We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice from far, far from nice”
Review of Pomegranate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pomegranate Inn
Ranked #9 of 11 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2009

This pricey B&B pretends to be what it is actually not.
Besides a very warm welcome, the price paid (about 250 US at the time of writing) seems to me a little bit too much for a not exactly very clean property. At one's first impression the rooms appear very nice, but then, looking at'em more closely they are dusty, if not, for some details a bit too dirty for my tastes. Too bad beacuse it's clear that the owners are putting a lot of love in adding details and artcrafts to make their property warm and witty.
Not to mention the service: I've forgot some stuff there and after having spoken to the manager, who offered to mail me the items in Boston, after a few days nobody knew something about the mailing, which contained a couple of Polo Shirts...

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ludwig1827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2009

This inn is beautiful, great artwork and each room is different. The breakfasts were decadent and the afternoon tea and cookies were delish. The advice from the staff was helpful in exploring Portland. Nice section of town with other beautiful homes. A great weekend get-away.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Surrounded by beautiful art and decor, this cozy old house is a great place to relax on a roadtrip...delicious breakfast every morning!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlishaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

This was a great stay. I went with 3 other people this past weekend and we all loved Pomegranate. We arrived around 1pm and were able to check in early with Scott. We were worried about parking but it was usually easy. There are spots for 3 guest cars in the driveway which we used often and then parking on the street was pretty easy as well (must drive to most locations in Portland). Scott gave us a short tour, sat down with us at the dining table to show us some of the sights, maps, and even went over our dining ideas and recommended some others. His recommendations were good (we loved J’s Oyster and Street & Co.).

Afterwards he showed us to our room which was so clean. I even walked into some hidden corners to use outlets and it was not dusty at all. Loved that. Our room (room 1, 3rd fl) was so pretty and I loved the sitting area in the window alcove and the bed was comfortable and sheets were very soft. What we didn’t like about the room was the semi small bathroom with not much water pressure in the shower (no tub). The sink was also just outside the bathroom door in the bedroom. Not easy to use at all because of the separate hot and cold faucets but very “old world”. We also had a gas fireplace, 2 free bottles of water each day, wine glasses, corkscrew, and tons of towels. Our friends stayed in Room 5 on the 2nd fl and it was a smaller room however their bathroom was larger than ours and nicer – with shower/tub and regular faucets.

Every breakfast (8am-9:30am) began with Pom-Cranberry juice, coffee, fruit plate and mini muffin served by a nice waitress. Breakfast was delicious both mornings by Scott – 1- Garden omelette (peppers, onions, mushrooms, gouda & cheddar cheese with perfect seasoned breakfast potatoes. Day 2 – Ricotta Coconut silver dollar pancakes with ginger syrup and bacon) Afternoon “tea” was more like a table with coffee, tea, and one sweet item (we had pound cake and baklava) freshly baked. They were willing to adjust the breakfast menu for those with dietary retrictions and one morning we didn’t sit down for breakfast until 9:20am and it wasn’t a problem. Each evening we enjoyed our own wine and cheese in the common sitting areas and they provided glasses, plates and music. This place had a really personal touch that you don’t get in hotels. I can’t wait to visit another B&B and hope it lives up to this.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenPeachNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

This inn is not only filled with ecclectic and beautiful art, but the rooms are painted like canvasses, so there is nothing left uninteresting in the entire inn. The rooms are comfortable, with great attention to detail. we all loved the bathrooms, they are big and elegantly appointed. Our stay was made even better by the accomdating staff and the delicious breakfasts and afternoon tea. Portland has a lot to recommend it as a destination, and the Pomegranate is the place to stay. Fantastic, we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hammish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

spent 2 nights at the inn for july 4th weekend.

our room - room 1 was on the top floor and though spacious had all sorts of angles-as did the bathroom. we always had to be careful of not banging our heads. the bed was quite comfortable but the shower was not more than a trickle. the inn has street parking and is in a very quiet part of town ( west side). the room was a little busy- art all over, books, pottery etc.

when we arrived we were met by britta, a very sweet person who gave us an incomplete tour of the room and inn- there was a gas fireplace in the room- we were not shown how to operate it- later we asked her if the pilot light is supposed to be on all the time because the fireplace was giving off heat ( it was 75 degrees outside) and she said yes the pilot would be on all the time. ok.

scot, the chef for breakfast and concierge was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about portland and the area. he suggested restaurants and also where to see the fireworks for july 4th.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank z235e49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

This inn was charming. The lobby area was comfortable and well-furnished. We were able to stay in two different rooms while we were there. The first room had a lovely bed and updated bathroom. The second room was amazing. It had a fireplace in it and was so spacious. The staff was also very helpful when I realized I made a mistake with the reservation. Breakfast was delicious. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmbrickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,506 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Park Spring
The Inn at Park Spring
#3 of 11 in Portland
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomegranate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomegranate Inn

Address: 49 Neal St, Portland, ME 04102-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: £128 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pomegranate Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arty and eclectic boutique Portland Maine inn. An exceptional art collection blends with thoughtful, gourmet, small-plates breakfasts and a truly unique vibe. Housed in a three-story Italianate mansion dating from 1889, Pomegranate Inn is like no other Bed & Breakfast you've experienced. Contemporary mixes with traditional in the inspired setting of Portland's lovely West End. Close to this vibrant New England city's Arts District and bustling Old Port, yet quietly set among lovely homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Pomegranate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomegranate Hotel Portland
Pomegranate Inn Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing