We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good kind of stay”
Review of Pomegranate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pomegranate Inn
Ranked #9 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The temperature was flirting with single digits, evening was coming on, and the snow in Portland made drivers feel they were working their way across the top of a cake frosted with whipped cream. The lights of the Pomegranate Inn shone out into the street with a welcoming twinkle. The rooms are wonderful, decorated with attention to detail and tasteful good humor. The bed in room 6 is like sleeping on a cloud. Henry is a good inn-keep and thanks to his wife, Erin, produces a truly delicious breakfast. Not one of those, sugary, cakey quick recipes Bnbs are won't to serve up. No, Erin and Henry produce berry galettes, broiled fruits and perfect omelets. We should have stayed another night just for a 2nd breakfast. There are books and reading nooks and fireplaces - just the things that make you think you could spend the winter right here.

Room Tip: All of the rooms look like they would be comfortable places to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 67jfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Your review reads almost like a poem! Thank you for your thoughtful comments about Pomegranate Inn's tastefully eclectic and humorous decor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our Portland Maine boutique inn. It seems like Erin wooed you with her cooking skills. She is quite the dynamo in the kitchen and so enjoys getting creative. We hope you can join us again in the near future and stay a little longer to experience more of the inn and Portland -- a truly great New England city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

Wonderful evening in the romantic Carriage House. Was thrilled with fireplace and spacious bath. House beautifully maintained. Eclectic decor fascinating and warm. Innkeepers friendly, courteous and helpful in every manner. Food was perfect...everything first class. These folks have our business for any future trip to Portland or any of the cities where they have properties.

Room Tip: Carriage house most romantic and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Wow! what a lovely review. You've summed up what makes Pomegranate Inn so great in one short paragraph. We are so pleased that you found our Portland Maine luxury inn to be beautifully maintained and that you considered both the service and food to be first class. We are so very glad that we have earned your loyalty. We look forward to seeing you again in Portland or at one of our other Lark Hotels in New England.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Everything about this inn is wonderful. We stayed in room 8 and the bed was SO comfortable. There is also a separate seating area that we enjoyed. Service was amazing as was the breakfast. We were given great recommendations on things to do downtown. The location is great. We walked downtown, the walk was not bad at all. The area seems very safe. The Inn itself is very eclectic which we loved. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Room 8 is really a lovely spot in our Portland Maine inn, is it not? As the inn's original master, it is spacious and filled with light. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly -- especially our comfy beds, Erin's skills in the kitchen and her and henrY's dedication to service. Please visit us again the next time you need an eclectic vibe in New England's coolest little city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Inn and rooms were vibrantly decorated. Comfortable room, best linens I have slept on in a long time. Staff was very accommodating -- and breakfast was delicious. West Portland location allowed for access to harbor and downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vagabond33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your late October stay at our Portland Maine inn and that you found the linens to be so comfortable. We pride ourselves on our comfy beds. Thanks for your recommendation. We look for to seeing you again in another season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

During our recent road-trip through the New England states I had pre-booked a stay for a Bed & Breakfast in Maine. Online, I came across the Pomegranate and booked their last available room for the one night we'd be in Portland. I'm glad I did.

The staff were friendly, the Inn was clean and inviting, and the décor was very eclectic with it's art pieces from local artists. The room was not exactly spacious, but it had a lot of charm and was very comfortable for the two of us.

The locale was fantastic. The Pomegranate is situated just West of the downtown and port areas of Portland. Definitely walkable, we drove the 3 minutes not realizing HOW close everything was. The town itself was a pleasant surprise lending itself to a blend of bustling big town for Maine, yet small town feel if you're accustomed to a Larger City such as Boston for example. The food in Portland was great (read: you BETTER have some seafood). And the only disappointment was that we didn't have an extra day or two to spend checking out the local shops, boutiques, scenery, etc.

Back to the Pomegranate Inn... The meal served the next morning was a 3 course breakfast coming with a couple options. I chose the Grapefruit Brulee, the Blueberry Scone and the Mushroom and Onion Frittata. My girlfriend had a bowl of Peach/GreekYogurt/Granola, the blueberry Scone, and the Cranberry topped French Toast. It all was fantastic.

The final cherry on top for us was in the follow up... After our overnight, they gave us great info on finding one final thing to do in Portland before leaving town (visiting the Portland Head Lamp Lighthouse). We viewed the lighthouse, which was worth the view, then began our drive up to Burlington, VT by way of the White Mountains in NH. Upon arriving in Vermont, we realized we had left something of great sentimental value at the Pomegranate. Realizing the item could be viewed as trash we quickly emailed the Inn and left a follow up message on their voicemail. (It was almost 2 in the morning.) The next day we had been contacted via email that they had found the item and would be shipping to our home for us. GREAT SERVICE!!!!

Thank you to all involved for making our stay at the Pomegranate Inn in Portland, ME such a great stay. I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a cozy, welcoming and worry-free stay in Portland! It was for us a great find!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you so much for your thoughtful and detailed review. We are pleased that you enjoyed both the inn and Portland so much. We certainly love the town and the arty, unusual quality of the Pomegranate Inn and it means a lot when guests do, too! Thank you again for your compliments on the service (and razor-sharp cooking skills) of henrY and Erin. We hope to impress you even more on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Such a pleasant find in Portland. Nice to have a unique over-night experience without the tedium of valet parking and crowded elevators. We had three rooms each with their own unique charm. The carriage house was a wonderfully private space. The rooms were clean. The staff friendly and the guests were open. The breakfast exceeded expectations and the maple oat scones are worth a repeat visit. So wonderful to find hosts that so clearly love what they do where they do it. We will look forward to a future visit to this neighborhood and this venue. The sitting rooms were perfect for enjoying the paper in the morning with the coffee service.

Room Tip: The carriage house was our favorite location but each room had its own charm. The upper floor was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Erin's maple nut scones are killer, aren't they!? We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that your group appreciated the unique quality of our eclectic rooms. Thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to seeing you the next time you travel East!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I spent 2 nights at the Pomegrante in early October for a work trip. The Pomegrante provided the perfect break from mundane hotels that cater to business travelers. The location was perfect, the innkeepers were helpful, and the room was pleasantly quirky. This was a great place for me as a solo traveler, but it would be perfect for couples. This inn is part of the Lark family of hotels and is worth exploring.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kortni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

From everyone at Lark Hotels, let me say thank you for your kind recommendation. We feel that the Pomegranate Inn (and all our properties) offer a wonderful deviation from the norm for business travelers. It is lovely to have you confirm that. Thank you again for your thoughtful review and we hope to see you again in a Portland or at any of our other New England locations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.0 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,456 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.1 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomegranate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomegranate Inn

Address: 49 Neal St, Portland, ME 04102-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: £130 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pomegranate Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arty and eclectic boutique Portland Maine inn. An exceptional art collection blends with thoughtful, gourmet, small-plates breakfasts and a truly unique vibe. Housed in a three-story Italianate mansion dating from 1889, Pomegranate Inn is like no other Bed & Breakfast you've experienced. Contemporary mixes with traditional in the inspired setting of Portland's lovely West End. Close to this vibrant New England city's Arts District and bustling Old Port, yet quietly set among lovely homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Pomegranate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomegranate Hotel Portland
Pomegranate Inn Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing