We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pomegranate Inn
Nearby Hotels
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ramada Plaza Portland(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Portland Harbor Hotel(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$192
US$171
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Westin Portland Harborview(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$171
US$152
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
288
57
20
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
57
20
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage househand painted wallsb beclectic decorworks of artsmall platesgas fireplacequiet neighborhoodfrittatagourmet breakfastwarm hospitalitywest end of portlandstreet parkinganniversary weekendbaked goodsbreakfast was amazingnew england
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The temperature was flirting with single digits, evening was coming on, and the snow in Portland made drivers feel they were working their way across the top of a cake frosted with whipped cream. The lights of the Pomegranate Inn shone out into the street with a welcoming twinkle. The rooms are wonderful, decorated with attention to detail and tasteful good humor. The bed in room 6 is like sleeping on a cloud. Henry is a good inn-keep and thanks to his wife, Erin, produces a truly delicious breakfast. Not one of those, sugary, cakey quick recipes Bnbs are won't to serve up. No, Erin and Henry produce berry galettes, broiled fruits and perfect omelets. We should have stayed another night just for a 2nd breakfast. There are books and reading nooks and fireplaces - just the things that make you think you could spend the winter right here.

Room Tip: All of the rooms look like they would be comfortable places to stay.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 67jfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Your review reads almost like a poem! Thank you for your thoughtful comments about Pomegranate Inn's tastefully eclectic and humorous decor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our Portland Maine boutique inn. It seems like Erin wooed you with her cooking skills. She is quite the dynamo in the kitchen and so enjoys getting creative. We hope you can join us again in the near future and stay a little longer to experience more of the inn and Portland -- a truly great New England city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Wonderful evening in the romantic Carriage House. Was thrilled with fireplace and spacious bath. House beautifully maintained. Eclectic decor fascinating and warm. Innkeepers friendly, courteous and helpful in every manner. Food was perfect...everything first class. These folks have our business for any future trip to Portland or any of the cities where they have properties.

Room Tip: Carriage house most romantic and private
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Wow! what a lovely review. You've summed up what makes Pomegranate Inn so great in one short paragraph. We are so pleased that you found our Portland Maine luxury inn to be beautifully maintained and that you considered both the service and food to be first class. We are so very glad that we have earned your loyalty. We look forward to seeing you again in Portland or at one of our other Lark Hotels in New England.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Everything about this inn is wonderful. We stayed in room 8 and the bed was SO comfortable. There is also a separate seating area that we enjoyed. Service was amazing as was the breakfast. We were given great recommendations on things to do downtown. The location is great. We walked downtown, the walk was not bad at all. The area seems very safe. The Inn itself is very eclectic which we loved. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Room 8 is really a lovely spot in our Portland Maine inn, is it not? As the inn's original master, it is spacious and filled with light. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly -- especially our comfy beds, Erin's skills in the kitchen and her and henrY's dedication to service. Please visit us again the next time you need an eclectic vibe in New England's coolest little city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Inn and rooms were vibrantly decorated. Comfortable room, best linens I have slept on in a long time. Staff was very accommodating -- and breakfast was delicious. West Portland location allowed for access to harbor and downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vagabond33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your late October stay at our Portland Maine inn and that you found the linens to be so comfortable. We pride ourselves on our comfy beds. Thanks for your recommendation. We look for to seeing you again in another season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

During our recent road-trip through the New England states I had pre-booked a stay for a Bed & Breakfast in Maine. Online, I came across the Pomegranate and booked their last available room for the one night we'd be in Portland. I'm glad I did.

The staff were friendly, the Inn was clean and inviting, and the décor was very eclectic with it's art pieces from local artists. The room was not exactly spacious, but it had a lot of charm and was very comfortable for the two of us.

The locale was fantastic. The Pomegranate is situated just West of the downtown and port areas of Portland. Definitely walkable, we drove the 3 minutes not realizing HOW close everything was. The town itself was a pleasant surprise lending itself to a blend of bustling big town for Maine, yet small town feel if you're accustomed to a Larger City such as Boston for example. The food in Portland was great (read: you BETTER have some seafood). And the only disappointment was that we didn't have an extra day or two to spend checking out the local shops, boutiques, scenery, etc.

Back to the Pomegranate Inn... The meal served the next morning was a 3 course breakfast coming with a couple options. I chose the Grapefruit Brulee, the Blueberry Scone and the Mushroom and Onion Frittata. My girlfriend had a bowl of Peach/GreekYogurt/Granola, the blueberry Scone, and the Cranberry topped French Toast. It all was fantastic.

The final cherry on top for us was in the follow up... After our overnight, they gave us great info on finding one final thing to do in Portland before leaving town (visiting the Portland Head Lamp Lighthouse). We viewed the lighthouse, which was worth the view, then began our drive up to Burlington, VT by way of the White Mountains in NH. Upon arriving in Vermont, we realized we had left something of great sentimental value at the Pomegranate. Realizing the item could be viewed as trash we quickly emailed the Inn and left a follow up message on their voicemail. (It was almost 2 in the morning.) The next day we had been contacted via email that they had found the item and would be shipping to our home for us. GREAT SERVICE!!!!

Thank you to all involved for making our stay at the Pomegranate Inn in Portland, ME such a great stay. I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a cozy, welcoming and worry-free stay in Portland! It was for us a great find!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you so much for your thoughtful and detailed review. We are pleased that you enjoyed both the inn and Portland so much. We certainly love the town and the arty, unusual quality of the Pomegranate Inn and it means a lot when guests do, too! Thank you again for your compliments on the service (and razor-sharp cooking skills) of henrY and Erin. We hope to impress you even more on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews