn began with a drive though the western perimeter of the Portland peninsula. The most impressive 19th and early 20th century residential architecture of this remarkable city is found at its western perimeter, and the Pomegranite is situated in the heart of it, only two blocks from the Western Prommenade. We stayed in the carriage house with a private terrace, which was delightful, so I cannot vouch for rooms on the upper levels of the main inn. However, the main floor is spacious and charming - comfortablly furnished with fireplaces, tall ceilings and great natural light. The hosts, Dana and Greg, and their staff are all friendly, courteous to a fault, professional. The breakfasts are excellent - two or three courses of original and delicious fare served with freshly sqeezed juice, rich coffee and tea. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Beautiful neighborhood, room was large and comfortable.Finish was peeling off of the tub, and paint was peeling off of some of the window sills.
The disappointment was the staff. Neither of the staff we encountered, not met because neither introduced themselves. The breakfast was tasty but not the best ever, and no personal touches as breakfast was delivered, not served. One woman who I think was the concierge either was abrupt both on check-in and at breakfast.
Poor value for a stay which could not be longer than 19 hours 4:00 pm check-in 11:00 am check out. We left right after breakfast because it wasn't appealing to stay. Would not return for that price and that lack of cordial interaction.

Room Tip: Some where that they actually are glad that you chose to stay there-not here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zogor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PomegranateInn, General Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

We are sorry you had a less than favorable experience with us. We try to accommodate early check-ins when we can, especially if we know in advance. As with most other inns, our check-in time begins at 4pm and check out is by 11am. These times are posted on our website and are included in the reservation confirmation. When booking online, there is a field to complete indicating the guest's expected arrival time; you selected 4pm. Unfortunately, when you arrived at 12:30, we were not prepared to accommodate such an early check-in and informed you that we would be ready around 3 to 3:30. Again, we are sorry we started off on the wrong foot with you because of this but truly hope that if you're in the area again, you'll give us a second chance to make your stay an enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The inn is charming, the hosts are nice, and the breakfasts are a treat each morning. The location is ok - it's about a 5-7 minute drive from the tourist areas of Portland. And the room seemed a bit shabby chic for the price ($250/night in our case). I would have preferred a slightly upgraded bathroom. (We were in the carriage house with the private garden, which was very nice.)

We had a lovely visit. I'd definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amizu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The inn, its location, breakfast, the room, the innkeepers...Dana and Greg know what they're doing and it shows. We stayed for only one night but would have enjoyed more time there. We could walk to the baseball stadium (Portland Seadogs...AA team of the Red Sox), to a variety of restaurants on Congress Street, to the Portland Art Museum, and other places we didn't have time to visit. Our room was comfortable and quiet, and breakfast was just amazing. Beautiful and delicious. Overall, one of the best inns we've found in travels all over the country!

Room Tip: Look at the photos online and call with any questions. It was easy to reach Dana by phone or email.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flowerfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We so enjoyed our stay in Portland. We felt so comfortable. This B & B is no ordinary B & B. The innkeepers where so kind and welcoming. Thank you for the wonderful breakfast each day.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was a piece of art all by itself. Our private little garden was beautifully ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kitgentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We enjoyed our recent stay at this beautifully decorated and charming B&B. Our room was small, but we were told of this beforehand. The bathroom, however, was a nice size. Afternoon snacks were very nice, but the real treat for us was the amazing and artful breakfasts. They were beautifully presented and delicious, and made a wonderful start to each day. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VoyageursUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,533 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn On Carleton
Inn On Carleton
#2 of 11 in Portland
701 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
The Danforth
The Danforth
#5 of 11 in Portland
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomegranate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomegranate Inn

Address: 49 Neal St, Portland, ME 04102-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: £107 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pomegranate Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arty and eclectic boutique Portland Maine inn. An exceptional art collection blends with thoughtful, gourmet, small-plates breakfasts and a truly unique vibe. Housed in a three-story Italianate mansion dating from 1889, Pomegranate Inn is like no other Bed & Breakfast you've experienced. Contemporary mixes with traditional in the inspired setting of Portland's lovely West End. Close to this vibrant New England city's Arts District and bustling Old Port, yet quietly set among lovely homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Pomegranate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomegranate Hotel Portland
Pomegranate Inn Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing