We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem of a find!”
Review of Pomegranate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pomegranate Inn
Ranked #9 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a gem of a find!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

To be honest, we were undecided when we arrived at Pomegranate Inn. First impression on a cold and dark night was of an older unassuming Inn on a quiet street. The charm, warmth and comfort of this great inn started to set in right away. While having an old world charm, the inn and it's innkeepers have a way to make you feel at home and put you into a state of relaxation more quickly than most other places I've visited. Rooms are cozy and comfortable enough where you can choose to either relax in your rooms or in one of the other rooms on the main floor of this expansive place. To top it off, the breakfast that is provided each morning rivals the best fares that Portland or most other places have to offer. I would recommend you not only stay here while in Portland, but go out of your way if anywhere in the area to make this your choice.

Room Tip: If you get a choice and would like some extra room, choose room #8. It has a separate den/reading ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kleaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
It means a lot for you to rave about our breakfast in such a foodie town as Portland! We're blushing! Erin and henrY sure know their way around a kitchen. We are so pleased that your first impression wasn't your last and that you warmed up quickly to our arty, eclectic inn. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    53
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
27
261
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

As soon as we arrived we knew we'd made the right choice! The Inn is gorgeous and full of beautifully eclectic art and collectibles. Its situated in a very quiet area. Our room was very comfortable and felt cosy. I loved the hand painted roses on the walls. We slept well. The three course breakfast was delicious and very filling. We are just sad we didn't book more than 1 night and that we didn't get chance to see much of Portland. We highly recommend staying at the Pomegranate!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sashe1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
We'll, we are bummed you didn't stay longer, as well! It was a pleasure to have you visit and embrace the eclectic vibe of our arty inn. We appreciate your kind words about our breakfasts and decor, and hope that you recommend us to your friends. Please come stay with us in future and book a few more days in our fabulous small New England city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Creative and charming Inn with great accommodations and food. Easy to find and convenient location. We had two rooms - one in the carriage house and the other in the main home. Both were nicely furnished and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrpuskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Everybody likes to hear that they are creative and charming! Thank you greatly for your recommendation. We enjoyed having you as a guest at our arty and unique Portland Maine inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Great area of Portland to stay. Quiet neighborhood feel but located withing walking distance of almost everything you could want to do. Erin and Henry are very easy going and friendly as well as excellent chefs. I will definitely stay here again should I travel to the Portland area.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you are looking for a corporate environment with exercise equipment and room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you so much for your recommendation. We are so pleased that you found our eclectic inn to be well-located for your visit to Portland and that you enjoyed henrY and Erin's service as well as their wonderful cooking skills. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed in The Pomegranate Inn on an overnight stay in Portland. Henry was very welcoming and gave us good tips on where to go in Portland for sightseeing and dinner that evening. The Inn itself is fab - an old Victorian house - the rooms all have lovely high ceilings (aside from the top floor), the decor is really quirky and different, a very refreshing change from the norm, attached is a photo of room 6 which we stayed in which was fantastic. Breakfast was very good - 3 courses with choice of hot dish (in our case banana & choc crepes or scrambled eggs with goats cheese & peppers)I would definitely recommend the Inn, only slight drawback is location which is in a residential area a good 20 min walk from the harbour front. We had no issue with parking - got one of the 3 spots available but otherwise from 11am - 5pm 2hr parking on the street.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words. We are glad you enjoyed our eclectic, arty inn and the service of henrY and Erin. They are well-versed on the things to do, see and eat in Portland and it sounds like you made the most of your visit to our great little city. Breakfast is a signature event at Pomegranate Inn and we are so pleased you found it to be tasty. We appreciate your recommendation to friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampstead, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife & I had a wonderful experience staying here at the Pomegranate Inn this past weekend. Erin & Henry were very gracious Hosts. They were friendly and pleasant and were wonderful breakfast gourmet cooks. The Inn was and is extremely clean. They were creative in their menu selection and food quality presentation was second to none. Eris is a great pastry chef. We were close to Old Port and most everything was walking distance away. The Inn was full of Antiques and each room had a personality all of its own with Hand Painted Walls and wonderfully paired antique eclectic decorations. Will defiantly stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlmarchand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Sounds like you greatly enjoyed Erin's baking. That's wonderful. We are so pleased that you found our Portland Maine inn to be both welcoming and full of eclectic personality. Those hand-painted walls are truly unique, aren't they? Thank you so much for your recommendation. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you east to the ocean!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Very comfortable, friendly hotel, well placed, nice places to eat close by. Great breakfast and very helpful staff. We arrived late, having got lost and Adam came back to open up and show us around. Lovely lounge. Comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pommewg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Pomegranate Inn! It's nice to hear that you enjoyed our location, comfy rooms and great breakfasts and found our staff to be friendly and welcoming. We look forward to your next visit -- now that you know the way> ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.0 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.1 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomegranate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomegranate Inn

Property: Pomegranate Inn
Address: 49 Neal St, Portland, ME 04102-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pomegranate Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arty and eclectic boutique Portland Maine inn. An exceptional art collection blends with thoughtful, gourmet, small-plates breakfasts and a truly unique vibe. Housed in a three-story Italianate mansion dating from 1889, Pomegranate Inn is like no other Bed & Breakfast you've experienced. Contemporary mixes with traditional in the inspired setting of Portland's lovely West End. Close to this vibrant New England city's Arts District and bustling Old Port, yet quietly set among lovely homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pomegranate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomegranate Hotel Portland
Pomegranate Inn Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing