We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary Weekend Stay”
Review of Pomegranate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pomegranate Inn
Ranked #9 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife & I had a wonderful experience staying here at the Pomegranate Inn this past weekend. Erin & Henry were very gracious Hosts. They were friendly and pleasant and were wonderful breakfast gourmet cooks. The Inn was and is extremely clean. They were creative in their menu selection and food quality presentation was second to none. Eris is a great pastry chef. We were close to Old Port and most everything was walking distance away. The Inn was full of Antiques and each room had a personality all of its own with Hand Painted Walls and wonderfully paired antique eclectic decorations. Will defiantly stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlmarchand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Sounds like you greatly enjoyed Erin's baking. That's wonderful. We are so pleased that you found our Portland Maine inn to be both welcoming and full of eclectic personality. Those hand-painted walls are truly unique, aren't they? Thank you so much for your recommendation. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you east to the ocean!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
There are newer reviews for Pomegranate Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

Very comfortable, friendly hotel, well placed, nice places to eat close by. Great breakfast and very helpful staff. We arrived late, having got lost and Adam came back to open up and show us around. Lovely lounge. Comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pommewg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Pomegranate Inn! It's nice to hear that you enjoyed our location, comfy rooms and great breakfasts and found our staff to be friendly and welcoming. We look forward to your next visit -- now that you know the way> ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Inn is slightly off the beaten path of downtown Portland but only 10 minutes by car. It is located in a nice neighborhood of architecturally interesting buildings. The furnishings and décor are great. Our room (Number 1) was well appointed and we did not need anything that was not provided. Although I think it was a full house when we stayed it was very quiet. The breakfast is from 8:30-9:30 but you can go down at 7:30 if you prefer to sit with your coffee earlier. The 3-course breakfast was very good: citrus salad and juice to start, a blueberry muffin and then a pesto omelet or apple pancakes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that breakfast and our lovely West End neighborhood seemed to make quite an impression! Pleased to hear that you had everything you needed during your visit and that you found our eclectic and arty decor appealing. We look forward to your next visit to Pomegranate Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Out of a sense of guilt (at having relied in TripAdvisor so much, but contributed so little) I am catching up with reviews now 11 months old, and from recent comments I think that this inn might have changed hands. But when we stayed in it convenient for those with a car (but would anyone be in Portland, ME without a car?); it provided a warm welcome and an excellent room. Parts felt slightly like an arts-and-crafts museum, and the breakfast became something of an art form, but I would stay there again if going back to Portland/

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarum_Castle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you your thoughtful review -- if a little late! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the arts focus our our boutique Portland Inn and the warm welcome of the staff. We look forward to you returning the next time you "hop the pond" for a New England vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was our first visit to Portland. The location of the B+B meant a drive to most of the near by attractions and eating places were limited. The accommodation however, was beautifully decorated and very unique. The breakfast was prepared by Erin and Henry and was delicious and unusual.
The mattress on the double bed in room 3 was not very comfortable when 2 people in the bed(dip in the middle)

Room Tip: If travelling with a partner beware of room 3's matress
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1985Paul1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our eclectic decor and the wonderful service of henrY and Erin. We are looking into the mattress situation in Room 3. While our location is not in the heart of the Old Port, it is a short (8 minute) stroll to the Arts District and 15 minutes into the Old Port.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My fiancee and I stayed here for a weeknight. The decor is great, the staff (owners?) were friendly. There is only an hour for breakfast in the morning, but that's because it's table service. And the food was great! There were about 10 others at breakfast, also.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the food, which is homemade and creative. Please consider a return trip to our Portland boutique inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I found the West End area of Portland very interesting. The b&b gave me the opportunity to explore a new and eclectic part of town. It was a beautiful home with lovely furnishings and artwork. I enjoyed the common rooms. I, too, was surprised that two doors had to be opened/closed at the b&b. I wondered if I needed to be mindful as a single woman walking around. It was fine. I was invited to afternoon tea but was surprised that there were only peanut cookies (store bought?) and not a variety. My room (#3) was very comfortable and well decorated, especially for one person. I LOVED the sheets and always enjoy a terry robe. It would have been difficult to open a window however. The AC worked well. Breakfast offerings were fine. I hope everything was homemade. The manager was very pleasant.

Room Tip: #3 is on the 3rd floor. It was a quiet room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ELLlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, our location in Portland's lovely West End, our art collection and the service of henrY and Erin. I can assure you that all cookies and breakfasts are completely homemade. We do vary the cookies from day to day, but because they are homemade and fresh, only one cookie type is featured each day. We hope you'll return to the Pomegranate Inn if your travels bring you back to Portland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.0 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,421 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.1 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomegranate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomegranate Inn

Address: 49 Neal St, Portland, ME 04102-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: £134 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pomegranate Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arty and eclectic boutique Portland Maine inn. An exceptional art collection blends with thoughtful, gourmet, small-plates breakfasts and a truly unique vibe. Housed in a three-story Italianate mansion dating from 1889, Pomegranate Inn is like no other Bed & Breakfast you've experienced. Contemporary mixes with traditional in the inspired setting of Portland's lovely West End. Close to this vibrant New England city's Arts District and bustling Old Port, yet quietly set among lovely homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pomegranate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomegranate Hotel Portland
Pomegranate Inn Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing