We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Stay”
Review of Pomegranate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pomegranate Inn
Ranked #9 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Pomegranate Inn is one of the most charming inns we have EVER stayed at! The staff is very professional and yet extremely helpful with suggestions for your visit. The house is decorated beautifully and filled with a lifetime of art....fantastic! Unique mosaic threshold on the fireplace, beautiful comfortable furniture in the public areas and in our room. The breakfast was served and excellent fresh food. The couple that are the manager were very helpful....if you're in the area this is a must!

Room Tip: all were beautiful and uniquely furnitured
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank palmetto36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We love being charming! We are thrilled that you had a great time at our Portland Maine inn and that our eclectic decor and art collection were to your liking. It is so nice to hear that our great breakfast and wonderful staff impressed you so much. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to New England.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

First, the positives: Very nice breakfast in a pleasant dining room. The male innkeeper was very cordial. Air conditioner in room was good to have as we were on the 3rd floor in the summertime. Room was visually attractive. Street parking was easy and location was good for us as we could walk to a restaurant and to the field to watch the Sea Dogs play.

Why we won't return: The room was so small there was no place to put our suitcases except on the floor so close to the bed that we had no room to get out of bed. Back took a beating from all the bending down to access the contents of our suitcases. There was no place in the bathroom to put anything down (e.g., toothpaste, hairbrush, hair dryer etc.) The mirror in the bathroom would only be suitable if you were of a certain height as it wasn't adjustable and there was no mirror on the wall. The shower was just a little more than a trickle. The bed was too soft. We had only planned on one night but would have checked out anyway because it was so awkward and uncomfortable. We love B&B's but honestly would have preferred a Marriott for the comfort level.

Room Tip: Don't choose Room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Laniejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your comments about our wonderful breakfasts, service and great location. So sorry to hear that our brand new Serta Presidential Pillowtop mattresses were not to your taste. We appreciate your suggestion regarding storage space and plan to add some more storage in addition to the armoire that is in the room in which you stayed. Best to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We just ended our stay at the Pomegranate Inn in Portland and we have to say that the innkeepers were young, energetic and hardworking. They were excellent help in our finding our way in Portland and provided great breakfast daily. The property however at $300 or so per night is horribly overpriced for the quality of the property. The outside needs a lot of work and the inside needs more. It appears that nothing has been done to update the property in say 25 years. The pictures on the website must also be 25 years old as that's what the property used to look like. The courtyard is overgrown and unwelcoming. The furniture is tired. A lot of paint is needed... everywhere. This is the classic B&B with a following who have been in it for the cash flow today and not provided the long term upkeep and reinvestment needed to keep the properties where they once were. The property is next to a church so it's BYOB which they don't mind. Cookies are available in the afternoon. Again, mostly all good but not that good.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank AsianFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the gourmet breakfasts and the wonderful onsite and concierge services of our managers Kaitie and Steve. While our eclectic Portland Maine inn with shabby chic touches may not be for everyone, the unique antiques and extensive art collection are part of what make the Pomegranate Inn so different. We'd like potential guests to know that while our garden area is indeed lush, it receives weekly care. Our Carriage House was painted just a few months ago and the pictures you see on the website were taken in the spring of 2013. We have a regular capital improvement schedule, which has included (just in the last year) new mattresses, pillows, bed and bath linens as well as upgrades to each room and exterior work that is occurring on an ongoing basis. Keeping an historic property in tip-top shape is ongoing work and sometimes difficult to do the guest-filled summer months, but we are very proud of the Pomegranate Inn and invite you to come and experience it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We loved the boho look of this Inn. Lots of paintings on the walls, quirky furniture and muralled walls. It is in a quiet residential part of town near the Arts district. Breakfast is only served between 8.30 and 9.30 so a small window of opportunity, we had'nt clocked this and turned up at 9.35. To give them their due they did give us breakfast but we were'nt popular and they had run out of some things, a longer breakfast run would be an improvement. Our other gripe was with the air conditioning unit which was very noisy. As we were in an annex on the ground floor the only other ventilation option was to open our french window, but we did'nt much like having a door open into our room in a city where anybody could have walked in. Would we go there again? Yes but not into the annex, the main house is much nicer and we would set our alarm for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house not the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Etta007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your review and thoughts. We appreciate your input and hope to have you visit again that next time you are in the area. We do offer a late breakfast option so setting an alarm isn't necessary! We'll look into the air conditioning unit. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We originally booked for 1 night but ended up staying for 2. Such a treat staying in this lovely old house with the eclectic mix of artwork in every nook and cranny. The room was lovely and breakfast was yum with the delights of Portland a very easy walk in all directions. Would definitely recommend to others!!! Thanks

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

It's so great that that you added a day and ended up enjoying more of our inn and our super-fab little New England city. We appreciate your review and comments and hope to see you again the next time you travel from Oz to Maine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Words cannot express how much we truly loved our experience at the Pomegranate Inn. Between the fabulous three-course gourmet breakfast (YUM!), the incredibly friendly and helpful inn-keepers, the outstanding art filling every nook and cranny, and the cozy accommodations, we could not have been more happy with our stay. On top of everything, the Pomegranate Inn is just a 15-minute, lovely walk to the Arts District and Old Port! Absolutely wonderful, and we would recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3, but would recommend any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We're so pleased that you loved your stay with us at our arty, eclectic inn. We enjoy hearing that guests appreciate the easy stroll into Portland Maine's Arts District or Old Port while also enjoying the quiet beauty of our West End location. Thanks for your kind words about our breakfasts, cozy rooms and wonderful managers. Please visit Pomegranate Inn again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Inn is in an antique posh home, filled with colorful art, and serves a fabulous breakfast. The bed was incredibly soft with linens so nice I asked where to buy them for my own home. Our hosts were inviting, cheerful and very professional. Parking is on the street but even though we had two cars we were easily able to park right outside.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 138Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We love being called posh. So very British and fun (as well as being the name of a Spice Girl). Thanks for your lovely comments about our rooms, comfy linens, art collection and awesome managers. We appreciate the recommendation and hope you find time to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.0 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,452 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.1 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomegranate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomegranate Inn

Address: 49 Neal St, Portland, ME 04102-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: £130 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pomegranate Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arty and eclectic boutique Portland Maine inn. An exceptional art collection blends with thoughtful, gourmet, small-plates breakfasts and a truly unique vibe. Housed in a three-story Italianate mansion dating from 1889, Pomegranate Inn is like no other Bed & Breakfast you've experienced. Contemporary mixes with traditional in the inspired setting of Portland's lovely West End. Close to this vibrant New England city's Arts District and bustling Old Port, yet quietly set among lovely homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Pomegranate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomegranate Hotel Portland
Pomegranate Inn Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing